Look what my DC started displaying...(ok, so its TG16/PCE)

This forum is for discussion pertaining to homebrew and indie software for the Dreamcast, such as homebrew games, emulators/interpreters, and other homebrew software/applications. Porting requests and developmental ideas are not to be made here; you can make those here. If you need any help burning discs for homebrew software, this is the place to ask as well.
Post Reply
Strapping Scherzo
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Strapping Scherzo » Fri Oct 22, 2004 3:21 pm

SDL to PVR is rather easy as long as all the emulator is doing is rendering to a graphics buffer and blitting that as an SDL surface. All you've gotta do is create a PVR texture that's big enough to hold the TG-16 resolution, which is 256x224, right? So you make a 256x256 PVR texture, copy from the intermediate buffer to the texture's address in video memory, then use the PVR functions to draw a couple of triangles correctly mapped with the texture.
Image
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7492
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Fri Oct 22, 2004 3:31 pm

yea, i think i have all the functions right, but that either the triangles are the wrong size, or i dunno. right now all i get is black screen =P

and i keep on crashing my DC =P

"idle task is the only thing left; exiting"

i've never hard crashed my DC before with anything ive worked on lol.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
DCmad
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 3:22 pm
Location: Salvador - Bahia - Brasil
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by DCmad » Fri Oct 22, 2004 3:52 pm

quzar wrote:i've never hard crashed my DC before with anything ive worked on lol.
it is part of the learning process XD
Image
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Ex-Cyber » Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:28 pm

From what I've seen, all the CD units added a 16Mhz 65802. I thought the hardware differences between CD units was primarily in the amount of memory? Or was the second version of the CD system the first to include the 65802?
I'm not saying that version X of the CD system didn't have it, I'm saying that I don't think it needs to be emulated in any case because it seems to only be implementing a SCSI-like protocol and doing internal housekeeping operations for the CD system. That is, it's an implementation detail and not a program-visible feature, and therefore doesn't need to be emulated any more than you would need to emulate the individual logic chips used in the gamepad.
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
dreamcastninja
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:23 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by dreamcastninja » Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:45 pm

tg16 is my fav system outside of the dc... keep up the good work! A port with sound would be awesome! I can supply "various games" if anyone needs any when the emu comes out. The roms are Le4gUL so it's ok to post about them. )()(
rbenchley
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 1:59 am
Location: Madison, WI
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by rbenchley » Fri Oct 22, 2004 5:03 pm

Quzar, you kick much ass! I haven't checked in the DC Emulation boards in a while, I pop in for a look and I find this wonderful piece of news. For the last week or so, I was pricing used XBox systems to play my Turbo and PC Engine CDs on. Fantastic job, sir. By the by, how about DC-Engine for the name of the emulator?
Honesty may be the best policy, but it's important to remember that apparently, by elimination, dishonesty is the second-best policy.
-George Carlin
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Ex-Cyber » Fri Oct 22, 2004 5:48 pm

"DC-Engine" has a ring to it, but was thinking "HUcast" had more of a DC geek factor to it. )()(
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
rbenchley
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 1:59 am
Location: Madison, WI
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by rbenchley » Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:08 pm

I prefer DC-Engine, but HUcast is pretty great. I would change the intercapping so it reads "HuCast", so its closer to the name of the CPU, the HuC6280 and HuCards. When Quzar decides on a name for his wonderful emulator, I would really like to make some CD and DVD case covers for it. Man, I am psyched for this! For the last month or two, I've spent almost all of my game playing time on Magic Engine on my computer. The PC-Engine is the epitome of wonderful, Japanese crafted games. Quzar, if there is anything that I can do to help, do not hesitate to contact me.
Honesty may be the best policy, but it's important to remember that apparently, by elimination, dishonesty is the second-best policy.
-George Carlin
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7492
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:10 pm

i know i listed the names i was kicking around somewhere, but now i cant find it =P. HuCast! was on the top of that list not only because it goes with HuGo! (to a recognizable factor) but also because it is reminiscent of bleem!Cast. Maybe Hu!Cast =P.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
DCmad
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 3:22 pm
Location: Salvador - Bahia - Brasil
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by DCmad » Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:22 pm

BTW, can someone teach me on how to run a cd on Hu-Go (dracula rondo of blood), that emu is harder than magic engine to use. but i want a windowed emu, and ME is way too dos like to me :P
Image
User avatar
GustavoSM
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:50 pm
Location: Pernambuco, Brasil
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by GustavoSM » Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:27 pm

The name ideas are coming out great... Hey DCMad, I'm from Brazil too... Mais especificamente, de Recife!
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7492
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:28 pm

if you use the windows version you have to downoad gtk (there is a link on the Hu-Go! site) and move all the files into the Hu-Go! directory. elsewise you have to use the DOS version of it.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Ex-Cyber » Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:37 pm

I prefer DC-Engine, but HUcast is pretty great. I would change the intercapping so it reads "HuCast", so its closer to the name of the CPU, the HuC6280 and HuCards.
Someone would like to have a word with you about that.
Image

Seriously though, HuCast does look better. My main concern with that name, though, is that it wouldn't be Google-friendly because of the PSO overloading.
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
DCmad
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 3:22 pm
Location: Salvador - Bahia - Brasil
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by DCmad » Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:46 pm

@quzar: Has Hu-Go any kind of region protection on games? I've came across a program wich catalogs, rename and check for region hacks in roms. So i thought if the emu could refuse to load a jap game, lets say. Just like GenPlus does in preview3.
If there's something like it, how hard would be to overcome?
:sad: I was starting to get used to huZar name :P

@GustavoSM: Oi, parceiro. Vc vai ver que tem muitos brasileiros aqui nos f?rums da dcemulation e outros. Seria legal ter f?rums pr?prios por idiomas tambem, como os da gamefaqs. Mas enquanto n?o h? nada disso, qualquer d?vida quanto ao idioma, n?o tenha medo de perguntar, via PM.
Image
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7492
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:47 pm

if you google "Hu-Cast!" it doesnt give you that, but most people wouldnt care to do that =P.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
DCmad
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 3:22 pm
Location: Salvador - Bahia - Brasil
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by DCmad » Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:50 pm

Good source of information in PCE games i just found: http://pcecp.com
Many specs for the games, nice interface. Pay a visit.
Image
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Ex-Cyber » Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:11 pm

Has Hu-Go any kind of region protection on games?
PC Engine has a couple protection mechanisms:

1) the HuCard data lines are reversed between Japanese and non-Japanese systems - this is why an adapter is required to play Japanese HuCards on non-Japanese systems.

2) There is a Japan/non-Japan territory register. Supposedly Japanese games do not check this, but most American games do. This is similar to the territory mechanism on NGCD and Genesis - the game can theoretically do anything with it, from changing the language to refusing to run - but apparently American games will typically not run on a system with a Japanese ID.

The emulator itself has no region protection, nor does the CD system (beyond the fact that the system/arcade cards must be wired/bitswapped properly). It may be possible that region detection doesn't always work, but I think there are commandline options to force a particular region.
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7492
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:24 pm

the emulator is supposed to have rom cataloging ability, but for some reason it seems it needs hard drive space to do so becasue it stores all the info in some huge .dat file. This really does nothing but allow the emulator to put the name of the rom up, except with SuperFX games (i THINK) considering though that is all of 5 games its not really something I'm thinking about ATM.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
dreamcastninja
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:23 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by dreamcastninja » Sat Oct 23, 2004 1:19 am

you could call it

HUcast for the DC-ENGINE platform. hahahaa
OR

PCE-Dream

i dunno

it's late and i'm tired

going to sleep

*this has been a useless post from your's truely, i try to keep these to a minimum
Green Ranger
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 3:19 am
Location: AZ, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Green Ranger » Sat Oct 23, 2004 1:33 am

Hmm, names for the emulator? You could call it TurboDuoDC :wink:
Go Go Power Rangers!!!
Post Reply