PSO Questions & Answers

Sylverant is a homebrew open source server for Phantasy Star Online. Dreamcast users still play PSO online with this server even today! This is the official forum for both the online game server as well as the open source project itself. Feel free to post and get a gathering started online! We can also show you how to get connected!

Moderators: BlueCrab, Aleron Ives

Post Reply
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Wed Mar 27, 2019 12:53 am

You can use the keyboard as the controller for player 2 in multi mode, but you should disable the GameCube keyboard that's normally connected (virtually) to one of the controller ports for typing in game, then put the keyboard back after you're done with multi mode.

The common bank patch makes item transfers much easier by eliminating the need to use multi mode at all between characters on the same memory card, so that's the easiest solution.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Wed Mar 27, 2019 4:53 pm

Thanks, i'll check out the common bank. I just wish i had ethernet instead of wifi so I can go online..
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:10 pm

Some people are able to bridge the TAP with their Wi-Fi and go online, but using Windows 10 is a big problem for Dolphin. You can cheat by getting an extra Wi-Fi router, configuring it as a client for your Wi-Fi network, and then connecting your PC to it via Ethernet. You'll technically be using Ethernet, so you can bridge the TAP with your Ethernet NIC.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:48 pm

My desktop isn't windows 10 so it sounds like a possibility.. nice. Thanks.
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Sat Apr 06, 2019 2:54 pm

Good news, I got ethernet. So I got this thing that comes with 2 adapters and 2 ethernet cables that use the power lines in your house (instead of drilling holes and running ethernet) and you pair them with a button on each one.

Now i'm stuck assigning a static ip to connect to sylverant.
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:52 pm

If my default gateway is 192.168.86.1, subnet mask 255.255.255.0, and my ip is 192.168.86.25, i should be able to set a static ip of 192.168.86.??? and get results. Am I doing it wrong? Or is pso rejecting my connection (error 102 every time) because my internet solution is causing it to take too many hops?
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:54 pm

What is "my IP"? The PC? Dolphin needs an IP in the same subnet, so it would be 192.168.86.x, where x is an unused IP outside of your DHCP range.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:03 pm

Right. No idea what that range is, its not my router.
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:33 pm

Found out about the DHCP address pool. Its 192.168.86.20 - 192.168.86.250. I've definately tried addresses outside that range. What else could be the problem? I did a tracert to 138.197.20.130 and it looks like 12 hops. The 2 hops before the actual server address said "request timed out" though.
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:57 pm

OK, so you'd want to set Dolphin to 192.168.86.19, for instance. Have you tried connecting twice without quitting Dolphin? Some people never connect on the first try.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:05 pm

I literally just tried that one.
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:18 pm

Should I be setting a static ip on the network bridge ipv4 properties as well?? Or just leave those on obtain automatically
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:30 pm

If you use static IP normally on the PC, then you need to reconfigure your usual settings on the bridge, because Windows won't copy them over by itself.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:35 pm

I do not use static ip normally on the pc. What settings should I be putting on the bridge?
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:03 pm

Success..
User avatar
nytesong
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by nytesong » Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:27 pm

Just to follow up here if anybody has a similar issue, i had forgotten to remake the network bridge with the TAP adapter V9 (from my previous setup before I moved) when my pc got a new ip address where I live now. I am running windows 7 home premium service pack 1.
Moxs
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:34 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Moxs » Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:37 pm

Hi guys,

I'm newbie and i want to know if it's possible to play split screen online ?

Thank's to you :)
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5393
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by BlueCrab » Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:55 pm

No, split screen mode does not work online. This is not a server issue -- it's just not supported by the game.
bmancod4
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:21 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by bmancod4 » Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:32 am

Is it possible to change the keybindings on the PC version? I've searched around a bit but can't seem to find an answer.
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Sat Jun 22, 2019 4:01 pm

Nope, you have to use a controller.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
Post Reply