Treamcast power

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Post Reply
User avatar
runkthepunk
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 1:16 pm
Location: macclesfield england
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Treamcast power

Post by runkthepunk » Thu Mar 04, 2004 7:42 am

hey everyone :) i am going to get myself a Treamcast and thought of this. The machine runs on a 12 volt supply and has its own screen and i'm told that the gamecube runs from a 12 volt supply does this mean by changing the power cable connector on a gamecube battery for a DC one you could use a gamecube battery to power the Treamcast? :? i hope this is the case has anyone tried it? or know if this will work to save me knackering up my gamecube battery pack.
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DaMadFiddler » Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:14 am

If you wire in the proper DC (Direct Current, not Dreamcast) head for the battery (and CHECK FOR THE PROPER POLARITY!), this would theoretically work...*IF* the amperage is correct. Everybody checks the voltage, but a lot of people forget the amperage. If you're off by more than one or two hundred mA, it probably won't work.

Also, while I fully understand what you're trying to accomplish...keep in mind that the 'Cube battery SUCKS. It's almost as bad as the Nomad.
Lartrak
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 6166
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 9:28 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Lartrak » Thu Mar 04, 2004 5:24 pm

DaMadFiddler wrote:If you wire in the proper DC (Direct Current, not Dreamcast) head for the battery (and CHECK FOR THE PROPER POLARITY!), this would theoretically work...*IF* the amperage is correct. Everybody checks the voltage, but a lot of people forget the amperage. If you're off by more than one or two hundred mA, it probably won't work.

Also, while I fully understand what you're trying to accomplish...keep in mind that the 'Cube battery SUCKS. It's almost as bad as the Nomad.
Nomad on AAs or Nomad battery pack? Nomad battery pack isn't that bad... Over 5 hours.
How to be a Conservative:
You have to believe everything that has ever gone wrong in the history of your country was due to Liberals.
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by DaMadFiddler » Thu Mar 04, 2004 5:45 pm

AAs.

In my experience, the worst battery life, in order, is:

Nomad (AAs) ~45 minutes
VirtualBoy (AAs) ~1 hour
Gamecube (batt pack) ~1:10
User avatar
az_bont
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 8:35 am
Location: Swansea, Wales
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by az_bont » Thu Mar 04, 2004 5:48 pm

The Nomad battery pack is just 6 rechargable AAs in a pack, isn't it?
Sick of sub-par Dreamcast web browsers that fail to impress? Visit Psilocybin Dreams!
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7492
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 4 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Thu Mar 04, 2004 10:28 pm

the one i have is Ni-MH and when fully charged would last about 8-12 hours. I dont know what you peoples problems with it is...
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
qatmix
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by qatmix » Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:42 pm

yes you can connect a CG powerpack. I do and get between 2-4 hrs depending on the amount of disk accessign the game does.
User avatar
Ender
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 4:01 pm
Location: Canada, first igloo on your left.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Treamcast power

Post by Ender » Fri Mar 05, 2004 1:07 pm

Like Fiddler said, check the amperage (or wattage if amperage isn't listed: P=IV)

You can step down the current if necessary pretty easily by adding some resistors. Just make sure that the resistors are rated for the wattage that you're using.

btw:

P is Power in Watts
I is current in Amps
V is Voltage in Volts

V=IR

where:

R is Resistance in Ohms.
markush
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:27 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by markush » Sun Mar 07, 2004 9:27 am

what about the orginal gameboy pocket, with no battery lights and it take only 2 triple A's.
handhelddc
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 3:20 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by handhelddc » Sun Mar 07, 2004 5:26 pm

yes you can connect a CG powerpack. I do and get between 2-4 hrs depending on the amount of disk accessign the game does.
Are you saying you power your treamcast with screen for 2-4 hours with a gamecube battery?
Post Reply