HOTD2 vga?

Discussion of topics related to licensed games, software hacking/modification, prototypes, and development kits belongs here. Includes topics related to emulating the Dreamcast console on your computer or on another gaming console. Discussion of Reicast should go in the Official Reicast Forum.
Post Reply
jemsic
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 1:33 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

HOTD2 vga?

Post by jemsic » Sun Oct 16, 2005 8:40 pm

I just tried out house of the dead 2 on vga and it looks so awesome. Only problem is - the gun doesn't work! The screen flashes every time I pull the trigger but it won't register any shots. Its like shooting off the screen in duck hunt. I have a 19" dell analog flat panel and the mad catz gun. Is something wrong with the monitor, or the gun?
User avatar
Pyrite
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 412
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 1:46 am
Location: Portugal Dreamcast: PAL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Pyrite » Sun Oct 16, 2005 9:34 pm

You will have to use the mouse instead.
THAN/THEN get it right peoples!
Image
Nick
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2498
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:11 am
Location: United States
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Nick » Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:21 pm

You can't use a gun on any LCD, be it a TV or PC monitor.
Very sexy hero, omg
dj898
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 8:10 am
Location: Down Under
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by dj898 » Mon Oct 17, 2005 1:45 am

I heard people telling me they used JPN lightgun on VGA connection on JPN DC and others say not true... O_O

what's the verdict?
Does official JPN lightgun on JPN DC using JPN HPTD2 via VGA connection work?

cheers
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:11 am

How about rear projection? Does it work on that?
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5448
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 24 times
Contact:

Post by BlueCrab » Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:43 am

Skynet wrote:How about rear projection? Does it work on that?
I always used to play Duck Hunt on my NES on a rear projection TV, so I'm gonna guess yes. (I dunno though)
User avatar
Gameholic
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:16 pm
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Gameholic » Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:28 am

I will try HOTD2 on my vga box tonight, as I have the JAP and PAL official lightgun and both version games..

but I also think it wont work
doragasu
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu May 16, 2002 5:01 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by doragasu » Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:56 pm

HOTD2 works with my interact gun and my LG Flatron F900P 19" monitor. Confidential Mission doesn't work with it though...
User avatar
impetus
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 4566
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 2:32 pm
Location: Overland Park, KS
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by impetus » Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:50 pm

I have never had any problems using light guns on a monitor. I have 2 Interact Starfires.
User avatar
Gameholic
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:16 pm
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Gameholic » Tue Oct 18, 2005 1:54 am

I've tested it and im glad to inform you that HOTD2 and Confidential Mission work fine with my vga box on my Philips monitor using the official DC lightgun. I however have to test it on my LCD tv but i think this might work as well.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Tue Oct 18, 2005 2:47 am

BlueCrab wrote:
Skynet wrote:How about rear projection? Does it work on that?
I always used to play Duck Hunt on my NES on a rear projection TV, so I'm gonna guess yes. (I dunno though)
I hope so. If it does, I should bust out my HOTD 2 and lightgun sometime. Sweetness :D
Darkfalz
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 12:08 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Darkfalz » Tue Oct 18, 2005 3:14 am

Always worked fine for me (though I have a CRT). HOTD2 doesn't support the mouse.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:34 am

BlueCrab wrote:
Skynet wrote:How about rear projection? Does it work on that?
I always used to play Duck Hunt on my NES on a rear projection TV, so I'm gonna guess yes. (I dunno though)
No dice. I had all sorts of issues trying to play HOTD2 last night. I couldn't calibrate it, it just wouldn't fire on screen. I tried not calibrating and that was no help. Basically I could kill maybe 2 zombies because it just happened to shoot on screen at the time, and that was it. :evil:
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
1mp0r7g4m3r
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: Tokyo
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by 1mp0r7g4m3r » Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:25 pm

light guns work on refresh rate. since LCD's dont have a refresh rate, the light guns dont work. you'll need to get a CRT
Make Metal Slug DC!
Visit the Dreamcast NMMT Board!
http://nmmt.proboards58.com/index.cgi
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Fri Oct 21, 2005 4:37 am

I'd probably need a 100Hz compatible gun for my tv then, wouldn't I? (100Hz rear projection tv)
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
Post Reply