N64

This forum is for discussion pertaining to homebrew and indie software for the Dreamcast, such as homebrew games, emulators/interpreters, and other homebrew software/applications. Porting requests and developmental ideas are not to be made here; you can make those here. If you need any help burning discs for homebrew software, this is the place to ask as well.
nodew
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:19 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

N64

Post by nodew » Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:45 pm

is there an n64 emu?
bizzle
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by bizzle » Sun Apr 17, 2005 3:00 pm

One, but it doesn't play commercial games and isn't much more than a techdemo AFAIK.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16207
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 30 times
Been liked: 13 times
Contact:

Post by |darc| » Sun Apr 17, 2005 3:05 pm

A more important question is "Can you read?"
It's thinking...
LyingWake
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:05 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by LyingWake » Sun Apr 17, 2005 4:16 pm

Meh, Supervision is emulated now.
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5416
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 18 times
Contact:

Post by BlueCrab » Sun Apr 17, 2005 7:59 pm

As is saturn, sorta.
evanft
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 8:40 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by evanft » Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:36 pm

I imagine the N64 is hard to emulate because the ROM would have to be loaded into the RAM in order for it to work properly?
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16207
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 30 times
Been liked: 13 times
Contact:

Post by |darc| » Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:10 am

evanft wrote:I imagine the N64 is hard to emulate because the ROM would have to be loaded into the RAM in order for it to work properly?
Correct.

Only a few ROMs would allow for both the entire ROM to be loaded in the RAM with memory to spare for the emulator to run as well.
It's thinking...
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Ex-Cyber » Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:49 am

Leaving aside the RAM issue (which I still suspect is not the obstacle that most people make it out to be), you'd still be trying to emulate N64's 90MHz, 64-bit GPR CPU plus graphics on a 200MHz 32-bit GPR processor. The only N64 emulator to approach this goal in the PC world (without sound emulation, mind you) uses some rather compatibility-impairing techniques: static recompilation, cutting corners on the graphics emulation in ways that happen to work for SM64, et. al.
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7491
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:19 am

Ram isnt really an issue (except certain emulators use a lot more ram than the should just because its not an issue) the issues IS what ex-cyber says. not only that but you are also emulating the n64's graphics proc which is 50mhz or so and other stuff.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
User avatar
mikozero
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1114
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:50 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by mikozero » Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:51 am

N64 emulation was a reality on a 200Mhz PC, DC is faster than that,
i accept that it would be hard, but i've asked before if a single game emu could be built (SM64 then maybe Turok) using the techniques pioneered in ultrahle, there are plenty of good sources/references out there now (mupen, corn, ultrahle, Azimer's hle sound) is it really impossible or just plain really hard ?
:(
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7491
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:57 am

as has been said before. just plain hard. most of the people writing stuff for the DC are not experts in emulation. That i know of there have only been 1 REAL ground up emulator for the DC (that have been released, and i dont count ones written directly from tutorials or bleemDc).
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
User avatar
mikozero
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1114
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:50 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by mikozero » Mon Apr 18, 2005 3:34 am

i think i might throw down the gauntlet on the EmuTalk boards and see if anyone nibbles :)
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7491
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Mon Apr 18, 2005 3:39 am

there are two of us already who have ported smaller useless n64 emus, but the only very portable one out there that could be useful in any way is mupen and both gpf and i have discussed it on emutalk before.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
User avatar
mikozero
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1114
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:50 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by mikozero » Mon Apr 18, 2005 3:47 am

ahhh shoot, i thought that would be a good idea, what with Chankast on the same boards. :(
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7491
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Mon Apr 18, 2005 4:30 am

pfft. they just put chankast there because its one of those new hip emulators in the style of UltraHLE as opposed to how most emulators appear (gradually showing progress) that appeared and was already doings things.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
User avatar
mikozero
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1114
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:50 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by mikozero » Mon Apr 18, 2005 4:39 am

yeah but, i was thinking that at least (along with all the N64 emu experts) there would be someone around familiar with the insides of a Dreamcast.
abydos1000
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1237
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 3:09 pm
Location: Here
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by abydos1000 » Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:42 am

mikozero wrote:yeah but, i was thinking that at least (along with all the N64 emu experts) there would be someone around familiar with the insides of a Dreamcast.
I see an N64 emulator for the DC as something to do just because it can be done, not as a substitute for the real thing. This not to put down the people writing one, but perhaps at best one day, something like Mario64 may be running. Both the N64 and Saturn are very complicated machines with a lot of chips, so someone would have to know the insides of both a Dreamcast and the N64; not impossible, but who as the time to invest in that level of work as a hobby.

As I said for a Saturn, if you want to play N64 games that badly, go to ebgames (obviously, no Saturns outside of speciality shops or ebay) or gamestop...whatever... and get an N64 and some games. N64 goes for about $15-$20, and most of the games are easy to find and not that expensive.
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7491
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:57 am

abydos1000 wrote:Both the N64 and Saturn are very complicated machines with a lot of chips, so someone would have to know the insides of both a Dreamcast and the N64; not impossible, but who as the time to invest in that level of work as a hobby.
just as some sidenotes:

n64 doesnt have many chips, the problems is that after ultraHLE interest plummeted in LLE of the machine, and so dynarec and HLE took over, which both make any emulator for it a poor candidate for the DC, not only that, but the dll nature of the plugins dont help that much.

and as for it being a hobby, after bleemcast, bleem had intended to try n64 emulation on the DC and had apparenly built cart interfaces for the expansion bus (or had planned to build it, rand mentioned this in a topic a very long time ago). so your hobby comment seems just about right ;), although i think over this summer yabause-dc might really start to shine (after it goes all C of course, and that pseudo-dynarec core is figured out).
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
User avatar
mikozero
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1114
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:50 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by mikozero » Mon Apr 18, 2005 9:30 am

i play N64 already (even have most of the raritys tucked away, like MQ)

i've simply asked about this idea (only twice) because a single game N64 SM64 emu is (imo) a very cool idea,
and putting cool ideas out there sometimes, just sometimes,
results in nice big surprises for those who would be interested in such a things,
because (in my experience) good challenging ideas sometimes attract the attention
of just the kind of people who can accomplish them.

PS. does anything do CPS1 nice on DC ?

edit- i was typing this while quzar must've been posting, anyway points still valid.
Last edited by mikozero on Mon Apr 18, 2005 10:11 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7491
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Mon Apr 18, 2005 9:40 am

mikozero wrote:PS. does anything do CPS1 nice on DC ?
not yet. but soon.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
Post Reply