Is it possible to put a quieter fan in the DC?

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Post Reply
racketboy
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Is it possible to put a quieter fan in the DC?

Post by racketboy » Tue Nov 15, 2005 6:44 pm

It would be great if I could quiet down my Dreamcast.
Anybody done it before?
User avatar
Juan
DCEmu Commie
DCEmu Commie
Posts: 3345
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 11:47 pm
Location: Montevideo
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 0

Post by Juan » Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:10 pm

I never noticed the fan, but the GD-ROM drive sure makes a lot of noise.
racketboy
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by racketboy » Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:30 pm

yeah, the drive is louder, but the fan runs all the time
any extra silence would help
User avatar
Caboose
Lieutenant; Jeeba SS
Posts: 2867
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Caboose » Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:55 pm

Yeah, I guess you could. It would have to be the right size though (if you don't want to cut the case), and you would have to trick your Dreamcast into thinking that it always has a fan connected to it.
racketboy
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by racketboy » Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:42 pm

Crazy Caboose wrote: you would have to trick your Dreamcast into thinking that it always has a fan connected to it.
why do you say that?
User avatar
Caboose
Lieutenant; Jeeba SS
Posts: 2867
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Caboose » Tue Nov 15, 2005 9:25 pm

Because the Dreamcast needs the correct type of fan to be connected, otherwise it thinks that no fan is connected at all.
racketboy
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by racketboy » Tue Nov 15, 2005 9:27 pm

really? how does it know? and how would you "trick it"?
Matt
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Posts: 4235
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 4:48 pm
Location: By my PC Hair:Bad
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Matt » Wed Nov 16, 2005 4:10 am

It knows because it senses the RPM of the fan. To trick it you would need to build a timer circuit (Not easy if your new to electronics) it involves 1 chip and a couple of resistors and capacitors
User avatar
dcmodder
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 615
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 8:42 pm
Location: ks
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by dcmodder » Wed Nov 16, 2005 10:23 pm

wont u be my friend?
Post Reply