Official DC Overclocking thread

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
User avatar
FamilyGuy
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:53 pm
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 0

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by FamilyGuy » Thu Jul 19, 2007 9:49 pm

Morphv2 wrote:Actually, the crystal oscillators that are known to work with this mod are 4-pin, and here's what you need to know:

Pin 1 - 40Mhz clock signal
Pin 2 - 5v voltage in
Pin 3 - ground
pin 4 - 12v voltage in? (cant remember ^___^)
Well When I did my OC, there was a 5v in, 5v out(a.k.a. ground), clock out(40Mhz), and NC(not connected)

So the pin you labelled pin-4 ain't connected to anything and it works, and it's made this way ...

I hope it was helpful and not too much innacurate.


-=FamilyGuy=-
User avatar
Morphv2
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:36 pm
Location: Someplace
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by Morphv2 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:54 am

Ok, sweet. I never used pin-4 anyways. I've been out of the loop a little while, working on a lot of PC stuff.
Image
User avatar
Serious Sam
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Greeneville, TN
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by Serious Sam » Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:13 pm

Wait, so in the Rev. 0 Dreamcast, the RAM, Sound, and GPU all run at 8ns (125MHz)? And the Rev. 1 Dreamcast RAM, Sound, and GPU all run at 10ns (100MHz)?
User avatar
Morphv2
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:36 pm
Location: Someplace
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by Morphv2 » Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:32 pm

No, the ns is just the maximum rated speed. The front side bus of all Dreamcasts (minus a couple of prototypes which ran at an ungodly slow 66MHz) runs at 100MHz.
Image
fahlim003
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:40 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by fahlim003 » Mon Aug 06, 2007 7:41 pm

fahlim003 wrote:
centralsnare06 wrote:hey fahlim

sorry if its too late, lol, but when i get time tomarow i might do a little video of sega rally 2, provided i can get my hands on a copy. it runs pretty slow on the normal dc you say?
The framerate drops in plenty of spots. Just compare it to the PC version which runs lightning fast, aka normally. Snowy and Riveria have big differences and it's really disapointing since I prefer the Dreamcast version. If you can upload a decent amount of footage of those or perhaps even more tracks I'd really appreciate it.
Anyone else want to 'up' footage of SR2/OC'ed on the bolded tracks?
User avatar
centralsnare06
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 1:40 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by centralsnare06 » Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:01 am

HEY fahlim003,

sorrys its taken me so long, and i havent gotten around to it, but i literaly JUST got done with my dreamcast mod and sometime this week i'll try out that game for ya, and hopefully it'll also show the difference of the OC

take care
fahlim003
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:40 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by fahlim003 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:54 pm

Not that it matters now, I went ahead with the overclocking with assistance for completion and I was able to first-hand sample Sega Rally 2 OC'ed. The difference is noticeable, but the frame-dropping isn't completely removed. I will say regardless of the short-falls of the Dreamcast/WinCE port, it's a much faster game than it's arcade counterpart.
robivy64
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:48 am
Location: Alabama Currently Playing: Genesis!
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by robivy64 » Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:13 am

I'm happy to see that so many of you have been able to overclock your dreamcasts successfully. Aside from the usual revision incompatibilities, it seems to be luck of the draw as to which systems will be stable, and which ones will not. You just have to try it for yourself to find out!

FYI, you can use 3.3V for the oscillator's power input if you so desire.
J-Gen: JAMMA Genesis project
User avatar
Morphv2
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:36 pm
Location: Someplace
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by Morphv2 » Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:27 am

Some oscillators don't like anything but 5v afaik.
Image
User avatar
dr apocalipsis
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 11:38 am
Location: Spain is different (also the language)
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by dr apocalipsis » Sun Oct 21, 2007 8:41 am

Can you, please, upload some videos showing Shenmue 2 overclocked?
Some spots like Aberdeen's Pidgeon Park are easy to force to slowdown.
atentamente a su ombligo:
el dr. apocalipsis Nil
Image

Don't hesitate about correct my english :oops:
fatheadpi
First Class Dick
First Class Dick
Posts: 2607
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 4:45 am
Location: Colorado
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by fatheadpi » Tue Oct 30, 2007 4:08 am

I duno how much interest is still in overclocking, but I've got a ton of oscillators I used to use for overclocking. Used to sell them for $10 for a fistfull, will get you several freqs, would have to pull the boxes out to look at them.
Need a Treamcast, Dreamcast modchip, HUGE DC memory card, ASCII-like DC fighter pad, or Saturn Gameshark with tons of backup memory? PM me.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16147
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by |darc| » Tue Oct 30, 2007 6:55 pm

fatheadpi wrote:I duno how much interest is still in overclocking, but I've got a ton of oscillators I used to use for overclocking. Used to sell them for $10 for a fistfull, will get you several freqs, would have to pull the boxes out to look at them.
Do you still have any of those modchips you had?
It's thinking...
fatheadpi
First Class Dick
First Class Dick
Posts: 2607
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 4:45 am
Location: Colorado
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by fatheadpi » Wed Oct 31, 2007 2:36 am

Tons.
Need a Treamcast, Dreamcast modchip, HUGE DC memory card, ASCII-like DC fighter pad, or Saturn Gameshark with tons of backup memory? PM me.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16147
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by |darc| » Wed Oct 31, 2007 11:09 am

fatheadpi wrote:Tons.
I want one, where do I sign up?
It's thinking...
fatheadpi
First Class Dick
First Class Dick
Posts: 2607
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 4:45 am
Location: Colorado
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by fatheadpi » Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:32 pm

PM me.
Need a Treamcast, Dreamcast modchip, HUGE DC memory card, ASCII-like DC fighter pad, or Saturn Gameshark with tons of backup memory? PM me.
localheureux
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 7:36 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by localheureux » Mon May 17, 2010 7:38 am

Hi,

I try to overclock my DC@240MHz like this: (note PAL Dreamcast revision 1)
http://www.racketboy.com/retro/2005/11/ ... mcast.html
I used a 40MHz Kyocera KX0-01 crystal with (officialy) standard pinouts.
But it doesn't works, no image appears I have a "beautiful" black screen and no sound, but I hear access disc sounds.


I didn't saw (in the tuto above) "...but only when outputting to a VGA or suitable RBG monitor, due to the increasing refresh rate."
So I made a VGA ouput like this:
http://artofwar.free.fr/images_site/dos ... adcoc0.jpg
In standard mode (200MHz) it works, I have image on my VGA monitor and sound to an ampli.
But at 240Mhz it still the same, no image and no sound at all but disc turns and I hear access disc sounds.


I checked all, all removed and remade.... It still the same, I don't understand where is the problem and begin to be bored....
Help..... thanks.
spinksy
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by spinksy » Sun May 23, 2010 6:42 pm

(i have just sold an overclocked DC on ebay - i will be selling another in the next few days)
Dreamcast, it's still thinking.

Over-clocked : Dreamcast currently running at 240Mhz (switchable)

Internal VGA, extra cooling fans, disc activity LED, SD card reader done :-)

Dreamcast HD wanted
choujij
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by choujij » Fri May 28, 2010 11:39 am

spinksy wrote:(i have just sold an overclocked DC on ebay - i will be selling another in the next few days)
How much? And, what is the highest that you could safely overclock one of them?

I have a launch unit with the proper heat-sink that I was thinking of doing this to, or using the heatsink if I bought another DC already oc'ed.

Edit: Uh, not sure if that idea would work since you would have PAL versions.
spinksy
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by spinksy » Sat May 29, 2010 10:08 am

choujij wrote:
spinksy wrote:(i have just sold an overclocked DC on ebay - i will be selling another in the next few days)
How much? And, what is the highest that you could safely overclock one of them?

I have a launch unit with the proper heat-sink that I was thinking of doing this to, or using the heatsink if I bought another DC already oc'ed.

Edit: Uh, not sure if that idea would work since you would have PAL versions.
It sold for £50 - the person who bought it emailed me yesterday saying how happy they were with it too which is cool!

I have only ever over clocked DC's to 240mhz.
Dreamcast, it's still thinking.

Over-clocked : Dreamcast currently running at 240Mhz (switchable)

Internal VGA, extra cooling fans, disc activity LED, SD card reader done :-)

Dreamcast HD wanted
User avatar
DanteJay
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:36 am
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Official DC Overclocking thread

Post by DanteJay » Sat May 29, 2010 8:32 pm

Cool. If I lived in the UK, I would have bought one off you. Thanks for answering my questions anyways though.
Image
Post Reply