Xbox Modification

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Post Reply
DCFreak07
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Working on my site.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Xbox Modification

Post by DCFreak07 » Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:04 pm

Hey, I was not sure where to put this, so I put it here. Does anyone know how to softmod an Xbox to run unsigned code and use the EvoX dashboard. I have the following (original, not PLATINUM, I've checked) games:
-Agent Under Fire
-MechAssault
-Splinter Cell
From what I've heard, those three have exploits for softmodding via an Action Replay Memory Card (which I can either buy or borrow) and I would like to know how to use one to softmod. It doesn't matter which game I need to use to do it though, cause they haven't been patched by XBL or anything, I've never got online with it, and apparently the owner before I bought it used, never connected either, because there is no updates on the HD.
stagg
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Detroit, MI
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by stagg » Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:26 pm

Caboose helped me out, but Xboxscene.com is where the good tutorials are at. And yopu can take a mem card, and add a USB to it to make it easy.
DCFreak07
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Working on my site.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DCFreak07 » Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:36 pm

Alright, I'll check it out. If I can't find anything though, I'll hope someone can post a tutorial here or PM me about it.
DCFreak07
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Working on my site.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DCFreak07 » Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:38 pm

Just incase anyone is wondering, this to run a SNES emulator from the hard drive possibly, if not then I'll run it off a CD i guess.
DCFreak07
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Working on my site.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DCFreak07 » Thu Jul 20, 2006 12:21 am

Alright, how do I use an XBOX memory unit on my PC? And can I modify a thumb drive somehow? I've heard of doing it but don't know how.
Thomas
Thomas
Posts: 2989
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 3:12 pm
Location: Omaha, NE
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Thomas » Thu Jul 20, 2006 1:07 am

Yes, xbox-scene has some tuts on how to add usb to the xbox. You need to hack up a controller break away cable and a usb cable.
User avatar
Roofus
President & CEO Roofuscorp, LLC
President & CEO Roofuscorp, LLC
Posts: 9889
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 11:42 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Roofus » Thu Jul 20, 2006 1:19 am

DCFreak07 wrote:Alright, how do I use an XBOX memory unit on my PC? And can I modify a thumb drive somehow? I've heard of doing it but don't know how.
You need an Xbox Action Replay. It comes with a memory card, a USB cradle for the card and the AR software CD.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Thu Jul 20, 2006 4:34 am

Or for a cheaper alternative, find someone with a modded xbox and transfer the safe from pc to their xbox, then to the memory card. Or try a hot swap.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
DCFreak07
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Working on my site.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DCFreak07 » Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:36 pm

Hmmm. Maybe my friend has a official memory unit with the save. After all, his dad used the MechAssault GameSave hack to put Linux on it. I'll ask him soon.
User avatar
APE
Newsposter
Newsposter
Posts: 2799
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by APE » Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:56 pm

I managed to lose my AR. It's here somewhere, not sure where.
Image
A few fries short of a happy meal.
DCFreak07
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Working on my site.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DCFreak07 » Sat Jul 22, 2006 12:00 pm

Heh. Send it to me when you find it.
ninja
DCEmu's own ninja
DCEmu's own ninja
Posts: 2381
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 12:48 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by ninja » Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm

I used the hotswap method and used Xbox-HDM to install Evox. One thing that cannot be stressed enough is once your in Evox make a backup of EEProm and FTP into the xbox and transfer it to your PC. Store this Away and do not lose it. This way if your xbox drive ever crashes you will be able to build a new xbox drive with a fresh drive and get your xbox up and running. Theres some great tutorials over on xbox-scene.com .
Delete my posting account.

Thanks.
Post Reply