Dead controllport

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Post Reply
FryGuy
DCEmu Fast Newbie
DCEmu Fast Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Dead controllport

Post by FryGuy » Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:49 am

Im having some trouble with my DC

After i used it for like 30-60minutes it says it can't find the controllers (It doesn't help to reconnect it) I have to reboot and then it works. But this is very annoying.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3831
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Post by Nico0020 » Tue Oct 29, 2002 4:02 pm

go to the links section of the site. look for cortas site, he has instructions on how to fix it with a simple mod.
ninja
DCEmu's own ninja
DCEmu's own ninja
Posts: 2381
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 12:48 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by ninja » Tue Oct 29, 2002 4:33 pm

faulty resistor, do as this page says:


http://devcast.dcemulation.com/repair/c ... oller.html
FryGuy
DCEmu Fast Newbie
DCEmu Fast Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by FryGuy » Wed Oct 30, 2002 3:42 am

Hmm.. but i think its a bit weird that i works for a while?
Shouldn't the controllerports be completly dead if the resistor is fried?


ninja wrote:faulty resistor, do as this page says:


http://devcast.dcemulation.com/repair/c ... oller.html
ninja
DCEmu's own ninja
DCEmu's own ninja
Posts: 2381
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 12:48 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by ninja » Wed Oct 30, 2002 9:55 am

no, not necessarily. Ive had the same problem before and i can safely say that replacing the resistor worked for me.
Post Reply