DOSBOXDC released

This forum is for discussion pertaining to homebrew and indie software for the Dreamcast, such as homebrew games, emulators/interpreters, and other homebrew software/applications. Porting requests and developmental ideas are not to be made here; you can make those here. If you need any help burning discs for homebrew software, this is the place to ask as well.
GPF
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Texas
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

DOSBOXDC released

Post by GPF » Tue Nov 22, 2005 3:30 pm

Image
This is a port of Dosbox 0.60 for the Sega Dreamcast.

THIS RELEASE OF DOSBOXDC WAS CREATED FOR THE DREAM ON CONTEST 05

please check the other readme for more information about using dosbox.

included is a scrambled binary and a dosbox.conf with settings for the shareware version of Commander Keen.

to run other dos program copy them to the cd and change the dosbox.conf to mount and start the dos executable.

there are many more settings that can be tweaked as well, check out http://dosbox.sourceforge.net for compatibility list for dosbox 0.60 and for more
information about tweaking the dosbox.conf file.

download from my dosbox page now from my site
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk

Enjoy,
Troy(GPF)
User avatar
Smurph
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:26 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Smurph » Tue Nov 22, 2005 5:02 pm

AWESOME work, GPF!
Image
User avatar
Darksaviour69
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Ireland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Darksaviour69 » Tue Nov 22, 2005 5:13 pm

DOSBox 0.60 (780) Games broken: 107 Games runable:67 Games playable: 73 Games supported:533


http://dosbox.sourceforge.net/comp_list ... ae061e042c
User avatar
Smurph
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:26 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Smurph » Tue Nov 22, 2005 5:26 pm

The speed is somewhat lackluster. It doesn't run the included Commander Keen shareware fullspeed with the default frameskip. Then again, it might be because I'm running it over my BBA. More optimizations and such will greatly improve this. Even so, this emulator is a monumental feat!
Image
User avatar
Darksaviour69
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Ireland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Darksaviour69 » Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:09 pm

yeah, GPF said, the older the game the better it will run.
User avatar
MetaFox
Adventure Gamer
Adventure Gamer
Posts: 2800
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by MetaFox » Tue Nov 22, 2005 7:00 pm

Smurph wrote:The speed is somewhat lackluster. It doesn't run the included Commander Keen shareware fullspeed with the default frameskip. Then again, it might be because I'm running it over my BBA. More optimizations and such will greatly improve this. Even so, this emulator is a monumental feat!
I messed with Commander Keen a bit - if you change the cpu cycles and the frameskip it does get to an acceptable speed.

All the games that I tried could get to a playable speed with a bit of tweaking.
User avatar
TyBO
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 825
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 6:16 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by TyBO » Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:11 pm

Yet another reason for me to buy a DC keyboard!

Thanks for this release, GPF! :D
Digital Chaos
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 563
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: Marooned on mars.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Digital Chaos » Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:18 pm

What? Commander Keen?! I'm on this like a hobo on a ham sandwich.
Image
User avatar
Syd
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:45 pm
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Syd » Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:16 am

Very nice work GPF! :D

I'm curious, why do you have to modify dosbox.conf in order to mount the drives, run the programs, etc? What's stopping you from mounting the drives manually?
"and if your kids don't obey you, you can always beat them with a sack of Valencia oranges. They don't leaves bruises and your kids will always know who's boss."
GPF
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Texas
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GPF » Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:11 am

you can modify them manually
you have to have a keyboard though

just type
mount c /cd/dosgame
c:
thedosgame.exe

etc.
zman
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 9:52 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by zman » Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:59 am

This is cool... I got my keyboard last week to play typing of the dead, now I can play dos games on dc.

I'm curious why you choosed not to use the lastest version of dosbox for the dc emulator.
User avatar
Darksaviour69
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Ireland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Darksaviour69 » Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:51 am

after .60, they made big changes to dosbox which made it a lot heavyer on resourses.
CoasterKing
Gone Postal...
Gone Postal...
Posts: 2775
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 5:45 pm
Location: UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by CoasterKing » Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:10 pm

This is awesome :) Great work.
Image
LyingWake
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:05 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by LyingWake » Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:58 pm

So it's released when I'm on vacation. I see how it is. :D
DARKGATE
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 11:14 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by DARKGATE » Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:01 am

:) excuse me a fast question, but there are games wich requir the installation.
How play it?
User avatar
Arqueiro
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2002 9:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Arqueiro » Thu Nov 24, 2005 4:50 am

DARKGATE wrote::) excuse me a fast question, but there are games wich requir the installation.
How play it?
just copy the instyaled directory/files to the cd...

after this mount the drive...
3d graphics and visualization ?
http://www.arquiteturadigital.com
DARKGATE
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 11:14 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by DARKGATE » Thu Nov 24, 2005 3:36 pm

:D thank you arqueiro.
Another small request, don't kill me :P , for example EYE OF THE BEHOLDER SAGA, required a floppy disk for save, how made for resolve this problem?
Where take a floppy driver? :o
GPF
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Texas
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GPF » Thu Nov 24, 2005 8:20 pm

/ram can be mounted as a virtual drive using the dreamcast memory as a ramdrive

mount b /ram

might need to reduce the ammount of memory used by the emulator in the dosbox.conf as well if the /ram drive is too big.

Troy(GPF)
Post Reply