Want to dual boot Linux

Talk about anything and everything not related to this site or the Dreamcast, such as news stories, political discussion, or anything else. If there's not a forum for it, it belongs in here. Also, be warned that personal insults, threats, and spamming will not be tolerated.
Roofus
President & CEO Roofuscorp, LLC
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Want to dual boot Linux

Post by Roofus »

When I get my new system together, I want to dual-boot Linux and XP Pro. I've got two drives, which I'm going to partition something like this:

Drive 1:
Win XP
Media (MP3s, Videos, etc.)
Setup files for applications

Drive 2:
Linux
Backup for Drive 1

I want to make the Media partition accessable to both OSes.

How do I set this up? I'm a complete noob when it comes to setting up a system like this, so I'll need a tutorial that would make this clear to a retarded 8 year old. Thanks.
toastman
Iron Fist of Justice
Iron Fist of Justice

Post by toastman »

It's easy.
Partition the first drive as if you weren't installing Linux at all (using FAT32 or NTFS, doesn't really matter)
On the second drive you will need an extra partition for Linux's swap space. Partition like this:
Linux (ext2 or ext3, doesn't matter. If you want backwards compatibility go ext2)
Linux Swap (It's an actual partition type so you can't miss it. It only needs to be about 32 megs at most)
FAT32 or NTFS (depending on what you did on the first drive)

Install Windows, doing up all of your partitions on the first drive like you normally would.
Choose a Linux Distro. (Hardest part of all this actually ;) )
Install Linux.
Setup the partitions on the second drive (Disk Druid and fdisk on the Linux install disk should be able to handle this with ease)
When you get near the end of the installation it might ask you if you want to share any of the other partitions, choose the proper partition.