Dreamcast 3 disk changer

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Post Reply
supersega
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2001 1:01 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Dreamcast 3 disk changer

Post by supersega » Sun Dec 23, 2001 1:49 pm

Would it be possible to wire up a cd changer to your dreamcast so that you would't have to get off of your butt to change the game. It seems like with the right wireing, you could replace the cd drive in a disc changer with a GD Rom Drive. You could also switch between boot discs and rom discs without opening your dreamcast... that is if a Dreamcast cd changer is possible.
MidnightObsidian
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 12:50 am
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by MidnightObsidian » Sun Dec 23, 2001 6:26 pm

Theoretically, yes. It wouldn't be pretty, but I don't see why it wouldn't work. You'd have to find a way to trigger the open/close switch and mount the GDROM correctly, but it's theoretically possible.
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.
User avatar
DuffMan
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2001 11:03 pm
Location: Pheonix - AZ
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by DuffMan » Sun Dec 23, 2001 11:49 pm

Or, you could take 3 dreamcast take out the GD Rom reader then switch the GD Rom with the regular ones :) work as CD player too :D
OOH! YA! Duffman Says a lot of things.
kaze
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: .dc//EMU
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by kaze » Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:08 am

if you take out the gdrom reader? what will be used to read the actual gdroms?
Current Music:
Himekami - Exceeding Love
Little Viking - Future
Nas - God's Son Adam Freeland - Fear
Ibana - Shell / Half Pain
User avatar
DuffMan
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2001 11:03 pm
Location: Pheonix - AZ
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by DuffMan » Wed Dec 26, 2001 9:31 pm

no switch it so the 3 disk changer read GDroms.
OOH! YA! Duffman Says a lot of things.
MidnightObsidian
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 12:50 am
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by MidnightObsidian » Wed Dec 26, 2001 11:01 pm

The most logical way to do this would be pretty simple. Extend the ribbon and power cables from the GDROM so that there is enough slack in the wires to mount the GDROM externally into a pre-existing CD changer. Just mount the thing in. Then just wire in a switch on the changer. Simple.
It would be pretty damn easy if someone had some mechanical know how. Still, it might be pretty difficult if you're not good working with plastic/metal.

Is that what you're trying to do?
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.
Sanchez
DCEmu Ex-Admin
DCEmu Ex-Admin
Posts: 1098
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sanchez » Fri Dec 28, 2001 1:20 pm

Or better yet... carbon-based biomechanical GD-ROM changer with theoretically infinite disk capacity....

AKA...

Get your butt out of the chair, grab the next game you want to play, and swap it.
User avatar
toastman
Iron Fist of Justice
Iron Fist of Justice
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2001 3:08 am
Location: New Orleans
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

i got one

Post by toastman » Mon Dec 31, 2001 3:05 pm

take a stereo system and 3-5 dreamcasts.
take all the cd readers out of the stereo and replace them with gd-rom readers.
gut one of the dreamcasts and house the motherboard, etc, etc inside the stereo.
make some cuts to fit things like the A/V out, modem/broadband adapter, serial port, and controller ports.
some wiring to make sure everything reaches properly.
maybe with a little skill you could make the power cord supply power to the DC motherboard when you press AUX. or rig the DC power button to supply that function.
yeah, i can see this working.
:lol:
MidnightObsidian
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 12:50 am
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by MidnightObsidian » Mon Dec 31, 2001 5:09 pm

Heh-- Sanchez said it. I was thinking it, but he said it. Thank you. >= )
Happy New Year!
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.
Lilmuckers
Resident Transvestite
Resident Transvestite
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 3:36 am
Location: The land of Little Pixies (Leicester, UK)
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Lilmuckers » Wed Jan 02, 2002 5:08 pm

as far as i know, a cd changer only has ONE reader in it

so, replace that with the GD ROM reader, and your laughing

theoretically, just thr ribbon would need lengthening

but there comes a point where data loss would occer if you made the ribbon too long.
MidnightObsidian wrote:Extend the ribbon and power cables from the GDROM so that there is enough slack in the wires to mount the GDROM externally into a pre-existing CD changer. Just mount the thing in. Then just wire in a switch on the changer. Simple.
i would agree with this guy

the main thing i could see making it a problem is you'd need an extra power supply to power the moter in the CD changer

then a mechanism of lowering the CD's onto the GD-ROM reader.... or lifting the GD-ROM up.

actuakky...

this is bocomeing more complex
http://www.Spider-Console.co.uk
the ONLY place to leave
Gooey
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 6:19 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Gooey » Wed Jan 02, 2002 5:37 pm

IF you can feasably lengthen the cables, and if you ain't bothered bout losing ur cd player function on a hi fi, this would be fairly straight forward, on one of those hi fi s where the thingy with the cds on it spins round (not three seperate trays)
in most hifis there will probably be ample room to put the dc board inside the unit too, don't forget the fan.
I might even try this
Coz as has been said they do in fact only have one laser unit which would need replacing, or possibly modidfied ??
could even put the dc straight on the audio in on the amp inside,
yes i think i will try this tomorrow, thanks for the idea
MidnightObsidian
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 12:50 am
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by MidnightObsidian » Wed Jan 02, 2002 8:59 pm

Have fun, Gooey. Good luck. Are you going to use the preexisting transformer in your shelf system or the Dreamcast's power supply for the changer's motors? (I'm not going to persue this idea because I can stand up and switch a CD, but it still kind of interesting.)
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.
FryGuy
DCEmu Fast Newbie
DCEmu Fast Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

signature :)

Post by FryGuy » Sat Jan 05, 2002 7:33 pm

hmm nasty sig u have there :), do u know what it means ? :)

i'm a swede
Gooey
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 6:19 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Gooey » Sat Jan 05, 2002 9:57 pm

all i am doing is replacing the cd drive off the old hifi, and chucking the gdrom unit from the dc in its place. the rest of the hifi will be untouched, Just waiting for the data ribbon extender 8).
i have done a headphone socket mod, so this will go to the aux port on the hifi,
and the rest of the dc wil be screwed on to the back of the hifi, in theory it should work, but prolly monday now i will let u all know
MidnightObsidian
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 12:50 am
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by MidnightObsidian » Sun Jan 06, 2002 1:02 am

Heh-- sorry if I offended you, FryGuy. I DO know with it means, although I don't speak Swedish.

I just moved to Oregon, USA from Virginia, USA (from the far east coast to the far west coast), and my girlfriend back in VA was a Canadian. It's kind of an inside joke. >= )

You're the first person that has ever called me on that one. Congrats!
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.
MidnightObsidian
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 12:50 am
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by MidnightObsidian » Sun Jan 06, 2002 1:05 am

BTW, I know that it's plural (Some day WE... Canadian GIRLS)... I hate to ask this, but do you think you could tell me how to make it singular?

(One of my favorite bands, Divine Souls, said it and I copied the quote out of a magazine article.)
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.
User avatar
Hawke
Wastelander
Posts: 961
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 11:37 am
Location: Skies of Canadia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Hawke » Sun Jul 07, 2002 2:32 pm

By the time you've finished this project, you could have had a good 3 months of Self-Cd-Changing thingers goin on. Its a waste of time (and money :? ) in my opinion
______________
Image
I met a cyclops once - I wasn't sure if he winked or blinked at me.
Sanchez
DCEmu Ex-Admin
DCEmu Ex-Admin
Posts: 1098
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Sanchez » Sun Jul 07, 2002 3:33 pm

Why are you digging up 7 month old topics?
"This is worse than when the Raccoon got in the copier!"
User avatar
Hawke
Wastelander
Posts: 961
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 11:37 am
Location: Skies of Canadia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Hawke » Sun Jul 07, 2002 6:53 pm

hmm... mebbe i should read the last post date :oops:
______________
Image
I met a cyclops once - I wasn't sure if he winked or blinked at me.
Post Reply