Dreamcast Development GD-Writer + 1 GD-R on eBay

Discussion of topics related to licensed games, software hacking/modification, prototypes, and development kits belongs here. Includes topics related to emulating the Dreamcast console on your computer or on another gaming console. Discussion of Reicast should go in the Official Reicast Forum.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mark30001
Mark30001
Mark30001
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:41 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Dreamcast Development GD-Writer + 1 GD-R on eBay

Post by Mark30001 » Sun Apr 09, 2006 10:24 pm

There's currently on eBay a Sega Dreamcast Katana GD-Writer + 1 GD-R.

I thought some people on these boards might be interested. Moderators, if I have violated a forum rule then I apologize.
Last edited by Mark30001 on Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
MetaFox
Adventure Gamer
Adventure Gamer
Posts: 2807
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 10 times
Contact:

Post by MetaFox » Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:31 am

Ross L. wrote:I hope MetaFox wins this. It would be cool to press all of the homebrew onto GD-R...
That'd be neat. But you'd need a system 2 disc to boot the GD-R on a standard Dreamcast, so it would be a little useless.

Though, Mil-CD possibly could work on a GD-R, but that would kind of spoil the point.
fatheadpi
First Class Dick
First Class Dick
Posts: 2607
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 4:45 am
Location: Colorado
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by fatheadpi » Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:25 am

Why would you need a system 2 disc? I was never clear on that...
Need a Treamcast, Dreamcast modchip, HUGE DC memory card, ASCII-like DC fighter pad, or Saturn Gameshark with tons of backup memory? PM me.
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7491
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:49 am

Simply the way the development burners work. When you burn the contents with the official stuff it leaves you with a disc that is not self booting.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
User avatar
Mark30001
Mark30001
Mark30001
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:41 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Mark30001 » Mon Apr 10, 2006 6:10 am

Hey there,

There is a "swap disc" method to read GD-Rs on any retail Dreamcast unit. Of course the region of the unit has to be the same region as the data burned on the GD-R, but that should be of no problem.

Here is a method I have done which has worked for me:

1. Remove screws from the DC and remove the cover.
2. Hold down the lid sensor the entire time.
3. Power your retail DC to the CD player menu.
4. Load any DC game (I used an NTSC-U Sonic Adventure).
5. Play Track 2.
6. Track 2 would probably stop and the screen would remain at the play menu.
7. Remove the DC game and load the GD-R (While it is still spinning and while the lid senor is still tied down).
8. Now go back to the menu and the GD-R should boot, voila!

Method which has worked for me!
.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:32 am

2. Hold down the lid sensor the entire time.
That would be a bit of a pain, if do mean to physically hold it. Why not do something like with the PS and Saturn swap method and stick the switch down some how. Blu-tac has always worked with my consoles. :lol:
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7491
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:33 pm

warez?
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
User avatar
MetaFox
Adventure Gamer
Adventure Gamer
Posts: 2807
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 10 times
Contact:

Post by MetaFox » Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:21 pm

Quzar wrote:warez?
Not necessarily - there is homebrew available for the PSOne after all.
User avatar
Mark30001
Mark30001
Mark30001
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:41 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Mark30001 » Mon Apr 10, 2006 5:23 pm

Skynet wrote:
2. Hold down the lid sensor the entire time.
That would be a bit of a pain, if do mean to physically hold it. Why not do something like with the PS and Saturn swap method and stick the switch down some how. Blu-tac has always worked with my consoles. :lol:
Yeah, that's similar to what I did. I took same screwdriver that I used to remove the top half of the DC case and placed it on the lid sensor. It sure would've been one hell of a job to swap the disc while it was running and holding down the sensor at the same time...
.
Post Reply