GC modchip released to public + bios can boot dvd-r!

Talk about anything and everything not related to this site or the Dreamcast, such as news stories, political discussion, or anything else. If there's not a forum for it, it belongs in here. Also, be warned that personal insults, threats, and spamming will not be tolerated.
MKE
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2416
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 12:24 pm
Location: your mom's room
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

GC modchip released to public + bios can boot dvd-r!

Post by MKE » Wed Nov 24, 2004 7:47 pm

Today Mental have released their much-anticipated 3rd party Cobra BiOS v0.2 (48.4 KB) for use with the new Viper GC module on the GameCube console! Those looking for grab a Viper GC module can do so from these Official Re-Sellers now! Finally, grab the official release NFO file, and jump on EFnet #PS2Ownz NOW for the release! BIG props to ALL involved in making this happen!
NFO for bios: http://www.ps2ownz.com/mental.nfo

and places to buy the modchip are:

* http://www.Divineo.com
* http://www.GameFreax.com
* http://www.Chip-Factory.com
* http://www.Game-Acc4all.com
* http://www.HKDirekt.de
* http://www.HardStore.com
* http://www.DVDMod.it
* http://www.RobotPig.com
* http://www.I-C.bz (wholesale only)


Image
Last edited by MKE on Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:24 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Image
XBOX live gamertag: MKEmods
MKE
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2416
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 12:24 pm
Location: your mom's room
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: GAMECUBE Modchip released (56k beware, 4 large pics)

Post by MKE » Wed Nov 24, 2004 7:50 pm

*opps wrong button*
Image
XBOX live gamertag: MKEmods
gamedudex2
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:19 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by gamedudex2 » Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:56 pm

so does that mean the data will travel at the same speed as the gc cd does? or be the same as with a bba? if so then sweet for homebrew and emulation
User avatar
Stormwatch
DCEmu Fan
DCEmu Fan
Posts: 2090
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 11:55 pm
Location: Brazil
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Stormwatch » Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:21 pm

...and piracy. :roll:
Lines join in faint discord and the Stormwatch brews
. . a concert of Kings as the white sea snaps
. . at the heels of a soft prayer
. . whispered
Gmc
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3446
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: England
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Gmc » Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:53 am

Piracy using the BBA method is pretty much full speed now...but still a pain in the arse cause you gotta use PSO, blah blah.
Image
User avatar
Sir C.A.T
Young Null Warrior
Young Null Warrior
Posts: 791
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:46 pm
Location: Minnesota Awesome: Yes
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sir C.A.T » Thu Nov 25, 2004 9:56 am

cool.
Image
Pyrosurfer
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 964
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 5:07 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Pyrosurfer » Thu Nov 25, 2004 10:29 am

What type of transfer rates can you get out of a PC's parallel port? I would rather see it use usb or ethernet.
cube_b3
Ex-Newsposter
Ex-Newsposter
Posts: 3956
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 6:51 am
Location: pakistan,karachi
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 2 times
Contact:

Post by cube_b3 » Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:20 am

hey wouldn't be piracy easier if people started pairating games for panasonic Q rather then game cube it would be as easy as playstation 2 and xbox's pairacy
User avatar
* illusion *
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 7:53 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by * illusion * » Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:29 am

About damn time. Dont have a GC anymore though...
Image
User avatar
Wagh
Wagh
Posts: 5736
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 7:59 pm
Location: YSOH
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Wagh » Sat Nov 27, 2004 11:12 pm

Stormwatch wrote:...and piracy. :roll:
Because.. there never was a dreamcast scene :roll:
Bush and Hussein together in bed
Giving H-E-A-D head
Y'all motherfuckers heard what we said
Billions made and millions dead
gamedudex2
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:19 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by gamedudex2 » Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:41 am

BILAL_XIA wrote:hey wouldn't be piracy easier if people started pairating games for panasonic Q rather then game cube it would be as easy as playstation 2 and xbox's pairacy
bustisnt dvd player and gamecube hardware are seperate for it i though?
i mean they are 2 dif drives right? i wish someone could just work a way t add a hd to gc :) same for dc
Lyris
Respected Artist
Respected Artist
Posts: 503
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 7:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Lyris » Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:49 am

I have my PS2 mod chipped. Don't give a damn about pirates, the last time I played one of those it felt like I was playing a demo. Psychologically I need the box, manual, the full game, to want to bother with it.

The reason is because this lets me play imported games. For a large group of people, this is the case - not all mod chipping is due to piracy.

Of course if companies would just remove the stupid region locks from their consoles, the mod chip makers and pirates wouldn't have much of a leg to stand on.
MKE
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2416
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 12:24 pm
Location: your mom's room
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by MKE » Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:25 pm

bump.
Image
XBOX live gamertag: MKEmods
Pyrosurfer
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 964
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 5:07 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Pyrosurfer » Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:40 pm

Whoa, this is amazing. My burner only does +Rs though :cry: . How much do minidvds cost?
User avatar
arrowhead
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2601
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 5:21 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by arrowhead » Thu Dec 16, 2004 6:11 pm

So one thing I dont get is that it says you can take off the top of your cube and use dvd-r instead of mini dvd-r. Why would you do that? Isnt the laser only going to go out as far as the mini dvd-r anyway?
Shut that cunts mouth before I come over there and fuck start her head
User avatar
Roofus
President & CEO Roofuscorp, LLC
President & CEO Roofuscorp, LLC
Posts: 9889
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 11:42 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Roofus » Thu Dec 16, 2004 6:15 pm

arrowhead wrote:So one thing I dont get is that it says you can take off the top of your cube and use dvd-r instead of mini dvd-r. Why would you do that? Isnt the laser only going to go out as far as the mini dvd-r anyway?
Yeah, but if you don't have to buy mini-dvds if all you have is full size ones. Course, it'd be easier just to buy a pack of mini-dvds, but whatever.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16198
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 6 times
Contact:

Post by |darc| » Thu Dec 16, 2004 6:31 pm

Roofus wrote:
arrowhead wrote:So one thing I dont get is that it says you can take off the top of your cube and use dvd-r instead of mini dvd-r. Why would you do that? Isnt the laser only going to go out as far as the mini dvd-r anyway?
Yeah, but if you don't have to buy mini-dvds if all you have is full size ones. Course, it'd be easier just to buy a pack of mini-dvds, but whatever.
Yeah, but Mini-DVDs have poor compatibility.
It's thinking...
MKE
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2416
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 12:24 pm
Location: your mom's room
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by MKE » Thu Dec 16, 2004 6:40 pm

now im waiting for 3rd party cases. something clear that can hold full size dvd's.

but now that one chip is out, i wonder what the next gen chip can do.
Image
XBOX live gamertag: MKEmods
User avatar
arrowhead
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2601
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 5:21 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by arrowhead » Thu Dec 16, 2004 7:57 pm

I dont get how you flash the bios on these things? They dont come preflashed with the bios? And as far as updates go, do all you have to do is burn the update file to a mini dvd-r and run it? Last question is how many wires would I have to solder? I despised soldering in magic chips on ps2's, 32 wires lick nutts to solder in. Is there a wiring diagram floating around?
Shut that cunts mouth before I come over there and fuck start her head
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16198
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 6 times
Contact:

Post by |darc| » Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:02 pm

It's thinking...
Post Reply