Recomendations on Intergated motherboards

Talk about anything and everything not related to this site or the Dreamcast, such as news stories, political discussion, or anything else. If there's not a forum for it, it belongs in here. Also, be warned that personal insults, threats, and spamming will not be tolerated.
Post Reply
RMD
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:24 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Recomendations on Intergated motherboards

Post by RMD » Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:40 pm

I'm looking for decently priced mother boards with good intergated video and sound.

Something that supposed DDR2 ram and used 64bit processors.
Also if the intergrated video on the board was output via DVI that would be great.
User avatar
melancholy
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
Posts: 10966
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2001 12:34 am
Location: Indiana
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by melancholy » Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:02 pm

I've never heard of a motherboard having a DVI port.

But at any rate, getting a motherboard with good integrated video is going to be really hard. You would be much, much better off just getting a separate video card, especially since it sounds like you want to build something higher end. Also, you didn't tell us what type of processor you are using, so picking out a motherboard would really just be a shot in the dark without more info.
User avatar
SuperMegatron
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3520
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 8:47 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SuperMegatron » Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:21 pm

intels 950 chip set can support dvi but I have never seen a board with it.
User avatar
JellyWarrior
General Jelly
General Jelly
Posts: 1203
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 1:17 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by JellyWarrior » Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:19 pm

I usually get MSI branded stuff, I got a couple of customers a MSI 975X Platinum PowerUp Edition it's an excellent board, I know it's expensive but it's really good.

Also, you will have trouble finding a board with a DVI output, especially if you're after a good price.

There is no such thing as a good integrated graphics card on a motherboard, you will get something good enough to for media centre or business use but it certainly won't be good for games.
Skype: distinctive
I am involved in : Mytalk | Comet TV | Distinctive Web Services
User avatar
mariobro
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 pm
Location: Mexico
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by mariobro » Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:12 pm

I might recommend Foxconn motherboards. The ones with Nvidia chipsets, and socket AM2 for AMD processors. They have a GeForce 6100 which works very well, even for some old games, and runs Vista Aero smoothly.

I think one of those claims to have DVI and component output via a header, but they say the video header is almost impossible to find.
"Until I finally made it, life was kinda hit or miss...
And I'd love to talk philosophy, but I gotta take a piss"
-David Lee Roth
User avatar
Disheveled DrFreeze
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2896
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Disheveled DrFreeze » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:24 am

i recently used a asrock nf4 geforce 6100 based am2 board, and iirc that board has DVI

now i know asrock is conisdered a budget brand, but i was quite impressed with that little board, the 6100 is a nice chipset, and for a cheap board, it overclocks very well, i got the amd 3000 i had on it from 1.8 to 2.5 easily, and after that the memory became the problem

this is the board i used i think: http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?M ... -DVI&s=AM2
DrFreeze, thinking outside the box since 1985
DrFreeze, licensed road terror since 2006
DrFreeze, Sun Certified Java Programmer since 2007
User avatar
melancholy
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
Posts: 10966
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2001 12:34 am
Location: Indiana
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by melancholy » Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:49 am

Disheveled DrFreeze wrote:i recently used a asrock nf4 geforce 6100 based am2 board, and iirc that board has DVI

this is the board i used i think: http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?M ... -DVI&s=AM2
The board you just linked to says it has VGA, not DVI.
User avatar
Disheveled DrFreeze
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2896
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Disheveled DrFreeze » Wed Feb 14, 2007 2:22 pm

melancholy wrote:
Disheveled DrFreeze wrote:i recently used a asrock nf4 geforce 6100 based am2 board, and iirc that board has DVI

this is the board i used i think: http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?M ... -DVI&s=AM2
The board you just linked to says it has VGA, not DVI.
oh realy?, it has both VGA D-sub (regular analog) and DVI-D
Asrock wrote:Rear Panel I/O ASRock DVI I/O
- 1 x PS/2 Mouse Port
- 1 x PS/2 Keyboard Port
- 1 x VGA/D-Sub Port
- 1 x VGA/DVI-D Port
- 1 x Parallel Port (ECP/EPP Support)
- 4 x Ready-to-Use USB 2.0 Ports (including 2 ports on bundled USB+COM port bracket)
- 1 x RJ-45 Port
- HD Audio Jack: Side Speaker / Rear Speaker / Central / Bass / Line in / Front Speaker / Microphone
DrFreeze, thinking outside the box since 1985
DrFreeze, licensed road terror since 2006
DrFreeze, Sun Certified Java Programmer since 2007
RMD
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:24 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by RMD » Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:18 pm

Does it have a price on that page or am I just being stupid?
User avatar
melancholy
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
Posts: 10966
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2001 12:34 am
Location: Indiana
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by melancholy » Wed Feb 14, 2007 7:14 pm

Disheveled DrFreeze wrote:
melancholy wrote:
Disheveled DrFreeze wrote:i recently used a asrock nf4 geforce 6100 based am2 board, and iirc that board has DVI

this is the board i used i think: http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?M ... -DVI&s=AM2
The board you just linked to says it has VGA, not DVI.
oh realy?, it has both VGA D-sub (regular analog) and DVI-D
Asrock wrote:Rear Panel I/O ASRock DVI I/O
- 1 x PS/2 Mouse Port
- 1 x PS/2 Keyboard Port
- 1 x VGA/D-Sub Port
- 1 x VGA/DVI-D Port
- 1 x Parallel Port (ECP/EPP Support)
- 4 x Ready-to-Use USB 2.0 Ports (including 2 ports on bundled USB+COM port bracket)
- 1 x RJ-45 Port
- HD Audio Jack: Side Speaker / Rear Speaker / Central / Bass / Line in / Front Speaker / Microphone
That's what I get for quickly glancing at the link. Even the model number gave it away. :oops:
RMD
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:24 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by RMD » Wed Feb 14, 2007 8:25 pm

Does that board have built in wifi? Is there a wifi version of that. That mother board would be perfect for me if it just had onboard wifi.
User avatar
Disheveled DrFreeze
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2896
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Disheveled DrFreeze » Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:18 am

mel, yeah the model number is kinda obvious, though asrock has a different board with dvi in the model number, where dvi isnt specifically listed in the specs, so im kinda unsure

RMD, no price on that page, its the product info page from asrock, and no, no built in wifi either (thats typically reserved for high end boards)

newegg doesnt have any asrock boads, but here are some DVI equiped boards by other brands:

Asus:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131072
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131014

DFI
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813136016

Abit
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813127013

and for some variation, MSI with Ati chipset:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813130066
the same in open box:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 813130066R

that is all newegg has with DVI for socket am2, your DDR2/64bit specs also would allow for intel on s775, but keep in mind the cheapest good am2 cpu is ~170 dollars, lower then that you will be stuck with old netburst (p4) stuff, while on am2, you can pick up some amazing deals on amd single cores, and even the dualies arent that expensive anymore (tip: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819103735)
DrFreeze, thinking outside the box since 1985
DrFreeze, licensed road terror since 2006
DrFreeze, Sun Certified Java Programmer since 2007
RMD
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:24 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by RMD » Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:43 am

Shrugs none of those seem to have onboard wifi. I'd get the abit or the DFI is they did. I've realized with only 2 pci slots that i'd need to have onboard wifi.
User avatar
Disheveled DrFreeze
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2896
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Disheveled DrFreeze » Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:08 am

isnt usb wifi an option?

my main rig uses an usb wifi stick because i too have no pci slots free (thats what you get for going SLI with dual slot coolers
DrFreeze, thinking outside the box since 1985
DrFreeze, licensed road terror since 2006
DrFreeze, Sun Certified Java Programmer since 2007
User avatar
Wagh
Wagh
Posts: 5736
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 7:59 pm
Location: YSOH
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Wagh » Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:53 am

I've got that mobo teamed with a 3500+ and a gb of ram. Works great as my htpc. Pretty durable mb too. I've spilled a bunch of water etc on it. Works fine.
Bush and Hussein together in bed
Giving H-E-A-D head
Y'all motherfuckers heard what we said
Billions made and millions dead
Post Reply