XBox support in Australia made me feel stupid

Talk about anything and everything not related to this site or the Dreamcast, such as news stories, political discussion, or anything else. If there's not a forum for it, it belongs in here. Also, be warned that personal insults, threats, and spamming will not be tolerated.
Post Reply
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

XBox support in Australia made me feel stupid

Post by Skynet » Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:48 am

Even though I wasn't. :evil: :lol:

I've been having issues with my 360 and colours appearing that shouldn't be there. While playing Dead Rising and also while watching a DVD I had some weird yellow, purple and green colours across the screen. I shrugged it off as perhaps overheating and turned the console off for a few hours. Come back 3 or so hours later and the same thing still randomly happens. I turned the console off and didn't touch it again for about 24 hours.

After this time I went to play Dead Rising again (damn I love this game :D) and no picture at all! I tried fiddling with my component cable, nothing. I tried changing it to the second component input, nothing. I tried using just the yellow, red, white cables in various inputs on my tv, nothing. The "ring of light" would turn on as normal and the controller guide button light was on as normal, as did the wifi adapter light on the back of the console. Also note that I tried it switched to HDTV and TV on almost every input I tried, so it didn't seem like a HDTV problem. It didn't seem like a tv issue as other things plugged into the inputs I tried were working perfectly.

Today I give XBox customer support a call. Obviously they need to run through the troubleshooting steps with me to find where the problem lies. Once she gets to the step "try switching to HDTV" part, BAM it turns on. She then runs through the "make sure you have it swtiched to the correct one for your tv" speech, which I knew and have had both the HDTV and TV switches both working previously without any issues at all. She also mentioned "make sure your cables are firmly in place" which is something I've checked about a dozen times since about 6pm last night (roughly 24hours ago).

I tried explaining that I've already done that many times with no results, but she probably thought I was just some dumbass aussie who didn't know what they're doing. :? Weird thing is this, the console functioned as normal. I was reading the troubleshooting and it said if there's a video cable problem the ring of light will have red in it, or something like that. Yet the console was functioning perfect despite the lack of video/audio. I could even shut it down by holding the guide button down for a few seconds then selecting the shut down option from the menu, I can remember what option it was in the list. :P

So yeah, an indian woman from XBox support made me feel like a jackass who didn't know how to connect his 360 to his tv. :lol: Mods, move this to gaming if you wish, I posted it in OT as it's more of a XBox as a technical support issue rather than a gaming issue.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
Darksaviour69
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Ireland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Darksaviour69 » Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:56 am

lol. very good.

i hate ringing support phone lines, i prefer googling
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Tue Oct 17, 2006 4:03 am

Well turns out the problem isn't fixed! Sure it worked then, I felt like an idiot and turned off the console. Did a few things, typed up this thread and went to finally play some 360. What happens? No picture/sound. Rather frustrating! :evil:
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
Darksaviour69
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Ireland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Darksaviour69 » Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:01 am

lol, i was thinking that could happen
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:11 am

Yeah well I have no idea what the hell to do next. The woman was kinda contradicting herself, she said to take it back to the retailer but she also said to call them. So unless someone here knows what's up, I'll call again tomorrow, so I don't look like a wanker, and explain the situation. With any luck I should be able to take it back to target. I'm thinking about maybe just buying another component cable.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
Darksaviour69
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Ireland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Darksaviour69 » Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:17 am

i bought a preowned xbox 360 about a week or 2 ago, got it home took it out of the box and it back was all cracked, you could not fit the leads back. next day went back straight away got it replaced instantly no questiions asked... i was pretty happy with that.

try the xbox.com web site under trouble shooting (it the same info the call center uses). you will have to wait as xbox.com (and live) and down at the mo (an update)
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am

try the xbox.com web site under trouble shooting (it the same info the call center uses)
Yeah already been through that
you will have to wait as xbox.com (and live) and down at the mo (an update)
I knew about it before hand, but I had some american recording telling giving me some lecture about it being down for 24hours.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
ian
Young Null Warrior
Young Null Warrior
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 12:14 am
Location: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by ian » Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:16 am

call the nintendo help line, cause they are just that... HELP :lol:


buy a wii


and scrap your 360... but for $650 dollerydoo's you'd want the fucking thing to work :roll:
It's a livin' thing, Its a terrible thing to lose.
User avatar
Lunchbox
1337 Food Container
1337 Food Container
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 12:30 pm
Location: Right where I can see ya ;)
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Lunchbox » Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:02 am

Grab a friends cable and see if that works
Image
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:02 am

Did you at least try it on a different TV / monitor?
Image
atf487
DCEmu's Ranter
DCEmu's Ranter
Posts: 2527
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2002 2:54 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by atf487 » Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:00 pm

When was your console manufacturered?

I remember hearing a problem like this with the launch consoles.
Image
Tetris: 556-381-350-981
MKDS: 163-282-974-709
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:52 am

Grab a friends cable and see if that works
Only people at work have a 360, that I know. Just bought a new one :P
Did you at least try it on a different TV / monitor?
One would assume that wouldn't matter as 1) it was working fine just before and 2) every other sort of input I plug into it works just fine.
When was your console manufacturered?
2006 02 04 I think... Would need to double check, I have it written down somewhere
I remember hearing a problem like this with the launch consoles.
It would be an Aussie launch console, I bought it 2 days after launch date in March of this year.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
Post Reply