Would this power adapter be safe to use with a NES?

Talk about anything and everything not related to this site or the Dreamcast, such as news stories, political discussion, or anything else. If there's not a forum for it, it belongs in here. Also, be warned that personal insults, threats, and spamming will not be tolerated.
Post Reply
User avatar
Eckostyle
DCEmu Mega Poster
DCEmu Mega Poster
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 7:03 am
Location: Kogane-Cho
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Would this power adapter be safe to use with a NES?

Post by Eckostyle » Sat Jan 28, 2006 7:56 am

User avatar
arrowhead
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2601
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 5:21 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by arrowhead » Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:36 am

Cant really say. You need a 9v AC power adapter. Thay has all the tips that you need but the tech description doesnt say whether or not is has a 9v setting.
Shut that cunts mouth before I come over there and fuck start her head
User avatar
Smiley
DCEmu Ultra Fan
DCEmu Ultra Fan
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: For British Eyes Only...
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Smiley » Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:39 am

I have a spare one if all else fails...
Image
Veggita2099
Janitor 2nd Class
Janitor 2nd Class
Posts: 9018
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Chesapeake, Ohio
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Veggita2099 » Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:15 pm

I imagine you could find one cheaper then that on ebay.
Wii number: 1227 6854 1080 3665
Veggita2099
Janitor 2nd Class
Janitor 2nd Class
Posts: 9018
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Chesapeake, Ohio
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Veggita2099 » Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:17 pm

User avatar
Eckostyle
DCEmu Mega Poster
DCEmu Mega Poster
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 7:03 am
Location: Kogane-Cho
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Eckostyle » Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:23 pm

It can be set to 9V, but I'm worried about the polarity.

Whats the polarity on toaster NES systems?
User avatar
JellyWarrior
General Jelly
General Jelly
Posts: 1203
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 1:17 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by JellyWarrior » Sat Jan 28, 2006 6:55 pm

Have you checked ebay?
This search produced so so many results.
Skype: distinctive
I am involved in : Mytalk | Comet TV | Distinctive Web Services
User avatar
SuperMegatron
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3520
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 8:47 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SuperMegatron » Sat Jan 28, 2006 7:32 pm

the genesis one power supply works
User avatar
impetus
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 4566
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 2:32 pm
Location: Overland Park, KS
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by impetus » Sat Jan 28, 2006 7:57 pm

I have one, made by Naki, that has three plugs, one each for Genesis, NES, and SNES. Awesome product, if you have all three (and can find it).

It's "Item #55728, Model JOD-48U-06" if that helps.

This ebay listing is so poorly titled that you'll probably get it cheap if you try
http://cgi.ebay.com/Nintendo-NES-power- ... dZViewItem

EDIT: This might get you started on finding a 3-in-1
http://froogle.google.com/froogle?q=nes ... de=unknown
User avatar
arrowhead
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2601
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 5:21 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by arrowhead » Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:56 pm

The NEs manual says you need 9 volts of AC current, not DC.
Shut that cunts mouth before I come over there and fuck start her head
DeAthWaGer
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 6:52 pm
Location: outside of Philadelphia, PA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DeAthWaGer » Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:24 am

um, no that's not right. It's 9v DC. No gaming electronics on this planet run on AC. Unless you count dishwashers, dryers, and refridgerators as gaming electronics...
Wheeling Bitch Circus - Keepin' it METAL since 1998:

http://www.myspace.com/wheelingbitchcircus
User avatar
arrowhead
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2601
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 5:21 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by arrowhead » Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:42 am

DeAthWaGer wrote:um, no that's not right. It's 9v DC. No gaming electronics on this planet run on AC. Unless you count dishwashers, dryers, and refridgerators as gaming electronics...
Um yeah that is right. Im staring at an original NES power adapter, and I am reading it. Ill lay out the whole thing:

Nintendo AC adapter
Model number.: NES-002
Input AC120V 60Hz 17W
Output AC9V 1.3A
Power Supply for use with
Video Game NES-001
Only

So, to sum up, the plug, and the system call for 9V AC. Now it is true you can use DC because I have done it with a 9 volt battery, but it does indeed call for 9V of AC power.
Shut that cunts mouth before I come over there and fuck start her head
DeAthWaGer
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 6:52 pm
Location: outside of Philadelphia, PA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DeAthWaGer » Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 pm

NO SMALL ELECTRONICS USE ALTERNATING CURRENT.

It is a misprint. AC adaptors convert ALTERNATING current into DIRECT current, which has POLARITY. Alternating current has no polarity. If there was no polarity, the tip wouldn't matter.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_current
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alternating_current
Wheeling Bitch Circus - Keepin' it METAL since 1998:

http://www.myspace.com/wheelingbitchcircus
Smurph
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:26 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Smurph » Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:39 pm

DeAthWaGer wrote:NO SMALL ELECTRONICS USE ALTERNATING CURRENT.

It is a misprint. AC adaptors convert ALTERNATING current into DIRECT current, which has POLARITY. Alternating current has no polarity. If there was no polarity, the tip wouldn't matter.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_current
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alternating_current
Well said.
Image
MezzoMac
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:16 am
Location: Hamburg, GER
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by MezzoMac » Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:58 am

I just don't want to open a new thread, so:

Is it possible to get 9 Volts 500mA out of the DC-PSU?
How do I solve it?
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Ex-Cyber » Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:16 am

NO SMALL ELECTRONICS USE ALTERNATING CURRENT.
Some stuff uses an AC input in order to get positive/negative voltage for amplifiers.
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
404NotFound
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
Posts: 4970
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2001 3:40 pm
Location: The Canadian-Mexican border.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by 404NotFound » Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:55 am

The NES is pretty resilliant... I used to use an old Casio calculated adapter on my NES when i lost the plug.
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DaMadFiddler » Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:03 am

For a few years, I used an old Atari adapter that I had just spliced an appropriate plug onto. Those things have *insanely* long cords :o
Lartrak
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 6166
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 9:28 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Lartrak » Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:01 pm

SuperMegatron wrote:the genesis one power supply works
Really? It doesn't for me. I know because I've plugged it in by accident. The tip fits and it turns on, but it won't work.
How to be a Conservative:
You have to believe everything that has ever gone wrong in the history of your country was due to Liberals.
User avatar
SuperMegatron
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3520
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 8:47 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SuperMegatron » Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:05 pm

Lartrak wrote:
SuperMegatron wrote:the genesis one power supply works
Really? It doesn't for me. I know because I've plugged it in by accident. The tip fits and it turns on, but it won't work.
I am fairly sure it does. Maybe it was the master system adaptor though.
Post Reply