[GUIDE/FAQ] Get Online with Dreamcast PSO (v1 and v2)

Discussion of topics related to licensed games, software hacking/modification, prototypes, and development kits belongs here. Includes topics related to emulating the Dreamcast console on your computer or on another gaming console. Discussion of Reicast should go in the Official Reicast Forum.
Post Reply
User avatar
MetaFox
Adventure Gamer
Adventure Gamer
Posts: 2802
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 6 times
Contact:

Post by MetaFox » Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:14 am

Ominous 0nionfrog wrote:Does it have to be a codebreaker?
Yes.
Ominous 0nionfrog wrote:Can I use a gameshark?
No.
User avatar
GyroVorbis
Elysian Shadows Developer
Elysian Shadows Developer
Posts: 1808
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: #%^&*!!!11one Super Sonic
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GyroVorbis » Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:07 pm

Guys, you need to help me. I can't get on now. What are you using as primary and secondary DNS? I saw you post on another forum, Nico, that you just barely got on with your BBA, so c'mon what's your DNS?

I finally got a friend to get a GC BBA and uhhh... 10Mbps cap? w t f? Wow, pwnt by the Dreamcast...
Elysian Shadows - "Next-Gen" 2D/3D RPG coming to Sega Dreamcast, Steam, OUYA, and Smartphones
Image
http://www.elysianshadows.com
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:43 am

Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
Smurph
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:26 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Smurph » Fri Jan 13, 2006 9:48 am

GyroVorbis wrote:Guys, you need to help me. I can't get on now. What are you using as primary and secondary DNS? I saw you post on another forum, Nico, that you just barely got on with your BBA, so c'mon what's your DNS?

I finally got a friend to get a GC BBA and uhhh... 10Mbps cap? w t f? Wow, pwnt by the Dreamcast...
GC and DC don't play well together on PSO.
Image
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Post by Nico0020 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:58 pm

*updated*
fixed DNS server IPs to current.
*The Cadillac of signatures*
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Mon Jan 16, 2006 4:26 am

I finally got a friend to get a GC BBA and uhhh... 10Mbps cap? w t f? Wow, pwnt by the Dreamcast...
Umm... why would you need more anyway? I sometimes seriously think you're inlove with your DC supersonic ;)
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
Komid
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 11:31 pm
Location: Im under your bed.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Komid » Wed Jan 18, 2006 4:07 pm

Its been a month and I still havent got online. Ive got this typed in:

For my BBA (using planet web 3.0)
I have the primary and secondary DNS numbers set too:
207.134.228.46

Everything is else is left blank. I am able to get on the web using DHCP/Router but have been unable too connect to pso thus far.

On my copy of PSO v2 I have the DNS numbers set the same as above with everything else left blank.

What do I need to fill in next?
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Post by Nico0020 » Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:41 pm

you probably need to set a gateway or subnet mask. check your IPconfig in a DOS prompt. What error message are you getting?
*The Cadillac of signatures*
User avatar
GyroVorbis
Elysian Shadows Developer
Elysian Shadows Developer
Posts: 1808
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: #%^&*!!!11one Super Sonic
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GyroVorbis » Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:45 pm

Hey guys, I've been having a really wierd issue with getting my DC online (BBA) ever since I moved to my new house.

It's exponentially bigger than our old one, so we all got wireless recievers rather than sticking to the wired. We still have the same kind of router too (Linksys G). I have my DC on a bridge with my PC (through ethernet) so that I could share my connection (used to be ethernet also). But now every single time I try to share a connection between my wireless and the Dreamcast, it ends up completely crashing the router and knocking every person on the network offline.

I thought I just wouldn't bother and I'd be good, but seeing PSO screenshots reminds me of how much I freaking miss it...
Elysian Shadows - "Next-Gen" 2D/3D RPG coming to Sega Dreamcast, Steam, OUYA, and Smartphones
Image
http://www.elysianshadows.com
User avatar
Arqueiro
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2002 9:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Arqueiro » Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:15 am

anyone try to conect on the server this weekend ?
3d graphics and visualization ?
http://www.arquiteturadigital.com
User avatar
GyroVorbis
Elysian Shadows Developer
Elysian Shadows Developer
Posts: 1808
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: #%^&*!!!11one Super Sonic
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GyroVorbis » Mon Apr 17, 2006 8:32 pm

I did without any luck. (or recently at least)

what DNS are you guys connecting with? It definately isn't my connection this time, because I was online with the PlantWeb Browser and Quake III Arena...
Elysian Shadows - "Next-Gen" 2D/3D RPG coming to Sega Dreamcast, Steam, OUYA, and Smartphones
Image
http://www.elysianshadows.com
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Post by Nico0020 » Mon Apr 17, 2006 10:18 pm

207.134.231.160

always check http://www.schtserv.funurl.com to see the recent one. its on the main page.
*The Cadillac of signatures*
Xavier Pendragon
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:57 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Xavier Pendragon » Sat Jun 24, 2006 4:00 pm

I am using a Modem to connect to PSO V1 on Dreamcast, and I need a Free Dial Up ISP to use. What are some good ones. I tried all of them in the first post in this topic but all but one won't even connect, and the one that does says that my Internet Access is resticted.
Smurph
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:26 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Smurph » Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:13 pm

Sega changed something with their HL servers. I'm not sure, but a codebreaker might be requried for everyone now.
Image
User avatar
GyroVorbis
Elysian Shadows Developer
Elysian Shadows Developer
Posts: 1808
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: #%^&*!!!11one Super Sonic
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GyroVorbis » Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:34 pm

Cfaith works perfectly for my friends and me. As a matter of fact, they were using it all night long last night.
Elysian Shadows - "Next-Gen" 2D/3D RPG coming to Sega Dreamcast, Steam, OUYA, and Smartphones
Image
http://www.elysianshadows.com
User avatar
Arqueiro
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2002 9:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: [GUIDE/FAQ] Get Online with Dreamcast PSO (v1 and v2)

Post by Arqueiro » Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:27 pm

anyone know if pso dc still working online on this server ?
3d graphics and visualization ?
http://www.arquiteturadigital.com
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Re: [GUIDE/FAQ] Get Online with Dreamcast PSO (v1 and v2)

Post by Nico0020 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:09 pm

yes it still does. though i have not been able to connect with my bba for quite awhile. though that is a different issue. Your best help is at schtserv.com as there are still a few active DC players. I need to get my network settings right again as i'd like to play a bit of PSO again and take a lil break from PSU.
*The Cadillac of signatures*
JKKDARK
Choking On Cock 24/7
Choking On Cock 24/7
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:48 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: [GUIDE/FAQ] Get Online with Dreamcast PSO (v1 and v2)

Post by JKKDARK » Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:28 pm

Arqueiro wrote:anyone know if pso dc still working online on this server ?
Yes, all the versions and regions are online on Schthack.
User avatar
GyroVorbis
Elysian Shadows Developer
Elysian Shadows Developer
Posts: 1808
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: #%^&*!!!11one Super Sonic
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: [GUIDE/FAQ] Get Online with Dreamcast PSO (v1 and v2)

Post by GyroVorbis » Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:09 pm

So what the hell happened to that huge "omg, Sega's servers are going down, so every English PSO copy is going to become a coaster" scare? It was like the Y2K of PSO DC.
Elysian Shadows - "Next-Gen" 2D/3D RPG coming to Sega Dreamcast, Steam, OUYA, and Smartphones
Image
http://www.elysianshadows.com
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16168
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 22 times
Been liked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: [GUIDE/FAQ] Get Online with Dreamcast PSO (v1 and v2)

Post by |darc| » Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:07 pm

GyroVorbis wrote:So what the hell happened to that huge "omg, Sega's servers are going down, so every English PSO copy is going to become a coaster" scare? It was like the Y2K of PSO DC.
AFAIK, the game servers DID go down, but the authentication servers didn't. For some reason, they're still up. This could be that some other online game is using the same authentication servers, that someone at Sega left it up for us, or just that someone forgot to turn it off.

This doesn't affect all English copies of PSO, just USA copies. PAL copies don't require the authentication server.
It's thinking...
Post Reply