weird Overclock problem

Talk about anything and everything not related to this site or the Dreamcast, such as news stories, political discussion, or anything else. If there's not a forum for it, it belongs in here. Also, be warned that personal insults, threats, and spamming will not be tolerated.
User avatar
SadisticSaviorX
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:04 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

weird Overclock problem

Post by SadisticSaviorX » Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:07 pm

i have a msi k8n neo mobo (MS-7030) and it automaticaly overclocks everything even when i tell it not to...it ups the voltage on the memory to 2.7 and the cpu to 1.5. i think the cpu one is normal but im not so sure about the memory. i installed nvidias ntune to monitor the system settings and it says that the agp freq. is set at 67 and the htt is 804 and ddr clock is 402. i know this isnt normal.. since the Athlon 64 3000 nly runs at 2Ghz...
can anyone help me on my prob cuz its driving me insane and i dont want to damage my board and cpu.

btw: the temps for cpu/mobo 45/40C

i dont think this is very normal for idleing temps....
User avatar
Disheveled DrFreeze
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2896
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Disheveled DrFreeze » Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:49 am

well, to be honest, the specs you list seem pretty normal:
AGP: 66 mhz nominal
Hypertransport 800mhz on most amd 64 systems
DDR: 400 on most amd 64 systems

1.5 volt core voltage seems ok for that cpu, im not very sure about it, but it doesnt seem to high to my, and 2.7 is a bit high, nominal is 2.5, but dont worry, most ram can take a bit more voltage
DrFreeze, thinking outside the box since 1985
DrFreeze, licensed road terror since 2006
DrFreeze, Sun Certified Java Programmer since 2007
User avatar
SadisticSaviorX
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:04 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SadisticSaviorX » Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:54 pm

well the thing is that the cpu temp constantly climbs over 65c!
im using stock cooling and trying to leave all settings stock so i dont blow out anything...

i currently have 4 case fans running and this thing is getting louder ... so doews anyone think it is possible to get the temp down?
User avatar
Disheveled DrFreeze
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2896
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Disheveled DrFreeze » Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:58 pm

wow, 65C is not healthy for any Pc, is that under load or idle? if thats your idle temp, shut down the pc now, and try to figure out what the hell is wrong with your cooling, because there is something seriously wrong


then check what kind of Vcore the amd 64 3000 is supposed to run at on amd.com, and make sure the mobo isnt auto OCing, you should be able to disable this in the bios

my MSI k7 mobo also has the corecell technology which does the autoOCing, iirc you can quite easily just disable it in the cell menu in the bios
DrFreeze, thinking outside the box since 1985
DrFreeze, licensed road terror since 2006
DrFreeze, Sun Certified Java Programmer since 2007
User avatar
SadisticSaviorX
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:04 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SadisticSaviorX » Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:19 pm

i have that corecell stuff to but i have it turned off and everything set to stock but when i boot my cpu auto clocks at 2010Mhz. and i dont know why. it should be 2Ghz not the 2010 so i just dont understand it. i have the mem clock limit at 200Mhz or it would exceed that. i think that is the only thing keeping my system from not exploding.

btw the temp i give is from about 5 min. of playing NFSU2. but still thats VERY high for such a small amount of time. the system idles at about 35-45.

the only thing is that all this started happening about the same time iinstalled ntune and think that is the culprit..but when i uninstalled it ...the problems were still there so...im stuck...
User avatar
Wagh
Wagh
Posts: 5736
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 7:59 pm
Location: YSOH
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Wagh » Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:24 pm

1.8ghz..... not 2.
Bush and Hussein together in bed
Giving H-E-A-D head
Y'all motherfuckers heard what we said
Billions made and millions dead
User avatar
InvisixIsLeet
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:31 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by InvisixIsLeet » Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:25 pm

That's what you get for getting an MSI. In the world of computing... the term, "You get what you pay for." is very true.
User avatar
SadisticSaviorX
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:04 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SadisticSaviorX » Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:29 pm

Random_Troll wrote:1.8ghz..... not 2.
wat do u mean 1.8.... the 3000+ runs at 2Ghz....it even says so on the box!
User avatar
Wagh
Wagh
Posts: 5736
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 7:59 pm
Location: YSOH
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Wagh » Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:33 pm

ooh you got the shitty one. Sorry.
Bush and Hussein together in bed
Giving H-E-A-D head
Y'all motherfuckers heard what we said
Billions made and millions dead
User avatar
SadisticSaviorX
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:04 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SadisticSaviorX » Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:35 pm

????
User avatar
SadisticSaviorX
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:04 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SadisticSaviorX » Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:35 pm

????
User avatar
Wagh
Wagh
Posts: 5736
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 7:59 pm
Location: YSOH
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Wagh » Fri Feb 18, 2005 1:44 pm

SadisticSaviorX wrote:????
the older socket one. There's two versions. the 754 and the 939. The 754 runs at 2ghz but afaik the 754 line is going to be turned into the cheaper line.
Bush and Hussein together in bed
Giving H-E-A-D head
Y'all motherfuckers heard what we said
Billions made and millions dead
User avatar
Disheveled DrFreeze
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2896
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Disheveled DrFreeze » Sat Feb 19, 2005 4:30 am

the 1,8 version is a 2800, so his clock is right

also, im about 99% sure that that 10 mhz OC is not the cause of your overheating, i suggest you give your cooling setup a real good look over, maybe put some new and better thermal paste between there (remove the old stuff first)
DrFreeze, thinking outside the box since 1985
DrFreeze, licensed road terror since 2006
DrFreeze, Sun Certified Java Programmer since 2007
User avatar
SadisticSaviorX
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:04 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SadisticSaviorX » Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:53 pm

well i just said fuck the msi board and bought a brand new one just cuz its got more gadgety stuff
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDe ... 042&depa=1

im going to sell my old board so i hope this will fix it and just increase my preformance a bit
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7486
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:14 pm

DrFreeze wrote:the 1,8 version is a 2800, so his clock is right

also, im about 99% sure that that 10 mhz OC is not the cause of your overheating, i suggest you give your cooling setup a real good look over, maybe put some new and better thermal paste between there (remove the old stuff first)
no, they have a 1.8 ghz one that is newer and is rated higher than the other 1.8ghz one, because its faster at the same speed.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
User avatar
SadisticSaviorX
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:04 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SadisticSaviorX » Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:35 pm

can anyone comment on if that is a good board or not...

i figured it was because of all the extras and the nforce
User avatar
Disheveled DrFreeze
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2896
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Disheveled DrFreeze » Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:35 am

lookds nice, chaintech is supposed to be good, and the nforce3 250 is also a nice chipset, almost the best on socket 754, only the nf3 250 GB is better, it has Gbit lan and some other goodies over the normal 250
DrFreeze, thinking outside the box since 1985
DrFreeze, licensed road terror since 2006
DrFreeze, Sun Certified Java Programmer since 2007
zickfun
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 669
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 3:03 am
Location: Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by zickfun » Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:17 am

I'll sort out this mess :

Athlon 64 3000+ SOCKET 754 = 2ghz
Athlon 64 3000+ SOCKET 939 = 1.8ghz
zickfun
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 669
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 3:03 am
Location: Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by zickfun » Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:18 am

Also Nforce4 is out now but yeah Nforce3 250GB is still sexy =]
User avatar
Disheveled DrFreeze
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2896
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:23 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Disheveled DrFreeze » Wed Feb 23, 2005 7:35 am

he selected a socket 754 board, and afaik, there arent any 754 nf4 boards, they are 939 only

and as for sexy, my nf2 400 ultra is still sexy |/|
DrFreeze, thinking outside the box since 1985
DrFreeze, licensed road terror since 2006
DrFreeze, Sun Certified Java Programmer since 2007
Post Reply