VMU as Memory?

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
unoproph
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

VMU as Memory?

Post by unoproph »

I was thinking...and I know it's probably been thought of, but what about using extra VMU's you have plugged into your DC as memory. I mean say most emu's will support a max of 2 controllers, and other then the 1 VMU you're using as your your saves you can have 3 others plugged into 2 controllers. Now, I'm not quite certain (because I'm new to this) how much megs are in a vmu (1, 2, or 4), but even at 1meg a VMU, I think it's give enough to dreamsnes to run at full speed (3 add'l megs total). but, if they are 4megs, that 12 extra megs of memory, even some mid-level Neo-Geo games might be able to work on MAMEDC. I was just thinking of this cause I was out looking at dig cams, and thought if those are considered memory sticks how about using vmus. If it's not possible that way. I threw a comment in on a linuxdc question about in the old days of win3.1 there used to be software that could be used as ramdoubling. Now, I imagine, it used to use hard drive space to "emulate" ram. But, if the vmu's are used as the hard drive let's say, then maybe there might be a way to use a ram program on them. Like befor any emu pops up, the ram software runs and searches all the memory ports for extra vmu, and allocates them as extra ram. And just like memory on a computer, when you shut off the machine, it frees the memory.

I don't know maybe I just went on a ramble of things that could possibly never work, and like I said it's probably already been discussed, but it never hurts to ask, you know.

Thanks for listening to my ramble,
Uno
sixteen-bit
Hardware Freak
Hardware Freak