Jap. DC w/ Modchip doesn't play JAP Games???

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
MarHel2
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Jap. DC w/ Modchip doesn't play JAP Games???

Post by MarHel2 »

Hi, I'm totally new to this.

I got a DC off of eBay 2 or 3 months ago. It's a Japanese NTSC Model with Modchip and 50/60 Hz switch.

It plays all my PAL games (which is what you normally get in Germany) without problems, BUT I have an original Japanese PenPen game that I cant play. All the DC does is repeat the bootscreen with the red DC logo coming up over and over.

I've already opened the case and looked at the chip. It's not one of the newer 4 wire models, but has at least 20 black wires soldered to different places on the pcb. It's glued to the case, so I don't know if there's any name or model description on the chip...

Obviously the chip is working ok, otherwise I couldn't play my PAL games. Or am I wrong?

Do you know any solution for this? Would a boot cd be of any help?

Thanks,
sixteen-bit
Hardware Freak
Hardware Freak

Post by sixteen-bit »

I'm sorry to hear your dreamcast won't play origianl Japanese games; unfortunately I can't help with this since I have PAL dreamcasts.

On your question about the boot disc, I don't think you would have any problems using a boot disc if your machine behaves as a PAL dreamcast. I can load import games on my PAL dreamcast and if your's "pretends" it is PAL then it should work.
XantiaX
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu

Post by XantiaX »

hv u ever thought maybe uve been ripped off? i dont know how maybe they found a way to flash the bios and change the startup logo, solder some pretty wires onto the board and decided to offload it as a jap dc...