Ideas for Scherzo's NesterDC SE.

This forum is for discussion pertaining to homebrew and indie software for the Dreamcast, such as homebrew games, emulators/interpreters, and other homebrew software/applications. Porting requests and developmental ideas are not to be made here; you can make those here. If you need any help burning discs for homebrew software, this is the place to ask as well.
Post Reply
User avatar
Pyrite
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 412
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 1:46 am
Location: Portugal Dreamcast: PAL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Pyrite » Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:22 pm

What about different screen modes? Stretch/ no stretch, low/high-res, filtered/not filtered. To me the closest to the original the best not a big fan of the full screen stretch.
THAN/THEN get it right peoples!
Image
User avatar
Syd
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:45 pm
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Syd » Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:34 pm

I've got a couple more crazy ideas for the map/manual viewer. How about keeping in place what page you're on in a manual? Say if I went to page 22, continued playing the game, then went back to the manual and it was still on page 22. Second, how about the ability to set waypoints on the maps? Yeah maybe thats a little too crazy. Would be cool though! :)
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:57 pm

hehe Waypoints, eh? I guess it could work where you associate a save state with a point on the map. That would be cool but I dunno if I wanna go THAT crazy now. But, yes, place holding the current page of a manual or position on a map would be easy though.
Image
User avatar
lackofsense
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: dobson just north of your carolines and your other sisters
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by lackofsense » Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:15 pm

fixing a save checksum in the rom media downloader
sense-lacking is a tough job but somebody's got to do it
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:28 pm

lackofsense wrote:fixing a save checksum in the rom media downloader
I don't understand what you mean.
Image
LyingWake
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:05 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by LyingWake » Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:35 pm

Wasn't the bad checksum thing only for Genesis and SNES roms?
User avatar
lackofsense
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: dobson just north of your carolines and your other sisters
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by lackofsense » Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:46 pm

ahh their is some thing in the rom's information that prevents it from saving
I'm just having trouble saving in zelda
sense-lacking is a tough job but somebody's got to do it
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:49 pm

Oh, I think you're talking about corrupt or invalid NES headers that contain info about whether the game has SRAM or not. Yeah, I've noticed that I can't save in Zelda either with certain versions of the ROM that float around the net. I'll put this on my list. It's very annoying to have to do a save state instead of using SRAM.
Image
User avatar
lackofsense
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: dobson just north of your carolines and your other sisters
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by lackofsense » Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:49 pm

indeed
sense-lacking is a tough job but somebody's got to do it
jjoepr
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 375
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 10:09 pm
Location: My Living Room Couch
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by jjoepr » Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:28 am

Cool finally saving on zelda without using a save state :D
Image
ethoscapade
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:45 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by ethoscapade » Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:05 pm

will your scan grabber read rom headers, or just filenames?

i only ask because i don't really use goodnes filenames.. most of my roms are renamed to simpler titles, i.e. "Megaman 2"
Sir Savant
Somewhat Dumb Knight
Posts: 3652
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:26 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sir Savant » Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:12 pm

headers, I think.
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:05 pm

ethoscapade wrote:will your scan grabber read rom headers, or just filenames?

i only ask because i don't really use goodnes filenames.. most of my roms are renamed to simpler titles, i.e. "Megaman 2"
It uses GoodNES names, but I understand that people won't necessarily care for the extra info in the name like (U) (J) [a1] etc...

So, it would be easy to have the renaming mechanism to strip these if you want. Then you will have names like "Megaman 2".
Image
gamedudex2
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:19 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by gamedudex2 » Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:09 pm

ya that sounds much better
User avatar
Syd
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:45 pm
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Syd » Fri Apr 08, 2005 6:31 am

A couple of bugs that I remembered off the top of my head:

Dragon Warrior 3 - I'm not sure if this one still exists, but when you get into a fight the screen is supposed to flash a few times. I remember emulators used to not do this but this may be fixed.

Airwolf - During the game on the position screen there are two of you instead of one. Play the game and you'll understand.

These aren't major bugs just cosmetic for the most part, and I'm not sure if they exist anymore. Either way I thought I'd point them out anyway! :wink:
Tiberious
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:21 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Tiberious » Sat Apr 09, 2005 2:38 am

How about support for the VS games (either in Free Play mode or with an 'insert coin' button)?

Also, how well will the emulator handle hacks that are more than just art edits? I tried an NES emu for the PSX, but it died on every one.
Sir Savant
Somewhat Dumb Knight
Posts: 3652
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:26 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sir Savant » Sat Apr 09, 2005 1:09 pm

How about support for the VS Link? That would be cool, that would bump up the total of games that use it by about 25% I think. Lol.
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:28 pm

There is VS support... what is VS link?
Image
LyingWake
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:05 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by LyingWake » Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:00 pm

There is VS support... what is VS link?
Hook two DCs together to play like an arcade. I know fatheadpi is selling them for $13 if you wanna pick one up.
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:29 pm

Oh I see. Hmm. I'd have to get another to just test that. But I don't really see the point.
Image
Post Reply