Lightguns

If you have any questions on programming, this is the place to ask them, whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer. Discussion on programming in general is also welcome. We will help you with programming homework, but we will not do your work for you! Any porting requests must be made in Developmental Ideas.
Ender
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Lightguns

Post by Ender »

Not sure if this is a hardware or software question, but...

Is there currently a way to track the movement of the lightgun withough flashing the screen like mad?
Styrofoam
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu

Re: Lightguns

Post by Styrofoam »

Ender wrote:Not sure if this is a hardware or software question, but...

Is there currently a way to track the movement of the lightgun withough flashing the screen like mad?
:guffaw: Sorry I have no knowledge of programming, but that post had me in stitches .... best post ever (seriously :) )
Ender
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster

Post by Ender »

Ok, I didn't mean flashing like that. :D
Kamjin
DC Developer
DC Developer

Post by Kamjin »

just leave the screen white..

You flash the screen white for 2 reasons..
1. In case the person is aiming at Black/Dark pixels
the phototransistor needs light to activte.. black
is the absence of light hence it won't register
when the electron beam passes it (err.. doesn't
pass???)
2. flashing white gives you better responce from the gun..
if you notice in a lot of cases some guns even need the
brightness cranked just to work right.

Although there have been arcade games that don't flash
all the (shootable) imagery is done in bright colors, and the
guns are higher quality.. (not to mention you're about 3 ft.
from the screen)
Vorrtexx
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu

Post by Vorrtexx »

hehe, where are people's minds :roll: