It Could Just Be...the Greatest Dreamcast Mod, EVER!

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Mr._Chips
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 3:10 am
Location: BC, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Mr._Chips » Mon Sep 27, 2004 1:39 am

emailed ^ :D
"The only thing that we can know is that we know nothing,
and that is the highest flight of human wisdom." -Leo Tolstoy
Rattrap51
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:33 pm
Location: Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Rattrap51 » Mon Sep 27, 2004 5:17 am

Really? Thanks for trying but I don't think I got it, was it to slbreen(at)gmail(dot)com because the twrattrap51 email address only works for MSN, it doesn't recieve email anymore.
Mr._Chips
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 3:10 am
Location: BC, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Mr._Chips » Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:56 am

remailed :S
"The only thing that we can know is that we know nothing,
and that is the highest flight of human wisdom." -Leo Tolstoy
Rattrap51
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:33 pm
Location: Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Rattrap51 » Wed Sep 29, 2004 6:09 am

I tried to email you about this but apparently your hotmail inbox is full. I was looking through the tutorial and I noticed it didn't say anything
on how you got the DC-NES pad mod to work through the NES's controller
port. You refer to the NES mod on Devcast but that is for a 9 pin
serial cable. In the picture of your modded NES it looks like you
have it through a normal NES controller port, how'd you pull that one
off since the NES controller only has 7 pins where the mod requires 9?

Otherwise it's excellent and I can't wait to try it.
I'm going to try and do something about needing to press start and
reset at the same time though to reset it and I'll let you know how I do when I'm finished :)
Mr._Chips
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 3:10 am
Location: BC, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Mr._Chips » Wed Sep 29, 2004 6:27 pm

I didnt use the NES's cable. You have to chuck it away and use a 9 pin joystick extension cable.
And yes my inbox is full and I hate hotmail right now.
As for the start thing, probably a good idea would be to change nesterDC's start button to be the DC_B button, then you could wire the reset to hit L+R+start all at once without having any game interference.
The only thing is, I don't know whether you could accomplish that through NesterDC's options menu, but it looks like you would need to have a Memory Card.
"The only thing that we can know is that we know nothing,
and that is the highest flight of human wisdom." -Leo Tolstoy
Rattrap51
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:33 pm
Location: Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Rattrap51 » Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:52 pm

Oh, okay, your cable looked a lot like a normal NES cable. Unfortunatly mine is white and is going to need to be dremeled to the right size and painted black. I'm thinking I can squeeze a vmu in there with the controller if it comes down to me needing to change Nester settings if its posible, or maybe editing a cofig file on the CD and re-burning it with a new button configuration would be the way to go. Won't be able to go ahead with the mod until next weekend because I'm going away for a while but soon...
SupraMario
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 2:48 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by SupraMario » Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:57 pm

i'm getting sick of not being able to see this. e-mail pictures to me and i'll host them for you.
Image
Mr._Chips
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 3:10 am
Location: BC, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Mr._Chips » Sat Oct 02, 2004 12:54 am

"The only thing that we can know is that we know nothing,
and that is the highest flight of human wisdom." -Leo Tolstoy
User avatar
dcmodder
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 615
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 8:42 pm
Location: ks
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by dcmodder » Sat Oct 02, 2004 10:39 am

:x i dont see the point in ruining a perfectly good dreamcast.
wont u be my friend?
User avatar
Matisfaction
I can't get no.....
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 8:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Matisfaction » Sat Oct 02, 2004 11:12 am

dcmodder wrote::x i dont see the point in ruining a perfectly good dreamcast.
Mr._Chips
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 3:10 am
Location: BC, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Mr._Chips » Sun Oct 03, 2004 12:09 am

Dreamcast sucks :lol: :wink:
"The only thing that we can know is that we know nothing,
and that is the highest flight of human wisdom." -Leo Tolstoy
User avatar
dcmodder
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 615
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 8:42 pm
Location: ks
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by dcmodder » Sun Oct 03, 2004 12:53 am

:x :x YOU SUCK!!! :evil: :evil:
wont u be my friend?
Alexvrb
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster
Posts: 1754
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:25 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Alexvrb » Sun Oct 03, 2004 9:43 pm

Your mom su- oh nevermind :P :D

I like the mod, but I'm not sure I'd go that far. If I transplanted a DC into something else, it'd still have some means of easily swapping discs and would use DC controllers. If I were to use other controllers, it would have to be via a plug-in adapter.
If you have twenty monkeys,
banging randomly on typewriters,
they will in twenty minutes produce the complete source code to World of Warcraft.
User avatar
kingbuzzo
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:02 am
Location: Ottawa
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

aha

Post by kingbuzzo » Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:00 am

A mighty fine mod.

I don't see how this is a bad idea at all, hell I might even try this since I bought an extra dreamcast for $7 canadian. And I have one that's only reading homebrews and sega rally anyway.

But I'm not an nintendo guy, and I'm pretty sure that this wont work with a master system or genesis.

peace,


Kingbuzzo.
Image
Mr._Chips
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 3:10 am
Location: BC, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Mr._Chips » Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:34 am

thanks buzzo!
Yeah, I doubt anyone could fit it into a genesis.
I didn't come in thinking this would be a very popular mod...because I know a lot of you are very commited to Sega.
I share that love of Sega... the Saturn, the Genesis, the Dreamcast...:)
I wish it was easier to get ahold of DC games though.
so don't get me wrong...I still love the Sega stuff. AND Sega Sports + Sonic Team.
But Nintendo has also never made a console I didn't like (unless you include the virtual boy)
"The only thing that we can know is that we know nothing,
and that is the highest flight of human wisdom." -Leo Tolstoy
Alexvrb
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster
Posts: 1754
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:25 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Alexvrb » Mon Oct 04, 2004 4:00 pm

Model 1 Genesis is pretty big. If you used its width to relocate parts, you might be able to do it. It'd probably force you to obtain/build longer ribbon cable(s), but I think it could be done.
If you have twenty monkeys,
banging randomly on typewriters,
they will in twenty minutes produce the complete source code to World of Warcraft.
Mr._Chips
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 3:10 am
Location: BC, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Mr._Chips » Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:00 pm

but then again, there is only x,y,a,b on a DC controller... and last time I checked there was no decent genesis emulators for dreamcast. :(
"The only thing that we can know is that we know nothing,
and that is the highest flight of human wisdom." -Leo Tolstoy
sLydE
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Cumberland, MD, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by sLydE » Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:11 pm

Mr._Chips wrote:but then again, there is only x,y,a,b on a DC controller... and last time I checked there was no decent genesis emulators for dreamcast. :(
yeah, they all seem like they are still in their infancy, which motivates me to help out, if only I had time...
Alexvrb
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster
Posts: 1754
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:25 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Alexvrb » Sat Oct 09, 2004 3:34 pm

Technically speaking the emulator could give you the option of mapping C and Z to the triggers, and then use/build an adapter to hook up Saturn pads. Saturn pads work incredibly well for Genesis, since they're basically late-gen 6-button Genesis pads with triggers. On top of that, we should see a new release of GP/DC in the next few months. So things are progressing slowly but surely.
If you have twenty monkeys,
banging randomly on typewriters,
they will in twenty minutes produce the complete source code to World of Warcraft.
User avatar
MentalSlug
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:45 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by MentalSlug » Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:30 pm

:rumpshaker:
Post Reply