line out mod

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Post Reply
brmanuk
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2003 11:54 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

line out mod

Post by brmanuk » Wed Sep 28, 2005 1:17 pm

hey people, does anyone know of a guide which describes to install an audio line out jack on a dreamcast, like seen on this fine dc? thanks
User avatar
semicolo
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Three-rivers canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by semicolo » Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:57 am

that's really easy, search for the A/V port pinout, and just wire a ground and the two audio channels to whatever connector you wish. (your link had a typo : http://devcast.dcemulation.org/gallery/gallery5.php by the way ).

If you want a jack, here's the pinout for the male thingy

Code: Select all

              ________
 ____________|
/  L |  R  |G|
\____|_____|_|
             |________
starting at the tip :
Left right ground
User avatar
Prophet][
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2984
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 6:10 am
Location: Adelaide
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Prophet][ » Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:05 am

I think you can get the port pin out from http://www.gamesx.com

EDIT: Just checked, it is on that site.
brmanuk
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2003 11:54 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by brmanuk » Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:02 am

thanks a lot guys, so all ive gotta do is wire a female audio out socket to the ground and the left and right pins?
User avatar
semicolo
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Three-rivers canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by semicolo » Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:27 am

yeah, since those pins are line outs, there's no need for electronics for this mod.
LyingWake
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:05 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by LyingWake » Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:51 pm

Didn't I hear that you need an amp chip so you can control the volume - from what I've heard, it's very low without one.
BuddyJ
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:36 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by BuddyJ » Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:31 pm

that's what I was asking for Here... :roll:
Anayways, looks easy^^
User avatar
semicolo
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Three-rivers canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by semicolo » Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:11 am

brmanuk asked for line out, there's no need for an amp chip for that.
a line out needs an amplificator to drive speakers, there's usually a volume control on amps/preamps.
if you plan to hook passive speakers directly to the dreamcast, then yes you need to add an amp chip (to control volume and to give more power to the speakers).
Post Reply