GenesisPlus PVR 3

This forum is for discussion pertaining to homebrew and indie software for the Dreamcast, such as homebrew games, emulators/interpreters, and other homebrew software/applications. Porting requests and developmental ideas are not to be made here; you can make those here. If you need any help burning discs for homebrew software, this is the place to ask as well.
groundbeef
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 4:10 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

GenesisPlus PVR 3

Post by groundbeef » Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:08 am

I can highly recommend this already. Games that were not emulated before are done so now. Streets of Rage 3, Contra Hardcorps, and Mortal Kombat are now playable and almost full speed. Not all games work yet, and many have graphical glitches and sound glitches but this emulator is still better than the "other" emulator in many aspects. If you would like to try this emultor and are having trouble getting the sbi to work give me your e-mail address and I will send you the bin and ip files necessary to get this to work.
User avatar
Arqueiro
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2002 9:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Arqueiro » Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:56 pm

i will make my testes and put my results soon !
3d graphics and visualization ?
http://www.arquiteturadigital.com
User avatar
az_bont
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 8:35 am
Location: Swansea, Wales
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by az_bont » Sat Jun 26, 2004 8:02 pm

Arqueiro, you should probably know that "testes" is another word for "testicles". I believe the word you're looking for is "tests" ;).
Sick of sub-par Dreamcast web browsers that fail to impress? Visit Psilocybin Dreams!
DCmad
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 3:22 pm
Location: Salvador - Bahia - Brasil
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by DCmad » Sat Jun 26, 2004 8:19 pm

az_bont wrote:Arqueiro, you should probably know that "testes" is another word for "testicles". I believe the word you're looking for is "tests" ;).
huahuahuahuahuahaua
forgive him, his english isn't good, like mine...
Image
User avatar
Link2k4
DCEmu Banned
DCEmu Banned
Posts: 604
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 3:56 am
Location: Detroit,Michigan
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Link2k4 » Sat Jun 26, 2004 8:25 pm

This emu rocks, I can play risky woods with no errors and i paid 2 bucks for the cart the other day, you evil punks ,LOL j/k
Image
M@jk
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 5:04 am
Location: Poznan/PL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by M@jk » Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:38 am

ekhm SBI pack from Consolevision (with preview 3 release) doesnt seems to work :/
Actually: Outrun2 (XBOX)
abydos1000
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1237
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 3:09 pm
Location: Here
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by abydos1000 » Mon Jun 28, 2004 2:44 pm

The latest sbi burnerO posted does work. It should be named Genplus3_bO.sbi. I think at one point, a couple of versions were on there as well that did not work, but I think burnerO has fixed that problem now.
M@jk
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 5:04 am
Location: Poznan/PL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by M@jk » Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:18 pm

thx man.
Actually: Outrun2 (XBOX)
Tails1210
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 7:47 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Tails1210 » Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:32 pm

did anyone try out the Sonic games?
User avatar
Link2k4
DCEmu Banned
DCEmu Banned
Posts: 604
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 3:56 am
Location: Detroit,Michigan
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Link2k4 » Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:47 pm

Tails1210 wrote:did anyone try out the Sonic games?
I just played sonic 1 and it runs perfect. I have sonic mega collection for GC so what supplies my sonic needs, except sonic CD BUT I have the PC port of that. so goo times a rool with my pc and GC but the DC rocks with the Genesis plus emu, keep it up guys its so close to perfection.
Image
Digital Chaos
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 563
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: Marooned on mars.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Digital Chaos » Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:11 pm

Tails1210 wrote:did anyone try out the Sonic games?
The sonic games work well. Only a few problems,
-No water graphics.
-The usual visual glitches like most games.

I'm sure this will be worked out as this is only a preview releace.
Image
ethoscapade
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:45 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by ethoscapade » Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:49 pm

strange thing with the water bugs - not sure if you guys want to hear this, but it's got the same bug as the smashpack rip had in sonic 3, when if you go underwater, the entire screen changes to purple, or dark blue, or what have you, and if you're above water, you can't even tell what's water and what isn't.
User avatar
Stef.D
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 1:46 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Stef.D » Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:04 am

ethoscapade wrote:strange thing with the water bugs - not sure if you guys want to hear this, but it's got the same bug as the smashpack rip had in sonic 3, when if you go underwater, the entire screen changes to purple, or dark blue, or what have you, and if you're above water, you can't even tell what's water and what isn't.
It's just a typical raster effects (palette reprogramming), and they aren't supported yet...
Having raster effect need a scanline based VDP render...
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:09 am

Having raster effect need a scanline based VDP render...
Some of them do. I think I should be able to do palette changes without, but most of the others will require a more accurate renderer.

I'm thinking of trying for a (slightly) more accurate VDP renderer though. A full scanline-based renderer would be a pain in the ass, but I think a hybrid tile-based one which can switch to per-scanline when it needs to might do the trick.
User avatar
Stef.D
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 1:46 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Stef.D » Wed Jun 30, 2004 12:16 pm

I uploaded a new version of the C68K sources here :
http://gens.consolemul.com/download/c68k_src.zip

I also updated the precompiled version for NeoCD :
http://gens.consolemul.com/download/c68k_bin_neocd.zip

Here's what is new in this version :
- RTE instruction fixed (change user mode)
- xBCD instruction fixed.

I made the fix really quickly so i hope it's ok... i'm really busy with my personnal life these last days... sorry for being so long for the update.
DcSteve
Modder Of Rage
Modder Of Rage
Posts: 805
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 12:41 pm
Location: Midwest
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DcSteve » Wed Jun 30, 2004 12:36 pm

he forgot to mention that this also fixes the timer issues people are having-
Check out the beats of rage community at http://borrevolution.vg-network.com/
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7488
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Wed Jun 30, 2004 12:54 pm

no he didnt "- xBCD instruction fixed." that says it. hehe. but yea, nobody will see that as such =P
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:18 pm

Oh, so it was a problem with BCD mode. I didn't even realise the 68K had that...

Thanks Stef! I'll plug it in and see what happens.
t1x2irc
DCEmu Fast Newbie
DCEmu Fast Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 1:42 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by t1x2irc » Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:36 am

great work ..haven't tested it but i do have a few questions for this build ....the core has been rebuilt...but is the new core now in beta stage? ... and is there support for other NeoGeo titles besides the cdroms..? i would love to see a faster version of 8man running on the DC ... keep up the good work ...


probly for a differant board but can the new core be used for like a TG16 emu for example...i'm unaware if Bill Nagel ever got around to fix the sound issue or if the project is dead ...i've been out of the loop for a while chankast brought me back from xbox ...wait chankast for xbox hmmm :?: ...oh thats right xbox isn't fast enough never mind ...dc 4 ever
Ian Micheal
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Posts: 4865
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 9:56 pm
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 3 times

Post by Ian Micheal » Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:46 am

Neogeo cd is a just that a CD emulator never going to support roms.
Dreamcast forever!!!
Post Reply