PSO Questions & Answers

Sylverant is a homebrew open source server for Phantasy Star Online. Dreamcast users still play PSO online with this server even today! This is the official forum for both the online game server as well as the open source project itself. Feel free to post and get a gathering started online! We can also show you how to get connected!

Moderators: BlueCrab, Aleron Ives

Post Reply
tueidj
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:05 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by tueidj » Thu Nov 05, 2015 1:36 pm

I'm not sure any non-plus JP version exists besides 1.02, that's the only version listed on redump besides the trials and it's also the only JP version that MIOS (Nintendo's software that launches GC games on wiis) looks for in its patching routines (besides Plus/v1.05).
User avatar
legit nyck
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:14 pm
Location: Ragol
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by legit nyck » Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:01 am

hi to play pso v1 or v2 using my dreamcast i need to put the sylverant dns number in the xpd or not? another question about the cd ives sylverant auto connect hosted in [website removed] using this cdi is possible connect in sylverant ?
PSO Info:
Characters:
( HUmar legit nyck Lv 51 Via :Dreamcast Ver.1 *inactive)
( HUcast KIREEK Lv 46 Via : Dreamcast Ver.1)
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5486
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by BlueCrab » Wed Dec 23, 2015 10:21 am

If you're using a legitimate copy of PSO on a GD-ROM, then you should boot with the Sylverant PSO Patcher disc, and it will handle the rest. No other odd Internet settings are needed, just set them as you would normally do. With PSOv2 US (along with v1 and v2 of the Japanese version), you will need to use some sort of boot disc or codebreaker anyway to disable the hunter's license check, so you might as well just use the official Sylverant boot disc.

If you're using a modem with a real dialup ISP, most of the time the DNS settings are ignored, so you will have to use some other method to get the correct server address (like the Sylverant PSO Patcher disc). If you're using the BBA with any version without a hunter's license check (v1 US, v1 EU, v2 EU), then just putting the Sylverant IP address in as a DNS will work, but I'd still recommend using the PSO Patcher disc (and using your normal DNS server or a public DNS like 8.8.4.4).

As for the second part of your question, discussion of pirated versions of the game is against the rules here.
User avatar
legit nyck
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:14 pm
Location: Ragol
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by legit nyck » Wed Dec 23, 2015 6:30 pm

thanks for the explanation ;-)
PSO Info:
Characters:
( HUmar legit nyck Lv 51 Via :Dreamcast Ver.1 *inactive)
( HUcast KIREEK Lv 46 Via : Dreamcast Ver.1)
viper2g1
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:43 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by viper2g1 » Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:48 pm

Hi, I am trying to connect and play with a friend who is already on the server. I am using Dolphin and configured the BBA and used openVPN to bridge my connection. I entered the DNS server as shown in the connection page of the website. I logged in using the credentials shown in the Manage guildcards page. I get a DNS error when I try to connect, though sometimes it seems that the connection goes thru after the "hickup" in the loading screen but then dolphin crashes. How can I get online?
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 838
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:34 pm

What version of Windows are you using? The OpenVPN TAP adapter works best with Windows 7; if you're using Windows 8, I've read that it is a lot less stable, and it doesn't work with Windows 10 at all.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
viper2g1
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:43 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by viper2g1 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 7:21 am

Aleron Ives wrote:What version of Windows are you using? The OpenVPN TAP adapter works best with Windows 7; if you're using Windows 8, I've read that it is a lot less stable, and it doesn't work with Windows 10 at all.
I use Windows 8.1. I have gotten used to the fact that the tap adapter is not always connected. I try to connect once and it gives me a dns error while it connects to the internet. The second attempt directly after that if even it seems to succeed but dolphin crashes.

The crash from dolphin seems to be stackhash_2264 and bex64. I tried looking for solutions and turned off DEP but that didn't help. I'm hoping anyone may have any solutions?

Cpu: i7-6700k
Mobo: z170x-ud5
GPU: 980ti

All drivers up to date.
User avatar
DanteJay
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:36 am
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by DanteJay » Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:39 am

Welcome to the DCEmulation forums Viper2g1.
Image
viper2g1
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:43 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by viper2g1 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 12:05 pm

DanteJay wrote:Welcome to the DCEmulation forums Viper2g1.
Thank you! Happy new year!
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 838
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:42 pm

AFAIK the only cheap solution is to dual boot with Linux and run Dolphin under an OS with better TAP support. You could also install Windows 7, but Dolphin's BBA emulation is pretty bad under Windows, so PSO still crashes quite a bit, especially when you try to load quests.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
User avatar
Sir Rappington
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:30 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Sir Rappington » Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:49 pm

Aleron Ives wrote:Dolphin's BBA emulation is pretty bad under Windows, so PSO still crashes quite a bit, especially when you try to load quests.
I feel like it needs to be said that you can always make memory card backups for this purpose, since Dolphin's memory card files are easily copied just like any other file. It's a hell of a lot less hassle than duping for resoration purposes, IMO.
Old GC player from ~05-08, casually playing a new set of chars on Dolphin. Currently focusing on other games, send me a PM if you need me to jump on PSO.

Capt.Durple (RAmar) // LaserLemon (HUnewearl) // Dr. NOPE (FOnewm)
Tin Can Dan (RAcast) // OliverLeo (HUmar) // Winterleaf (FOmarl)
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 838
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Tue Jan 05, 2016 1:40 pm

Yeah, it's easy to recover from these crashes; it's just really irritating and time consuming to be ready to start a run with people and then crash and have to dink around with restoration instead of just getting to play the quest the first time you select it.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
Kayak
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Kayak » Sat Jan 09, 2016 8:53 pm

I seem to be getting a strange error. I try to connect and I get Error 127, Wrong password. This has never happened to me before, what exactly does it mean? I haven't changed any settings from yesterday which was the last time I was online. Or is something going on with the server.

EDIT: Seems to be working now, not sure what caused this.
Characters:
Kayak L200
Kat L200
Kate L200
Submarine L200
Magic Boat L200
Banan@ Boat
Jarrett
Katey
Tow Boat
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5486
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by BlueCrab » Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:02 pm

Kayak wrote:I seem to be getting a strange error. I try to connect and I get Error 127, Wrong password. This has never happened to me before, what exactly does it mean? I haven't changed any settings from yesterday which was the last time I was online. Or is something going on with the server.

EDIT: Seems to be working now, not sure what caused this.
I was doing some testing on the login server. Nothing to be concerned with. :wink:
User avatar
legit nyck
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:14 pm
Location: Ragol
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by legit nyck » Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:03 pm

how to use my id and acess key generated in the main page sylverant ? my pso is ver 1 us. dreamcast. Aaahh another issue because the lobby no have sound ??
PSO Info:
Characters:
( HUmar legit nyck Lv 51 Via :Dreamcast Ver.1 *inactive)
( HUcast KIREEK Lv 46 Via : Dreamcast Ver.1)
User avatar
Aleron Ives
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 838
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by Aleron Ives » Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:31 pm

Serial number and access key generation is for PSO PC only. You need the serials from your game case if you want to register your DC copy on the site, as registering shared serials is forbidden.

I've gotten the bug with no lobby music, too, but switching lobbies or connecting again seems to fix it.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
User avatar
legit nyck
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:14 pm
Location: Ragol
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by legit nyck » Thu Jan 14, 2016 2:08 pm

thank you but I think it's too late .... I tried to put my guild card with serial and access to sonic team numbers and I have just been informed that it is forbidden and will be banned but ... I do not know that
PSO Info:
Characters:
( HUmar legit nyck Lv 51 Via :Dreamcast Ver.1 *inactive)
( HUcast KIREEK Lv 46 Via : Dreamcast Ver.1)
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5486
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by BlueCrab » Thu Jan 14, 2016 2:57 pm

legit nyck wrote:thank you but I think it's too late .... I tried to put my guild card with serial and access to sonic team numbers and I have just been informed that it is forbidden and will be banned but ... I do not know that
If you've put in "your" numbers and gotten that message, then "your" numbers aren't actually yours. That means you've tried to register a shared serial, which, as has already been mentioned is not allowed on the server. Attempting to do so once and being blocked will not result in a ban. Habitual repeat offenders will be banned, however.

You need a legitimate copy of PSO and the serial numbers that came along with it in order to register your serial number to your account.

If you actually have a legitimate copy of PSO and used the serial number/access key that originally came with it, and got that message, then you should contact me in private to resolve the situation. I'll (of course) need photographic proof that the actual copy of the game that the serials you're using is in your possession to fix it for you.
User avatar
legit nyck
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:14 pm
Location: Ragol
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by legit nyck » Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:26 pm

some will try to explain what really happened here
when I put my gd in dreamcast appears only an information message
and soon after a screen with my isp number I just hooked me did not have to do anything
but I was wanting to use my serial sylverant
I did not know that serial worked only in version 2
and the serial and the access key I found nothing on the cover of my gd
I looked in relief and put the numbers who saw it and the message appeared
I'll try to get a better cell phone and send photos of this number for you because the device you use has a camera of 1 megapixel ,
I have no intention of cheating was actually hard for me to get an original disc dreamcast and now that I finally managed not want to be banned for something I did without any intention of malice :wink:

numbers in the GD IFPIL433 *1S* 51100B 77777777 B B3
PSO Info:
Characters:
( HUmar legit nyck Lv 51 Via :Dreamcast Ver.1 *inactive)
( HUcast KIREEK Lv 46 Via : Dreamcast Ver.1)
User avatar
TulioAdriano
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:32 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: PSO Questions & Answers

Post by TulioAdriano » Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:41 pm

Hi Bluecrab.

I spoken with Legit Nyck about it, and finally understood the root of the issue.

He purchased a dreamcast and a PSO v1, and both work and connect ok. However his CD case had the cradle replaced and lost the SN/AK. Luckily his Dreamcast already had the SN/AK registerd to the internal memory and it seems to work ok. He said his dreamcast never asked for SN/AK. He also sent me the pictures from his box and GD-ROM, all seems to be in order. Let me know if you want those forwarded to you.

What he was trying to do was to register his guildcard to his own account on Sylverant website, however for the lack of the correct number, he said he typed a number that was engraved to the inner rim of his GD Rom (????????????????? :o ) and upon registration it displayed the shared serial ban warning.

It's my understanding that linking a Dreamcast SN/AK to a Sylverant website account is optional and purely for convenience of managing your friends, saves, etc.

I instructed him to not worry about it and just enjoy the game on DC.

Let me know how we should proceed otherwise.
Thank you.
There are 10 types of people. Those who understand binaries and those who don't.
Post Reply