Broadband adaptors cheap

Discussion of topics related to licensed games, software hacking/modification, prototypes, and development kits belongs here. Includes topics related to emulating the Dreamcast console on your computer or on another gaming console. Discussion of Reicast should go in the Official Reicast Forum.
LiENUX
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2001 7:53 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Broadband adaptors cheap

Post by LiENUX » Sat Dec 01, 2001 12:09 pm

well i finally got my bba from http://www.gameschoice.com.hk however they are hit-0300's which means if your planning on getting one for quake3 arena... DONT from the packaging it looks like it is only up to 10baseT and i know for a fact that it will only work with the browser that comes with it, howeverall is not lost as developers will still be able to use them once drivers for dcload-ip or something similar are made. once i get a screwdriver and my dc back up and working il'l look into porting dcload-ip to it.
Van_Lardo
DCEmu Hanger On
DCEmu Hanger On
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Scotland, UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Van_Lardo » Sat Dec 01, 2001 2:13 pm

On the subject of broadband adaptors,

I was thinking of getting a broadband connection for my PC... would this affect my Dreamcast's online capabilities in anyway?

I'm in the UK and I don't really know what the benefits of broadband for DC would really be (since there are no official ones available over here). Would I need a broadband adaptor for my DC if I wished to still use my PC ISP?

In short, I have:

European Dreamcast = 33.5kps modem
PC = 56kps modem

I want:

Dreamcast = Broadband speed connection
PC = same
BOTH using the same ISP account....

.....anyone know if this's possible.... and if so, how much for an import broadband adaptor?

Thanks :)
Image http://www.geocities.com/vanlardo HELP! I CAN'T POST ANY MORE MESSAGES! I KEEP GETTING MESSAGES TELLING ME TO COME BACK LATER!
dreamcaster1
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 8:51 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by dreamcaster1 » Sun Dec 02, 2001 6:54 am

those are lan adaptors not bbas
The Kron_
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by The Kron_ » Sun Dec 02, 2001 7:24 am

DC Lan adapter is the name for the BBA's in Japan

This is taken from http://www.lik-sang.com :

We have received confirmation from customers who bought cheap adapters from other sources that those versions are the old DC LAN Adapters from 1999 and do not support the games or development tools. Those adapters do have a model number of HIT-0300 instead of HIT-0401 and are marked as "DC LAN Adapters" instead of "Broadband Adapters" on their box.
TheDumbAss
QuakeDev Mod
QuakeDev Mod
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Indpls, IN USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by TheDumbAss » Sun Dec 02, 2001 8:00 am

Let me get this right...

They are selling a useless BBA? This means Sega made a BBA that had no use?? What can it be used for?

I almost bought one... and was thinking about contacting them to see if they were still avalible. Guess I'm not going to now.

Van Lardo...

Yes you'd need a BBA to use your broadband connection on your dreamcast. Another option is to find one of the tutorials that explain how to connect your DC to your PC via modem and get a more stable 33.6 then true dialup. Dont think it works with every game. I know some games require adjustmenets to the tutorial.
My old Sig was broken. Enter the new Sig!
petteri
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 9:37 am
Location: Finland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by petteri » Sun Dec 02, 2001 10:36 am

Get the connection to your PC and then go to
http://www.dcvision.com/Mterlouw/
and hook up your DC to your PC... hope this helps!
The Kron_
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by The Kron_ » Sun Dec 02, 2001 11:57 am

TDA

If you buy a Japanese Lan Adapter/BBA make sure the model number is: HIT-0401 (these play the games and have dev uses)
LiENUX
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2001 7:53 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by LiENUX » Sun Dec 02, 2001 12:15 pm

if youd pay attention to this post the point was that i was going to attempt to give the HIT-0300 dev and game use by developing drivers for dcload-ip and potentially kos (once a decent ip stack implementation is in place)
radish28
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2001 4:16 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by radish28 » Sun Dec 02, 2001 7:07 pm

in other words the BBA or Lan Adapter from Game Choice Club is useless for Online games. right?
Its been a while...
LiENUX
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2001 7:53 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by LiENUX » Sun Dec 02, 2001 7:41 pm

radish, right now yes, in the future... maybe not.
007Cheater
Founder and Ex-Admin
Founder and Ex-Admin
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Westminster, CA, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by 007Cheater » Sun Dec 02, 2001 8:16 pm

How depressing, second time today I found out that I bought something I did not have to buy :(
dreamcaster1
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 8:51 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by dreamcaster1 » Sun Dec 02, 2001 10:18 pm

actually depending on how cheap the lan adaptors are i would get 1 even if they dont support online games i bet they would support link games though and that alone would be usefull
cheeseball322
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 6:56 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by cheeseball322 » Mon Dec 03, 2001 5:46 pm

if the LAN adapter doesnt work for games, whats the purpose of it?
LiENUX
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2001 7:53 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by LiENUX » Mon Dec 03, 2001 6:16 pm

geeze
you people are poor readers
my original post states that i am working on porting dcload-ip to work with it and i would also like to look into porting a driver to kos.
SurXes
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2001 3:41 am
Location: Oakland, California
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by SurXes » Mon Dec 03, 2001 6:44 pm

petteri wrote: Get the connection to your PC and then go to
http//www.dcvision.com/Mterlouw/
and hook up your DC to your PC... hope this helps!
a few questions,

do all games work or will you still need to pay for sega server games?

when connecting does it use the 56k or your broadband connection?
~.::?urXes 6raffiX::.

"Distributor local street corner contributor"~J5
Hatecrime69
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 2:53 pm
Location: pa
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Hatecrime69 » Mon Dec 03, 2001 7:33 pm

Get the connection to your PC and then go to
http//www.dcvision.com/Mterlouw/
and hook up your DC to your PC... hope this helps!



a few questions,

do all games work or will you still need to pay for sega server games?

when connecting does it use the 56k or your broadband connection?
I just did that thing last night. Basicly as far as the dreamcast itself is conserned, your useing a plain 56k connection, what it doesn't know is that it's not connecting to an actual 'isp' that a 56k modem would connect by, it's connecting to your computer directly (that you setup to be a server in the guide) and the computer is useing the normal net connection it has and that you setup to share it's internet connection (the pc) What your doing is useing a different isp than seganet, it's just that you put your computer inbetween as an internet router for the broadband connection. the speed will usually be faster than useing a plain 56k dialup isp because the total wire between the client (the dreamcast) and the server (your pc) can be 5 feet away and isn't branced out at all to other pc's wanting the service.
KIngAtRock
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by KIngAtRock » Tue Dec 04, 2001 4:11 am

No matter how many posts it takes... i cant... i cant stress this enough, the BBA is useless.. it really was/is.

the minute # of games u can play online are either old or you have to pay on top of that just to play!

aaaaannnnnnddddd since im PPPOE, i could connect to pso online, but not join any games.... lovely.. no support....


best $78 bucks I ever wasted.

Burn Kills Nothing? I hope Burn KILLS SEGA!
FryGuy
DCEmu Fast Newbie
DCEmu Fast Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Broadband adaptors cheap

Post by FryGuy » Tue Dec 04, 2001 4:46 am

Hi! im very interested in getting a broadbandadapter, but the url u wrote doesnt work.

/FryGuy



well i finally got my bba from http://www.gameschoice.com.hk however they are hit-0300's which means if your planning on getting one for quake3 arena... DONT from the packaging it looks like it is only up to 10baseT and i know for a fact that it will only work with the browser that comes with it, howeverall is not lost as developers will still be able to use them once drivers for dcload-ip or something similar are made. once i get a screwdriver and my dc back up and working il'l look into porting dcload-ip to it.
[/quote]
The Kron_
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by The Kron_ » Tue Dec 04, 2001 7:26 am

get one from http://www.lik-sang.com !

The ones at http://www.gamechoiceclub.com.hk (no S) are not suitable (yes LiNEUX we know your trying to port dcload-ip, but just in case play it safe and get the ONE that works in the first place from Lik-Sang)
FryGuy
DCEmu Fast Newbie
DCEmu Fast Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by FryGuy » Wed Dec 05, 2001 3:53 am

But perhaps they work with dclinux ?


[quote="The Kron"]
get one from http://www.lik-sang.com !

The ones at http://www.gamechoiceclub.com.hk (no S) are not suitable (yes LiNEUX we know your trying to port dcload-ip, but just in case play it safe and get the ONE that works in the first place from Lik-Sang)
[/quote]
Post Reply