just installed ubuntu, internet browsing hangs....

Talk about anything and everything not related to this site or the Dreamcast, such as news stories, political discussion, or anything else. If there's not a forum for it, it belongs in here. Also, be warned that personal insults, threats, and spamming will not be tolerated.
Post Reply
hrb2k3
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Tidewater, VA, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

just installed ubuntu, internet browsing hangs....

Post by hrb2k3 » Sat Jun 24, 2006 10:20 am

i installed ubuntu 6.06 yesterday and got all the auto-updates, but whenever i browse the internet with either firefox or opera, some websites hang there for about 30 seconds before they make a connection. any idea what i can do to fix this?

i tried messing with the DHCP/Static IP settings, i'm connected to a router so i use DHCP.

i installed ubuntu to test out linux and so far i like what i see and how everything is setup. and it seems a little more stable than XP. i just have to mess with it a little bit to customize it and get my other partitions mounted. i currently have it dual-booted with XP.

so, anyway, what can i do to stop the internet browsing from hanging?


thanx. :thumbsup:
DC FoReVeR.!!!
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:30 am

That depends on why it's happening.

I have a similar problem on my machine when using DHCP. My router is a useless hunk of crap, which just doesn't work properly with Linux machines. It's a combination of a DHCP server that's not entirely compatible with the Linux (or even the reference) DHCP client (it does things like reassigning IP addresses before their lease has expired, but after a Windows system would have asked for a renewal anyway), a really bad DNS server that doesn't work half the time, and generally only responding to a Linux machine 1/2 of the time, after a ten second delay, and at one hundreth of the speed it responds to a Windows machine.

Sounds like your problem might be DNS related. If you can find out the IP address of your ISP's own DNS server, set Ubuntu up to use that directly rather than going through your router.
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Ex-Cyber » Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:20 pm

What happens if you issue

Code: Select all

ping localhost
in a terminal?
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
hrb2k3
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Tidewater, VA, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by hrb2k3 » Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:30 pm

it keeps going on and on......

Code: Select all

64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.087 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.073 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.078 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.079 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.080 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.082 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=0.080 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=0.074 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=0.083 ms
DC FoReVeR.!!!
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Mon Jun 26, 2006 2:17 am

Yeah, ping will keep going until you stop it by pressing Ctrl+C.
hrb2k3
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Tidewater, VA, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by hrb2k3 » Mon Jun 26, 2006 1:49 pm

i now got my internet to work a little better by blacklisting ipv6. now it only takes 6 seconds to connect to some sites. now i need to figure out how to get the pages to show up instantly instead of hanging.
DC FoReVeR.!!!
User avatar
curt_grymala
Theme Inducer
Theme Inducer
Posts: 4274
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 12:14 pm
Location: Wherever I'm Needed
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by curt_grymala » Mon Jun 26, 2006 2:34 pm

hrb2k3 wrote:it keeps going on and on......

Code: Select all

64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.087 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.073 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.078 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.079 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.080 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.082 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=0.080 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=0.074 ms
64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=0.083 ms
Wow. You're pinging twice as fast as I can on my nix box.

I'm jealous.
DCHelp - A Newbie's Best Friend
DC Evolution - Disc Images
DreamZone Forums

I Refuse To Help Anyone That Says They've Tried Everything.
hrb2k3
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Tidewater, VA, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by hrb2k3 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:43 pm

ok, new problem. i'm trying to use my USB Xbox controller to play ZSNES, but the d-pad doesn't work as well as the L-R triggers. how do i get zsnes to recognize the dpad and triggers.? the other buttons work fine.

oh yeah, and i noticed my IP that my router assigned is now 192.168.x.32. in, windows, it was 192.168.x.19. i guess every restart, the ip changes.?

EDIT: i installed xubuntu (XFCE) and the controls seem to work perfectly. don't know why they don't work in ubuntu.
DC FoReVeR.!!!
Post Reply