Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Discussion of topics related to licensed games, software hacking/modification, prototypes, and development kits belongs here. Includes topics related to emulating the Dreamcast console on your computer or on another gaming console. Discussion of Reicast should go in the Official Reicast Forum.
User avatar
Calavera
DCEmu Classic User
DCEmu Classic User
Posts: 4192
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: Calacera County
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Calavera » Tue May 22, 2007 9:43 am

Without downloading a completed save? Just wondering because it seems near impossible.
Image
User avatar
mankrip
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
Posts: 3697
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 5:12 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by mankrip » Tue May 22, 2007 9:56 am

Green Hill Zone in Sonic Adventure 2? :o

I must play this game more.
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh mankrip Hell's end wgah'nagl fhtagn.
==-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-==
Dev blog / Twitter / YouTube
Image
User avatar
Calavera
DCEmu Classic User
DCEmu Classic User
Posts: 4192
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: Calacera County
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Calavera » Tue May 22, 2007 10:13 am

Fragger wrote:Green Hill Zone in Sonic Adventure 2? :o

I must play this game more.
Yes you should :mrgreen:

Image


More Screenshots
Image
User avatar
mankrip
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
Posts: 3697
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 5:12 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by mankrip » Tue May 22, 2007 10:40 am

I just found out you must have all 180 emblems to unlock it :(. This makes me remember that I'll never have all emblems in SA1 because the fishing stages NEVER have any 2Kg fish in them.
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh mankrip Hell's end wgah'nagl fhtagn.
==-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-==
Dev blog / Twitter / YouTube
Image
User avatar
Calavera
DCEmu Classic User
DCEmu Classic User
Posts: 4192
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: Calacera County
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Calavera » Tue May 22, 2007 10:49 am

Fragger wrote:I just found out you must have all 180 emblems to unlock it :(. This makes me remember that I'll never have all emblems in SA1 because the fishing stages NEVER have any 2Kg fish in them.
Yeah, if I wouldn't have been able to download a completed save, I would have probably never got to it. Does SA1 do anything special for getting all emblems?
Image
User avatar
Zealous zerotype
zerotype
Posts: 3701
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 7:11 pm
Location: Nashville,TN
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Zealous zerotype » Tue May 22, 2007 11:10 am

Only thing really stopping me is the damn chao garden bullshit.
SCO=SCUM=M$=SCO it keeps repeating :P
i'm a randite :worship:
DYTDMFBSB?
There must have been some mistake
I'm not the one who should be saved
My divinity has been denied
Mary and me were both fucked by God
User avatar
Calavera
DCEmu Classic User
DCEmu Classic User
Posts: 4192
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: Calacera County
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Calavera » Tue May 22, 2007 11:12 am

Zealous zerotype wrote:Only thing really stopping me is the damn chao garden bullshit.
Oh yeah, I forgot about that. I didn't even try to do it myself after seeing you had to do that crap.
Image
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by DaMadFiddler » Tue May 22, 2007 12:28 pm

It's a great level; they should have made the whole game that way.

Honestly, the actual Sonic levels of Sonic Adventure 2 are exactly what the series needs to be in 3D. It's the rest of the BS they throw in that mucks it up. But we've had this conversation enough times already :P

I tried to get all the emblems on GameCube, but some of the things you need to do are just tedious/frustrating and not fun at all. That's actually why I still have a Dreamcast copy; I got the 'Cube port a long time ago, but I didn't have the patience to do some of the more ridiculous missions.

I also never figured out the grading criteria for levels in that game. Sometimes, when I think I did really well (fast time, lots of rings, not getting hit, etc.) I'll get a C, and sometimes when I didn't do very well it'll give me an A. I don't get it.
User avatar
Calavera
DCEmu Classic User
DCEmu Classic User
Posts: 4192
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: Calacera County
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Calavera » Tue May 22, 2007 12:53 pm

DaMadFiddler wrote: I also never figured out the grading criteria for levels in that game. Sometimes, when I think I did really well (fast time, lots of rings, not getting hit, etc.) I'll get a C, and sometimes when I didn't do very well it'll give me an A. I don't get it.
Yeah I know what ya mean. It's a mystery.
Image
MapleBuster
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 4:33 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by MapleBuster » Wed May 23, 2007 6:45 am

Anyone who plays through the Tails and Eggman levels deserves an AAA+.

That screenshot looks so cute, lush and VERDENT!. The game levitated it's way from my sideboard to the palm of my hand on seeing it. It was and still is a stunning piece of work by the dev team, despite it's flaws.
cube_b3
Ex-Newsposter
Ex-Newsposter
Posts: 3947
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 6:51 am
Location: pakistan,karachi
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by cube_b3 » Wed May 23, 2007 8:08 pm

Calavera wrote:
DaMadFiddler wrote: I also never figured out the grading criteria for levels in that game. Sometimes, when I think I did really well (fast time, lots of rings, not getting hit, etc.) I'll get a C, and sometimes when I didn't do very well it'll give me an A. I don't get it.
Yeah I know what ya mean. It's a mystery.
What the hell? The grading criteria is really quite simple each stage has a given score that you have to beat in order to get an A, for example If I recall correctly "Escape The City" Stage 1 =>1800 (or 2000 can't recall exactly) = [A]
Stage 1 =<1800 =
Stage 1 =<1200 =[D]
Stage 1 =<1000 =[E]

The factors that affect your score are = Time, Rings, Enemies destroyed (more score if enemies are destroyed in a row).
______________________

As for the side missions the chao ones are probably not fun, as they are slow and stuff however it can grow on to you. I found the Sonic/Shadow, Tails/Dr.Robotnik missions quite fun such as hard mode, collect 100 rings etc however that choa mission were a bitch, given the camera and everything.

Knuckles/Rogue in game mission wasn't even fun, which is probably why his fan base has declined so much, he's reduced to a side kick rather then a hard-ass rival.
User avatar
Cid Highwind
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 674
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 5:11 am
Location: The Netherlands
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Cid Highwind » Thu May 24, 2007 12:17 pm

I tried to reach it some time ago, of course I started out with the Sonic missions, which are the best. I just can't be arsed to do the tedious Rouge / Knuckles missions. I suppose I'll have to DL a savegame one day, because GHZ seems very nice to me.
You feel at ease as you flock with the masses,
What do you see with your heads in their asses?
Keep on railing at what I believe,
Call me insane and I am proud to be.

--Edguy - King of Fools--

My blog
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by DaMadFiddler » Thu May 24, 2007 12:26 pm

Cid Highwind wrote:I tried to reach it some time ago, of course I started out with the Sonic missions, which are the best. I just can't be arsed to do the tedious Rouge / Knuckles missions. I suppose I'll have to DL a savegame one day, because GHZ seems very nice to me.
There's a DCEvolution release that has VMU tools and an archive of gamesaves. Just burn a copy of that and you're set.

...I think the easiest unlockable I ever got in a game was earning all the characters, etc. in Marvel vs. Capcom 2. You have to buy everything with points, and you earn points by playing the game. You also earn points (though more slowly) for time spent in the training mode...so I just went into training, set the controller down, and left the Dreamcast on for a few days.
Phantom
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 1753
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 4:01 am
Location: The Netherlands
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Phantom » Mon May 28, 2007 5:23 pm

I made it to the Green Hill Zone, without cheating.
"Nothing works" - Catweazle
User avatar
Calavera
DCEmu Classic User
DCEmu Classic User
Posts: 4192
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: Calacera County
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Calavera » Mon May 28, 2007 5:27 pm

Phantom wrote:I made it to the Green Hill Zone, without cheating.
lies.... pure evil lies....









































j/k


But seriously how long did it take, I know I don't have near the patience it would take to finish all that.
Image
Phantom
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 1753
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 4:01 am
Location: The Netherlands
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Phantom » Mon May 28, 2007 5:45 pm

Calavera wrote:
Phantom wrote:I made it to the Green Hill Zone, without cheating.
But seriously how long did it take, I know I don't have near the patience it would take to finish all that.
I know it took me several weeks. Other than that, I can't really remember, it's been too long.
"Nothing works" - Catweazle
MapleBuster
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 4:33 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by MapleBuster » Mon May 28, 2007 5:50 pm

I sat back from the comfort of my armchair, glass of Bourbon in hand, and watched my friends play it through. Altogether more relaxing.
MapleBuster
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 4:33 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by MapleBuster » Mon May 28, 2007 5:52 pm

The Knuckles levels were as boring to watch as they are to play.
skroooagh
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 6:50 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by skroooagh » Mon May 28, 2007 8:38 pm

I finally got my DC working again, fired up SA2 and... for some reason the game keeps freezing when Shadow fights Sonic after the White Jungle level and I can't get any further. Damn! Savefiles for me, I guess.
User avatar
Captain Skyhawk
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 812
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2001 6:48 am
Location: The Netherlands
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Has anybody ever made it to Green Hill Zone on SA2?

Post by Captain Skyhawk » Tue May 29, 2007 4:29 pm

:o wow! Green Hill Zone in Sonic Adventure 2! I remember buying the game at the day it came out and got really far in the game, untill the digging bugged me too much. Than I lost the savegame, but now I want to start over and play it again.
Visit the DC Help for all the Dreamcast homebrew help you need!
Go to DC Evolution, for the best ready to burn images
.
Post Reply