VGA bootdisc or something?

Discussion of topics related to licensed games, software hacking/modification, prototypes, and development kits belongs here. Includes topics related to emulating the Dreamcast console on your computer or on another gaming console. Discussion of Reicast should go in the Official Reicast Forum.
Post Reply
User avatar
GyroVorbis
Elysian Shadows Developer
Elysian Shadows Developer
Posts: 1808
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: #%^&*!!!11one Super Sonic
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

VGA bootdisc or something?

Post by GyroVorbis » Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:14 am

It seems like I heard someplace at some point in time that I forgot that there was some sort of bootdisc that let you play non VGA games on a VGA monitor.

Does anybody know where I can find this?
Elysian Shadows - "Next-Gen" 2D/3D RPG coming to Sega Dreamcast, Steam, OUYA, and Smartphones
Image
http://www.elysianshadows.com
junker2020
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 10:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by junker2020 » Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:12 am

I would love to play Bangai-O but from what I know it is NOT possible! I use teh Gamshark Lite for my importing on my Monitor. Let me know if any breakthroughs!
User avatar
Matisfaction
I can't get no.....
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 8:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Matisfaction » Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:29 am

I'd be interested in this to.
User avatar
MetaFox
Adventure Gamer
Adventure Gamer
Posts: 2807
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 10 times
Contact:

Post by MetaFox » Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:21 pm

I'll cut and paste the post I made about this at the Dreamcast section of Jaguar Sector II:

The only boot disc I can think of that has the function to enable VGA games in games which don't support it natively is DC-X, but it's possible that another disc might have that function as well.
doragasu
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu May 16, 2002 5:01 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by doragasu » Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:48 pm

I have DC-X and as stated by MetaFox it allows you to FORCE the games to start in VGA mode. But there are some games that don't work when forced to VGA. Bangai-O is one of them. Others include KOF 99 DMNE and KOF99 Evolution.
User avatar
Hilltopper
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 5:01 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Hilltopper » Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:43 am

you can always try the switch method. That is what I used to do. I don't remember exactlly how it was done, but the basic Idea is you switch the box to tv mode, put in your non vga game, then power on, After you hear the beep, hot switch it to VGA mode. I have tried this with success on games lke soul caliber. hope this helps.

*use at yourn own risk, I will not be held accountable if you break your DC or VGA box, please use the search function for more information.
Darkfalz
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 12:08 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Darkfalz » Fri Feb 10, 2006 1:05 am

If you use the normal Utopia boot disc which has been patched (simply enabled the VGA bit) then it works, but you boot "blind" (ie. while Utopia is running, you'll get no display on your screen, but once the game is loaded, it switches to VGA).
User avatar
Matisfaction
I can't get no.....
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 8:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Matisfaction » Fri Feb 10, 2006 5:33 am

Darkfalz wrote:If you use the normal Utopia boot disc which has been patched (simply enabled the VGA bit) then it works, but you boot "blind" (ie. while Utopia is running, you'll get no display on your screen, but once the game is loaded, it switches to VGA).
Yeah, It's prolly not a good idea to boot this thing with your monitor plugged in, The screen with the reindeer on is NOT vga compatible. so leave your monitor unplugged while it boots and you swop discs over. DOA2 wont work by the way.

Additional....Soul Calibur is VGA compatible anyway is it not? well the PAL version is.
Sonic-NKT
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 1:06 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sonic-NKT » Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:44 pm

DOA2 is VGA compatible too, atleast the JAP version...
hmm i want to play some games in vga now too (like Skies of Arcadia or Rayman 2) hmm perhaps i can get this CD-X disc at ebay or so...
dj898
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 8:10 am
Location: Down Under
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by dj898 » Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:20 pm

junker2020 wrote:I would love to play Bangai-O but from what I know it is NOT possible! I use teh Gamshark Lite for my importing on my Monitor. Let me know if any breakthroughs!
have you use the composite connection to your TV?
Bangai-O doesn't support VGA nor RGB...
User avatar
Matisfaction
I can't get no.....
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 8:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Matisfaction » Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:20 am

Sonic-NKT wrote:DOA2 is VGA compatible too, atleast the Japanese version...
hmm i want to play some games in vga now too (like Skies of Arcadia or Rayman 2) hmm perhaps i can get this CD-X disc at ebay or so...
Play asia have some in.
User avatar
emptythought
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 9:14 am
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by emptythought » Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:27 am

Matisfaction wrote:
Sonic-NKT wrote:DOA2 is VGA compatible too, atleast the Japanese version...
hmm i want to play some games in vga now too (like Skies of Arcadia or Rayman 2) hmm perhaps i can get this CD-X disc at ebay or so...
Play asia have some in.
As does Lik-sang.
User avatar
showka
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 12:01 pm
Location: Border Town
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by showka » Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:03 am

[quote="Matisfaction"][quote="Darkfalz"]If you use the normal Utopia boot disc which has been patched (simply enabled the VGA bit) then it works, but you boot "blind" (ie. while Utopia is running, you'll get no display on your screen, but once the game is loaded, it switches to VGA).[/quote]
Yeah, It's prolly not a good idea to boot this thing with your monitor plugged in, The screen with the reindeer on is NOT vga compatible. so leave your monitor unplugged while it boots and you swop discs over. DOA2 wont work by the way.

Additional....Soul Calibur is VGA compatible anyway is it not? well the PAL version is.[/quote]

[b]Has anyone tried this with Ikaruga?[/b] I've used the patch Utopia boot CD (it issues no warning about how the monitor won't work, so I know the patch must have taken effect) but when the game starts, there's still no output. If I look into the TV output, the game is running on the damn TV everytime.

Also... about this hot swap, how bad could it hurt the VGA Box? The monitor thus far seems immune to harm.

If the only recourse is to buy the CD-X, I may do that as well, though I will curse bemoan the loss of the ten dollars.
Sweater Fish
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 679
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sweater Fish » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:20 pm

Just use the Pro Action Replay demo. It's a far better bootdisc than Utopia. It boots games into VGA more reliably and has better compatibility just generally. I know there's some question about its legality, but it's hosted at plenty of respectable places and is probably more legitimate than Utopia anyway.

Everyone should stop using Utopia and all DC homebrew sites should stop hosting it, it's more trouble than it's worth. For homebrew stuff, DC Hakker is better. For imports, the Pro Action Replay demo is better. (DC Hakker can boot imports, too, but it's a slightly more complicated process than you want to have to go through every time you boot a game.)


...word is bondage...
User avatar
showka
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 12:01 pm
Location: Border Town
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by showka » Wed Feb 22, 2006 2:28 pm

"Pro Action Replay demo"? Thanks, I'll definetly look this up when I get home.
User avatar
showka
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 12:01 pm
Location: Border Town
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by showka » Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:16 am

Found it on a French website and was able to understand the alta vista translation on how to run it.

It actually worked! If it is indeed legal, I don't understand why it isn't all over the place.

Thanks for the advice! Ikaruga looks great! Now to just make sure I'm not hurting this monitor.
Post Reply