So I got an M3 Simply...

General purpose discussion about gaming and emulation.
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by jessman » Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:34 pm

I wanted one mainly for movies, homebrew, and having the ability to play games with full multiplayer instead of the sometimes half-assed download play. I don't, however, want to unlock everything again in Mario Kart, Mario Hoops 3-on-3, and Advance Wars - Dual Strike, etc. Does anyone know of a website that has DS .sav files? I checked Zophar and Gamefaqs to no avail. One has nothing and the other has weird Action Reply and Code Breaker saves. Thanks for any help given.
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
Veggita2099
Janitor 2nd Class
Janitor 2nd Class
Posts: 9018
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Chesapeake, Ohio
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by Veggita2099 » Tue Jun 12, 2007 1:37 am

I have been thinking about something along the lines of a M3 for a long time, however I am not 100% sure what all I need to do what I want.

Basically ID like to be able to use Emulators on my DS (both GBA and DS emulators I suppose), and to keep it legal Id like to be able to play homebrew roms for the DS. I know I used to love PocketNES, ashame my 64meg GBA cart quit working (won't go into the 256 I bought that NEVER worked).

Since this thread is on that topic anybody recommend what I need to do all of that basically?
Wii number: 1227 6854 1080 3665
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by jessman » Tue Jun 12, 2007 2:31 am

Well, the M3 Simply doesn't support GBA roms currently because it goes right in the DS slot without any flashing or Passcards or crap like that. The M3 Lite supports GBA as well as DS, but it's $80 and you need a Passcard and microSD card that are both sold separately. The Simply costed me $39.99 and all you need in addition is a microsd card. They have up to 4GB now, so...lots and lots of games! It comes with a cd and a card reader and it's played every DS game I've thrown at it without the slightest issue. The built-in mp3 player works like a charm, and converting videos with the cd is a snap. The only issue I've had is that I can't get certain homebrew apps working, but some need light converting for the simply and maybe I'm just too dumb to find what I need. NES emulation is still iffy, but the SNES emulator runs full-speed with sound for the most part. It's a tad glitchy at points, but Zelda, Mario, and Megaman run full-speed for me without frame-skip! Some of the good emulators for other systems don't have sound implemented yet, but overall the Simply gives you the most bang for your buck. I don't condone warez, but DS roms are pretty easy to come by, if you use torrents or crap like that. If you wanna know anything else, just let me know.

Now...Ahem...Can someone PLEASE point out them .SAV files? Any help is appreciated.
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by Skynet » Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:54 am

My DS Simply has a cheat option for most games, thus eliminating the need for save files. If that's not quite what you're after, have you tried gamefaqs?
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
Joestar
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 1374
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: your face
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by Joestar » Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:27 am

Skynet wrote:My DS Simply has a cheat option for most games, thus eliminating the need for save files. If that's not quite what you're after, have you tried gamefaqs?
He already said he checked gamefaqs ;)
jessman wrote:[Gamefaqs]has weird Action Reply and Code Breaker saves
After a bit of searching, i found some guy who has made a .duc(Action Replay) to .sav converter. I've not used it myself so I don't know how reliable it is.

http://eatyourexam.com/?p=89
User avatar
pixel
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 10:52 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by pixel » Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:43 am

User avatar
arrowhead
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2601
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 5:21 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by arrowhead » Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:09 pm

jessman wrote:Well, the M3 Simply doesn't support GBA roms currently because it goes right in the DS slot without any flashing or Passcards or crap like that. The M3 Lite supports GBA as well as DS, but it's $80 and you need a Passcard and microSD card that are both sold separately. The Simply costed me $39.99 and all you need in addition is a microsd card. They have up to 4GB now, so...lots and lots of games! It comes with a cd and a card reader and it's played every DS game I've thrown at it without the slightest issue. The built-in mp3 player works like a charm, and converting videos with the cd is a snap. The only issue I've had is that I can't get certain homebrew apps working, but some need light converting for the simply and maybe I'm just too dumb to find what I need. NES emulation is still iffy, but the SNES emulator runs full-speed with sound for the most part. It's a tad glitchy at points, but Zelda, Mario, and Megaman run full-speed for me without frame-skip! Some of the good emulators for other systems don't have sound implemented yet, but overall the Simply gives you the most bang for your buck. I don't condone warez, but DS roms are pretty easy to come by, if you use torrents or crap like that. If you wanna know anything else, just let me know.

Now...Ahem...Can someone PLEASE point out them .SAV files? Any help is appreciated.
Which SNES emu are you using that is near full speed?
Shut that cunts mouth before I come over there and fuck start her head
User avatar
az_bont
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 8:35 am
Location: Swansea, Wales
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by az_bont » Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:11 pm

arrowhead wrote:Which SNES emu are you using that is near full speed?
I would imagine SnEmulDS. I've tried a few games like Earthworm Jim and Final Fantasy IV, and I would say that if it wasn't full speed with those games, it was so close that I couldn't tell the difference. This was true of FFIV even during the Mode 7 airship sequences, which is pretty phenomenal when you consider how DreamSNES still struggles with those.

The only major downside is that the audio doesn't sync properly, so it tends to stutter every few seconds. What you are able to do, however, is use the built-in SPC jukebox feature, which allows you to play SNES music files in an audio player that is separate to the game.

It also features quite a few graphical glitches, though the graphics rendering can be tweaked a lot, and there are a few different types of speed hacks and other things you can mess with to either speed things up or make them less buggy.

Whilst those two issues can be frustrating, I must say that I experienced less frameskipping than the I did on the latest SNES emulator for the PSP (SnesPSP TYL V0.4.2me), and I have heard good things about the mouse support, which can be hacked in on a game-by-game basis.
Sick of sub-par Dreamcast web browsers that fail to impress? Visit Psilocybin Dreams!
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by jessman » Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:36 pm

Thanks for the help, guys. While a converter sounds like an option, Dualscene.net seems to have everything I need, but thanks for giving me multiple options. :D Oh, and it WAS that emulator. It's pretty good, although buggy as hell sometimes. Mario Allstars works pretty good though. Same with Zelda. FF6 actually seemed to run full-speed, heh. Thanks again, guys!
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
User avatar
melancholy
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
Posts: 10966
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2001 12:34 am
Location: Indiana
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by melancholy » Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:56 pm

az_bont wrote:Whilst those two issues can be frustrating, I must say that I experienced less frameskipping than the I did on the latest SNES emulator for the PSP (SnesPSP TYL V0.4.2me), and I have heard good things about the mouse support, which can be hacked in on a game-by-game basis.
Really? That is incredible. I never tried to run an SNES emulator on my DS because I just assumed the PSP one would be faster. It sounds like, however, I should give the DS version a shot.
User avatar
not just souLLy now
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 4040
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by not just souLLy now » Wed Jun 13, 2007 5:13 am

Lameboy DS is well worth picking up too, it's a gbc emulator that runs fullspeed with sound and has excellent compatibility. So you can play PROPER tetris, with it's awesome music once again.
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by jessman » Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:33 pm

Awesome! Now if only they had a good NES and decent Genesis emulator....Lameboy DS more than makes up for the lack of built-in GBC support of the DS. Care to drop any more names of good apps? Thanks again.
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
User avatar
pixel
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 10:52 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by pixel » Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:53 pm

jessman wrote:Well, the M3 Simply doesn't support GBA roms currently because it goes right in the DS slot without any flashing or Passcards or crap like that. The M3 Lite supports GBA as well as DS, but it's $80 and you need a Passcard and microSD card that are both sold separately. The Simply costed me $39.99 and all you need in addition is a microsd card. They have up to 4GB now, so...lots and lots of games! It comes with a cd and a card reader and it's played every DS game I've thrown at it without the slightest issue. The built-in mp3 player works like a charm, and converting videos with the cd is a snap. The only issue I've had is that I can't get certain homebrew apps working, but some need light converting for the simply and maybe I'm just too dumb to find what I need. NES emulation is still iffy, but the SNES emulator runs full-speed with sound for the most part. It's a tad glitchy at points, but Zelda, Mario, and Megaman run full-speed for me without frame-skip! Some of the good emulators for other systems don't have sound implemented yet, but overall the Simply gives you the most bang for your buck. I don't condone warez, but DS roms are pretty easy to come by, if you use torrents or crap like that. If you wanna know anything else, just let me know.

Now...Ahem...Can someone PLEASE point out them .SAV files? Any help is appreciated.
Not to burst your bubble, but I paid $40 total for a R4 + 1gb MicroSD card + shipping.
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by Ex-Cyber » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:25 pm

jessman wrote:the M3 Simply doesn't support GBA roms currently because it goes right in the DS slot
Um, "currently"? GBA mode requires a Slot 2 device; it's not a question of whether a Slot 1 device "supports" it. Someday there might be a good GBA emulator for DS in order to do an end run around that limitation, but that would have nothing to do with any special support in the storage device.
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
gamedudex2
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:19 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by gamedudex2 » Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:09 pm

jessman wrote:Well, the M3 Simply doesn't support GBA roms currently because it goes right in the DS slot without any flashing or Passcards or crap like that. The M3 Lite supports GBA as well as DS, but it's $80 and you need a Passcard and microSD card that are both sold separately. The Simply costed me $39.99 and all you need in addition is a microsd card. They have up to 4GB now, so...lots and lots of games! It comes with a cd and a card reader and it's played every DS game I've thrown at it without the slightest issue. The built-in mp3 player works like a charm, and converting videos with the cd is a snap. The only issue I've had is that I can't get certain homebrew apps working, but some need light converting for the simply and maybe I'm just too dumb to find what I need. NES emulation is still iffy, but the SNES emulator runs full-speed with sound for the most part. It's a tad glitchy at points, but Zelda, Mario, and Megaman run full-speed for me without frame-skip! Some of the good emulators for other systems don't have sound implemented yet, but overall the Simply gives you the most bang for your buck. I don't condone warez, but DS roms are pretty easy to come by, if you use torrents or crap like that. If you wanna know anything else, just let me know.

Now...Ahem...Can someone PLEASE point out them .SAV files? Any help is appreciated.

4 gb micro sd? where can i get one? i never found one online. do you mean micro sdhc? if so im wondering how much those are.
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by jessman » Thu Jun 14, 2007 4:15 am

You know? I've been told they've been out for a while now, but I just can't seem to find a 4GB SDHC on any website. And just what makes the R4 better than the Simply? Can you provide a link with where you bought yours?
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by Skynet » Thu Jun 14, 2007 4:20 am

Even though I'm sure you're happy with your M3 Simply, I paid $39.01 about a month or so ago. The 1 cent was shipping. And that's Aussie dollars too. For a AU$100 I got the Simply with shipping and a 2GB microSD.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
butters
Classic Games Lover
Classic Games Lover
Posts: 5088
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 6:50 pm
Location: Lubbock, Texas, United States, Sol 3, Milky Way Galaxy
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by butters » Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:36 am

Skynet wrote:Even though I'm sure you're happy with your M3 Simply, I paid $39.01 about a month or so ago. The 1 cent was shipping. And that's Aussie dollars too. For a AU$100 I got the Simply with shipping and a 2GB microSD.
Keep in mind that you live in a country where these devices can be sold openly. They pretty blatantly violate U.S. copyright law, so we have to import from other countries.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by Skynet » Thu Jun 14, 2007 6:11 am

I got mine from China... :?

Also, AFAIK I have never even seen them being advertised anywhere! I do know the Xecuter AU site sells them for $60
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
gamedudex2
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:19 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: So I got an M3 Simply...

Post by gamedudex2 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 8:05 am

jessman wrote:You know? I've been told they've been out for a while now, but I just can't seem to find a 4GB SDHC on any website. And just what makes the R4 better than the Simply? Can you provide a link with where you bought yours?
nothing its the same esact cart , r4 frmware comes out a few days to a week ahead, and they both share any firmware advancements with each other.
Post Reply