NesterDC SE Release Delayed (beware p.8 for 56k'ers)

This forum is for discussion pertaining to homebrew and indie software for the Dreamcast, such as homebrew games, emulators/interpreters, and other homebrew software/applications. Porting requests and developmental ideas are not to be made here; you can make those here. If you need any help burning discs for homebrew software, this is the place to ask as well.
Post Reply
cagmere
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 1:09 am
Location: Brick, NJ
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by cagmere » Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:47 pm

So is there a chance we'll see the release before this upcoming holiday season? :D
User avatar
Link2k4
DCEmu Banned
DCEmu Banned
Posts: 604
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 3:56 am
Location: Detroit,Michigan
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Link2k4 » Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:27 pm

I am sure it will be out at least by summer if not, its cool but see the problem with that is, is the new zelda for GC is coming out in august (i reserved a copy and that is what they told me} and if it does, I won't play Nester DC SE for a while cuz I will be too busy having a orgasm over zelda.
Image
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by jessman » Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:43 pm

Yo, man! What's up? REAL nice things I'm hearing about your version of Nester! But, I'm really quite curious...Just how different is the interface going to be? I'm getting REALLY excited. Will it have background music and junk? I don't really care, but it would be really neat.
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
User avatar
Clessy
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1327
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:12 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Clessy » Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:57 pm

Awsome! It's gonna look fucking awsome!
SE! SE! SE! Believe the hype!
gamedudex2
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:19 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by gamedudex2 » Sat Feb 05, 2005 2:33 pm

scherzo wrote:I was thinking of having an optional ROM selector that uses the graphics rather text, yes.

Someone always seems to ask for the single game disc feature. It's easy to do so of course I will.

awesome
DeAthWaGer
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 6:52 pm
Location: outside of Philadelphia, PA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DeAthWaGer » Sat Feb 05, 2005 10:11 pm

I'm psyched!!!
Wheeling Bitch Circus - Keepin' it METAL since 1998:

http://www.myspace.com/wheelingbitchcircus
impact135
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:32 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by impact135 » Sun Feb 06, 2005 4:12 am

i hope theres no background music.. it just gets annoying after a while.
law56ker
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1030
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by law56ker » Sun Feb 06, 2005 4:23 pm

um not really, i don't think you'd be sitting there long enough for it to be annoying unless it is horrible music.
impact135
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:32 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by impact135 » Mon Feb 07, 2005 2:18 am

well what about an option to have background music for the people who want it and the people who dont want it no music.. i hate how dreamsnes forces you to put an mp3 file in there.

just because you like music in in the emulators you play doesnt mean everyone else does.
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Mon Feb 07, 2005 4:58 am

Again, adding an option to enabled/disable the emu music is an easy fix so it'll happen.
Image
User avatar
Dutchdude
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 5:13 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Dutchdude » Mon Feb 07, 2005 8:14 am

Hehe, yeah it's really annoying when the volume of the menu music is 10 times louder than the sound of the games. :D
impact135
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 3:32 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by impact135 » Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:18 pm

i have an idea.. you know how in megaman collection for the cube you have a button for rapid fire and you have another button for normal fire.

now how bout a way to configure the controller to have the shoot button be 2 different buttons but have 1 rapid fire and one non rapid fire. what i mean is say X button is normal fire.. how bout making X button rapid fire but also make A button do the same action only non rapid fire.. is that in any way possible?

i really enjoy playing the megaman games like this... and it would be cool to be able to play them on the dreamcast like this as well.. im sure other nes games could benefit from this control scheme. what im saying is ... to have the OPTION of doing it this way.. the people who want it like this could and the people who dont can pick whatever control scheme they want..

ALso.. again back to the right side of the screen being screwed up in some games like little nemo.. you said you would do a way to configure the screen.. on nesterdc 7.1 you can move the screen over so i dont see that awful graphical glitching on the far right of the screen HOWEVER.. then its got a black border on the left side cuz i moved it..

how bout a RESIZING option.. so i can move the screen then maybe strech it a little so it would take up the whole screen but then it wouldnt glitch on the right side of the screen on certain games like little nemo.

I recently purchased this game on a REAL NES and i poped it in and it does the same exact thing the emu was doing.. i dont know whats going on.. i figured the game was defective but i didnt feel like taking it back for my 3 bucks back.

I wanted to say that this emu will be great and we APPRICIATE YOUR HARD WORK AND DEDICATION TO THE DREAMCAST SCENE.. you are the reason there is a dreamcast scene

ONE MORE THING >> and i hope im not being annoying.. but the original NES has MONO sound which is very annoying to listen to games comming out of 1 speaker.. i didnt really notice if the current nesterdc is in sterio or not.. but if not it would be cool to have the music comming out from both speakers.. i know it may not be true sterio.. but maybe you could have the same music comming from both speakers ... MONO is just terrible.. whenever i hook up my genesis its mono sound the thing wasnt sterio *at least not the first models*
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by jessman » Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:31 am

impact135 wrote:ONE MORE THING >> and i hope im not being annoying.. but the original NES has MONO sound which is very annoying to listen to games comming out of 1 speaker.. i didnt really notice if the current nesterdc is in sterio or not.. but if not it would be cool to have the music comming out from both speakers.. i know it may not be true sterio.. but maybe you could have the same music comming from both speakers ... MONO is just terrible.. whenever i hook up my genesis its mono sound the thing wasnt sterio *at least not the first models*
The emulator, JNES supports simulated stereo which takes each sound channel and separates them so that each speaker gets it's own instrument. It'll sound cool with 2 speakers, but with my surround sound system...it is TOTALLY FREAKIN' AWSOME! Sure some people in here would prefer classic mono, but would this be another easy fix? I don't really care either way, because it's cool enough that we're getting an update, but IF this option was ever available, I'd piss my pants in happiness, lmao. Anyways...thanks again!
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
Alexvrb
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster
Posts: 1754
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:25 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Alexvrb » Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:49 am

impact135 wrote:whenever i hook up my genesis its mono sound the thing wasnt sterio *at least not the first models*
Actually, it should be your TV's responsibility to output mono audio to both speakers, shouldn't it? Also, all Genesis models were capable of true stereo output, even model 1. Model 1 just didn't have both channels on the back A/V connector. But you know the headphone jack on the front? Stereo. You can route sound from that to your TV.

Anyway, I agree with jtnewman. He could release it with just the emulation tweaks and a new menu, and nothing else, and I would be perfectly happy with it forever.
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:05 pm

impact135 wrote:i have an idea.. you know how in megaman collection for the cube you have a button for rapid fire and you have another button for normal fire.

now how bout a way to configure the controller to have the shoot button be 2 different buttons but have 1 rapid fire and one non rapid fire. what i mean is say X button is normal fire.. how bout making X button rapid fire but also make A button do the same action only non rapid fire.. is that in any way possible?

i really enjoy playing the megaman games like this... and it would be cool to be able to play them on the dreamcast like this as well.. im sure other nes games could benefit from this control scheme. what im saying is ... to have the OPTION of doing it this way.. the people who want it like this could and the people who dont can pick whatever control scheme they want..
This is already implemented and completely configurable. By default, it is set up like this:

DC A = NES A
DC X = NES B
DC B = NES A TURBO
DC Y = NES B TURBO

But you can change it however you like. You can even assign DC button combonations to generate NES stuff. So, for example, you could make the R trigger a sort of shift button for your turbo:

DC A = NES A
DC X = NES B
DC RTRIG+A = NES A TURBO
DC RTRIG+X = NES B TURBO
impact135 wrote:how bout a RESIZING option.. so i can move the screen then maybe strech it a little so it would take up the whole screen but then it wouldnt glitch on the right side of the screen on certain games like little nemo.
Done.
impact135 wrote:I wanted to say that this emu will be great and we APPRICIATE YOUR HARD WORK AND DEDICATION TO THE DREAMCAST SCENE.. you are the reason there is a dreamcast scene
Thanks, but I'm not the sole reason for the Dreamcast scene. I got in relatively late and there are many coders here more important to the scene than me. That's my opinion.
impact135 wrote:ONE MORE THING >> and i hope im not being annoying.. but the original NES has MONO sound which is very annoying to listen to games comming out of 1 speaker.. i didnt really notice if the current nesterdc is in sterio or not.. but if not it would be cool to have the music comming out from both speakers.. i know it may not be true sterio.. but maybe you could have the same music comming from both speakers ... MONO is just terrible.. whenever i hook up my genesis its mono sound the thing wasnt sterio *at least not the first models*
Stereo would be cool. Is there enough free clock cycles to do it, I dunno. At least the mono sound will come out of both of your speakers.
Image
Sir Savant
Somewhat Dumb Knight
Posts: 3652
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:26 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sir Savant » Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:49 pm

Damn, thats a lot of shit you are putting on it, scherzo. I wonder how big it is.

So is the screenshot thing implemented yet?

Sory for the question. Just VERY interested.
jjoepr
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 375
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 10:09 pm
Location: My Living Room Couch
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by jjoepr » Tue Feb 08, 2005 2:01 pm

These features you are implementing are awesome. I wouldn't need any other systems to play. Just my DC and a Nester disc when It's finally released. Awesome work scherzo. Makes me wish I could code.
Image
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Tue Feb 08, 2005 2:15 pm

Dark Savant0 wrote:Damn, thats a lot of poop you are putting on it, scherzo. I wonder how big it is.

So is the screenshot thing implemented yet?

Sory for the question. Just VERY interested.
Actually, that what I'm working on currently. Right now, I'm laying out the database structure. I'm going to build it for speed because I'd hate to have this great screenshot feature but have the rom browsing be slow. It'll piss everyone off. I've also been doing a lot of data entry; matching up multiple dumps of the same game to a single set of screenshots, title screen, cart scans, etc. That's almost done. I'm going to skip nearly all of the Japanese Famicom ones for the first iteration though. There's just so many and matching up Romanji names is a pain.
jjoepr wrote:Makes me wish I could code.
Why can't you? And if it's because you don't know how, why can't you learn/teach yourself?
Image
Sir Savant
Somewhat Dumb Knight
Posts: 3652
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:26 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sir Savant » Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:17 pm

Yeah, you can code. It just takes a little work. I started coding with a thing called game maker a while back and know have sufficient knowledge in many other languages, enough to code.

COding only takes patience. YOu dont need to take a class, or even buy a book(sometimes). Just look up some language, start with qbasic or something, and see how to do stuff. From there, it is just memorizing equivalent code and adding to your vocab. Im sure thats how most coders start out.

Anyways, Scherzo, will you make two versions, one with screenshots and one without? Or at least one that does not include the screenshots? Cause thats a lot of crap if its together, and some of us are on dial-up(at least on my cd-burning pc I am). And whats an estimate on its size?
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:47 pm

Dark Savant0 wrote:Yeah, you can code. It just takes a little work. I started coding with a thing called game maker a while back and know have sufficient knowledge in many other languages, enough to code.

COding only takes patience. YOu dont need to take a class, or even buy a book(sometimes). Just look up some language, start with qbasic or something, and see how to do stuff. From there, it is just memorizing equivalent code and adding to your vocab. Im sure thats how most coders start out.

Anyways, Scherzo, will you make two versions, one with screenshots and one without? Or at least one that does not include the screenshots? Cause thats a lot of crap if its together, and some of us are on dial-up(at least on my cd-burning pc I am). And whats an estimate on its size?
All the extra media like screenshots are totally optional. There will still be a text-based browser for choosing your games.

Size-wise, I'd have to check to see what the bare minimum is right now, but I'm not at home. With the theme and executable it'll be a few megs unzipped I guess. Not that bad.
Image
Post Reply