RPGMaker 2000 on Dreamcast??

This forum is for discussion pertaining to homebrew and indie software for the Dreamcast, such as homebrew games, emulators/interpreters, and other homebrew software/applications. Porting requests and developmental ideas are not to be made here; you can make those here. If you need any help burning discs for homebrew software, this is the place to ask as well.
Post Reply
Jackie Chun
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 8:39 pm
Location: Florida
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

RPGMaker 2000 on Dreamcast??

Post by Jackie Chun » Sat Sep 14, 2002 10:28 pm

I remember a while back reading something about being able to play RPG Maker 2000 games on the Dreamcast. I can't remember whether they said it worked or not so I'm hoping one of you can answer this question. If so could you let me know how to do this. Thanks...
"Water is formless, you put water into a cup it becomes the cup, you put water into a bottle it becomes the bottle, you put water into a teapot it becomes the teapot... Be water, my friend.."
-Bruce Lee
User avatar
butters
Classic Games Lover
Classic Games Lover
Posts: 5088
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 6:50 pm
Location: Lubbock, Texas, United States, Sol 3, Milky Way Galaxy
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by butters » Sat Sep 14, 2002 11:40 pm

There is no way to play RPG maker files on your DC. A group of people are designing and RPG right now and that may be what you are confused with.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16207
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 30 times
Been liked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: RPGMaker 2000 on Dreamcast??

Post by |darc| » Sat Sep 14, 2002 11:44 pm

Jackie Chun wrote:I remember a while back reading something about being able to play RPG Maker 2000 games on the Dreamcast. I can't remember whether they said it worked or not so I'm hoping one of you can answer this question. If so could you let me know how to do this. Thanks...

No, that was a hoax. RPG Maker 2000 games are for WINDOWS, and cannot be just edited to work on a DREAMCAST!
It's thinking...
Jackie Chun
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 8:39 pm
Location: Florida
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

ok then

Post by Jackie Chun » Sat Sep 14, 2002 11:50 pm

very well.. i figured it wouldn't be true. thanks anyways.
"Water is formless, you put water into a cup it becomes the cup, you put water into a bottle it becomes the bottle, you put water into a teapot it becomes the teapot... Be water, my friend.."
-Bruce Lee
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Sun Sep 15, 2002 9:21 am

Of course, someone could write their own RPG engine and include editors with it. Maybe the DCRPG guys might release tools for their engine, but I doubt it was designed to be edited by people who don't know what they're doing, or another coder could do one. Maybe (much) later.
ronime
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Oregon
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by ronime » Sun Sep 15, 2002 7:47 pm

if only we could use it...
mabey if we could run the exe?
User avatar
butters
Classic Games Lover
Classic Games Lover
Posts: 5088
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 6:50 pm
Location: Lubbock, Texas, United States, Sol 3, Milky Way Galaxy
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by butters » Sun Sep 15, 2002 8:28 pm

ronime wrote:if only we could use it...
mabey if we could run the exe?
.exe=x86
Dreamcast sh4=.bin
not compatable
Wasgo
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 6:31 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Wasgo » Sun Sep 15, 2002 8:49 pm

What if we replace all the DC internals with PC parts. And then swap the DC case for a PC case. After which, hooking it up to a tv would work wonders, but better yet, attach it to a monitor. I think that would work as a solution.
HyperG
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 434
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 6:57 pm
Location: U S A
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by HyperG » Mon Sep 16, 2002 3:50 pm

my solution is ... 1) get an xbox 2) mod the beast 3) install evox 4) install xbochs 5) install win95 6) install your RPG Maker game . Presto ... :-p

Or you could just get a pc with tv out ... basically the same thing, and might be faster.
If you think typing 'make' is hard, forget coding.
If you can't figure out the commands to DC-Tool, forget coding.
If you think coding is as easy as typing printf("Hello World\n"); , shoot yourself.
bizzle
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by bizzle » Mon Sep 16, 2002 7:25 pm

HyperG wrote:my solution is ... 1) get an xbox 2) mod the beast 3) install evox 4) install xbochs 5) install win95 6) install your RPG Maker game . Presto ... :-p

Or you could just get a pc with tv out ... basically the same thing, and might be faster.
install win95?
zickfun
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 669
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 3:03 am
Location: Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by zickfun » Tue Sep 17, 2002 12:41 am

xboch's is a pc emulator (which is a port of boch which run's os on another os)...so yeah...u can install win95
ronime
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Oregon
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by ronime » Sun Sep 22, 2002 6:14 pm

how do i install win95?
User avatar
Nyarlathotep
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Posts: 7390
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2002 1:37 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Nyarlathotep » Mon Sep 23, 2002 2:53 pm

guys, if you have Xbox questions click on the green "to Xbox-Emulation" link and ask there, or post in non-DC emulation emulation forum - theres not going to be much help in the DC main emu forum for you
Image
Post Reply