Doom for the DC v1.2

This forum is for the posting of new newsposts, and it stores the site's news and comments archives. Only newsposters have access to post new news in here; if you wish to submit news, please post it in the discussion section for your particular topic. We may choose to move it here as a newspost if we find that it's worthy for the front page.
Chilly Willy
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:00 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 2 times

Re: Doom for the DC v1.2

Post by Chilly Willy » Tue Nov 23, 2010 3:57 pm

law56ker wrote:Chilly would there be any way for you to add a mod loader/list like nxdoom has so we can load multiple community doom mods.
Not sure what you mean - the current GUI allows you to save and load all the settings (including patch mods and deh files) to different files. It defaults to "doom.set", which is loaded by default, but if you go to Save or Load Settings, it allows you to enter any name, allowing any number of different settings files.

Hmm - looking at dc_load_settings(), it looks at the VMU for those settings files. I can change that to checking the CD if the file isn't found on the VMU. That would allow you to have various settings files on the CD. I suppose that's what you mean? Otherwise, you would need to copy the files to VMU first before they could be used.

The settings files themselves are plain text, so making them by hand should be pretty easy... make one, then modify it to make others.

EDIT: I added an option to the GUI - Load Game Presets. This pops up a file requester that shows what's in /cd/presets/. You select a settings file and it sets all the settings to what's in the file or their default (if not specified). It works great! But now networking isn't working again. :x I updated KOS from the repo recently and noticed that lwip doesn't compile anymore (conflicts in a few different h files). Doom doesn't hang, it just sits a long time, then times out and says there's no network connection. This worked fine before... I suspect it has something to do with why lwip doesn't compile; changes were clearly made in the networking that has broken things.

An example of the settings file would be like this

Code: Select all

Doominator
-width
320
-height
240
-music
-iwad
/cd/iwad/doomu.wad
-file
/cd/pwad/D1/Doominator/dminator.wad
-deh
/cd/deh/suprwep8.deh
-maponhu
-rotatemap
-forcedemo
-rumble
I made a readme file that lists all the settings and explains most of them.
law56ker
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Doom for the DC v1.2

Post by law56ker » Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:33 pm

Wow Nice Job Chilly, I finally got around to try it out. I love how you can load and select the wads and dehs. Very user friendly! Is there any possibility of improving the frame-rate at higher resolution. I'd also like to see a gamma adjustment. Any chance of an update soon?
Chilly Willy
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:00 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 2 times

Re: Doom for the DC v1.2

Post by Chilly Willy » Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:26 pm

I just got around to updating the dc toolchain, so I should be able to do something on Doom this weekend.

I'll look over the code to see what I can do to help the higher resolutions, but I thought the gamma was already there... hold the Y button and press UP. That should change the gamma. The readme should have a complete list of button mappings... and my Doom has a BUNCH of stuff, like detail level, cheats, etc.

Remember that this Doom supports the keyboard, so you should be able to adjust the gamma that was as well.
law56ker
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Doom for the DC v1.2

Post by law56ker » Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:35 am

Well I never bothered to read the readme. Great work, It would be nice to see a more stable framerate at the higher resolution since the game looks much sharper. Either way this is a very good release. Nxdoom was great but it lacked the ability to play doom native music files. It's nice to see that some people still care to develop for the dreamcast, thankyou.
Chilly Willy
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:00 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 2 times

Re: Doom for the DC v1.2

Post by Chilly Willy » Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:20 pm

law56ker wrote:Well I never bothered to read the readme. Great work, It would be nice to see a more stable framerate at the higher resolution since the game looks much sharper. Either way this is a very good release. Nxdoom was great but it lacked the ability to play doom native music files. It's nice to see that some people still care to develop for the dreamcast, thankyou.
I've always been a huge Doom fan, so I work on ports of it when I can. I'll be updating the core used at some point since the one I use isn't Boom compatible. I'll probably also work on more sound formats for the music, but it'll always keep the original music as an option. 8-)
User avatar
LordNikon
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 9:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Doom for the DC v1.2

Post by LordNikon » Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:07 am

I know its a been a while since the last reply, but I have some observations testing this release of Doom on DC:
  • The keyboard controls are assigned to default with no way to configure. This makes it hard to setup a WADS config for move/strafe.
  • The mouse has forward and backward assigned to pushing the mouse forward or backward which can make aiming with the mouse less than ideal.
  • This is more of an additional feature request more than pointing out a bug. The 32X version has a speed arch for turning. Its slow at the center but if you hold down turn longer it speeds up the turn rate a bit. I always felt this allowed for a more consistant controller experience. Obviously you need the slower turn at the center to get those precise shots in, so you can't just make turning itself faster. It would need to be some sort of a time arch based on how long the user is pressing the dpad left or right. Currently on the DC you have to throttle the run button to get those quick turn arounds. Not a big deal, but just something I noticed when comparing the control to the 32X version. I wish I had Doom on some other platforms like SNES, GBA, or Jaguar to see how it compares, but all I have is the 32X version.
  • Is it possible to add mouse look support for aiming up and down with the mouse? Adding a more robust all around KB/Mouse config would probobly be a pre-requisite for this.
  • There is no way to access the command console. Tilda doesn't bring it up.
Anyways great job on this release :) I tested out networking on 2 Dreamcasts with BBA's locally and it worked just fine.
Last edited by LordNikon on Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.onlineconsoles.com - online console gaming communities for the Dreamcast, Gamecube, and Playstation 2
Stryfe
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:34 am
Location: Nowhere U.S.A.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Doom for the DC v1.2

Post by Stryfe » Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:33 am

LordNikon wrote:The keyboard controls are assigned to default with no way to configure. This makes it hard to setup a WADS config for move/strafe.
The mouse has forward and backward assigned to pushing the mouse forward or backward which can make aiming with the mouse less than ideal.
Doom for DC Readme wrote:If you have a DC mouse or keyboard, Doom for the DC will use them like they would be used on a PC.
The controls would behave like they did for the original Doom executable. And while it would be nice to be able to remap the keyboard controls, that would be a feature request, and not a bug.

LordNikon wrote:There is no way to access the command console. Tilda doesn't bring it up.
Again, same as above. There wasn't a console for the original doom executable.


If anything, the only hardware feature I'd really like to see implemented is SD card support.
ie - Save states to SD, file loading from SD directories instead of SDISO, etc.
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
LordNikon
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 9:02 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Doom for the DC v1.2

Post by LordNikon » Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:31 pm

Okay Stryfe, sounds good. Then those would be welcomed features then. ;)

Also, I edited the post above to remove some previously reported bugs. The frame hitching I was noticing was due to a 3rd party "performance" memory card being plugged into one of the controllers. I have stacks of first party memory cards laying around, but use this one sometimes for testing. So, I guess some third party cards like Performance once may impact the game. Though this doesn't mean anything needs to be fixed. Pretty sure everyone has multiple official VMU's as it is.
http://www.onlineconsoles.com - online console gaming communities for the Dreamcast, Gamecube, and Playstation 2
demio
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:58 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Doom for the DC v1.2

Post by demio » Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:44 am

Chilly Willy, do you plan to change port source to the ZDoom? Or make it compatible with this stuff?
Why i ask you about this? :)
Powerfull Mods for this port series... Like ZDWars, Invasion, Ragnarok Deathmatch and more...
http://zandronum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=58
Huh... ZDoom WARS (ZDWars) is a powerful mod for ZDoom series port. Where you can create your oun army of mobs (summon them) from games like: Hexen, Byond Heretic, Doom, Duke Nukem and etc...
Video about this you can see at YouTube like:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HD0OoL2xJpA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQ-mDNCpWqY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EOmja0m_XYw
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_20Bi14FPYM

And my favorite by my self... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x9HPwaTWGM
Just let you think about it... http://zdwi.neszone.net/
Also you can find a newer music for all Doom'like WAD's - http://zandronum.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=97
For best intergration with all PC/Mac players it might be a Zandronum port based on ZDoom...
With this, Dreamcast players can grab a pre-compiled iso image with all WAD's.
I think it may cause a lot of interests by DC players... Port's life would be longer...
Post Reply