Games that WILL NOT work outside regions

Discussion of topics related to licensed games, software hacking/modification, prototypes, and development kits belongs here. Includes topics related to emulating the Dreamcast console on your computer or on another gaming console. Discussion of Reicast should go in the Official Reicast Forum.
Post Reply
crc73
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:12 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Games that WILL NOT work outside regions

Post by crc73 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:18 am

Just wondering if there are any games which have been identified not to work on a region it wasn't intended, even if a unit was chipped, or a boot disk was used.

For example, are there any JAP games, which will not work on PAL systems, even if a boot disk is used, or the DC has been chipped?

I ask because I have a JAP Dynamite Deka and PAL units, but can't get it to work on any when using a boot disk (I don't have any chipped systems to try it on). The disk looks to be in perfect condition, only a few slight marks (but I guess I can't rule them out as being the cause). I've tried using the regular RF connection, SCART and VGA box, but none work.
User avatar
Darksaviour69
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Ireland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Darksaviour69 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:42 am

i have got the jap version of space jam that i can't get to boot with a boot disk i have tried...
The Kron
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 3:53 pm
Location: Bristol,UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by The Kron » Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:58 am

All depends on the type of boot disc used.
User avatar
Darksaviour69
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Ireland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Darksaviour69 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:08 am

i used the CDX demo
crc73
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:12 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by crc73 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:36 am

Forgot to mention that I'm using codebreaker, and it runs all my other JAP and US games no bother.

I'm just wondering about this game in particular because I remember reading some 50/60 Hz thingy and needing a JAP or US unit to get it to work as it only ran at 60Hz, but this might have been with a bootdisk/PAL game/NTSC unit combination to be able to force it into 60Hz.
User avatar
Darksaviour69
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Ireland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Darksaviour69 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:47 am

http://www.consolevision.com/members/fa ... orts.shtml

u can get the demo version of CDX here, it boots most imports
crc73
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:12 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by crc73 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:00 am

Cheers, will give it a go. Had trouble with DiskJuggler before, but will try cdi2nero to see if I can get it to burn properly.
dj898
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 8:10 am
Location: Down Under
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by dj898 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:29 pm

it would be more to do with PAL title that has no 60Hz option.
on US DC that will output NTSC at 50Hz and I don't think there are that many tellies that support that...
User avatar
neoak
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 5:48 pm
Location: Mayagüez, PR | Houston, TX
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by neoak » Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:05 pm

A Modchip will probably help. And about the no-60 Hz, probably a VGA Box will help too.
Image
User avatar
royhubbs
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 11:01 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by royhubbs » Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:38 pm

yea, none of my jap game play on my TV, but work with VGA monitor...
Image
dj898
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 8:10 am
Location: Down Under
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by dj898 » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:49 pm

really the mod chip will be the easy solution and it doesn't take much time to install one...

still you need to work out 50/60Hz issue if not going VGA route but then there are titles not compatible with VGA box/cord... :(
User avatar
Matisfaction
I can't get no.....
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 8:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Matisfaction » Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:17 am

royhubbs wrote:yea, none of my jap game play on my TV, but work with VGA monitor...
I have a few probs with some Jap games: SSFIIX and Super Fire Pro D don't support RGB, SSFIIX will work via Euro AV but Super fire pro will only work on a monitor for me. :(
User avatar
neoak
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 5:48 pm
Location: Mayagüez, PR | Houston, TX
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by neoak » Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:55 pm

dj898 wrote:really the mod chip will be the easy solution and it doesn't take much time to install one...

still you need to work out 50/60Hz issue if not going VGA route but then there are titles not compatible with VGA box/cord... :(
Maybe for those titles, the cheaper option would be to use a PC TV Tuner that has no lag.
Image
Sultan of Saturn
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1416
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 1:21 pm
Location: Disney World
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sultan of Saturn » Sun Aug 21, 2005 8:50 pm

The gameshark I bought has loaded everything that I have thrown at it...abot 50 imports. It treated my Shenmue 2 like your next door neighbor when you are asking for some sugar (the nice neighbor).
Formerly Known As "Chalavet".....
Post Reply