Japanese Dreamcast Question

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Post Reply
stellaloveslunafreya
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2020 9:37 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by stellaloveslunafreya » Tue Aug 04, 2020 12:04 pm

Hi, all, I don't know if this is the proper forum to post this in, but I have a question. I recently bought a Japanese Dreamcast and I'm apparently going to need a transformer to use it outside of Japan. Is there anyone here with knowledge on that particular subject? Basically what I want to know is what kind of transformer I need and if anyone knows of it being sold somewhere at a reasonable price (I've seen a few on eBay for over $60!).

I believe the Japanese Dreamcast is 100V, so I would need something compatible with 120V.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16215
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 31 times
Been liked: 15 times
Contact:

Re: Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by |darc| » Wed Aug 05, 2020 2:22 am

You're in the U.S.?

If so, you don't need anything. The Japanese Dreamcast power supply can accept 100V-120V. You can just plug it straight into the wall without a problem.
It's thinking...
stellaloveslunafreya
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2020 9:37 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by stellaloveslunafreya » Wed Aug 05, 2020 10:12 am

Yes.

I would feel more comfortable with some kind of transformer in use, so I don't burn my house down or anything, lol.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16215
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 31 times
Been liked: 15 times
Contact:

Re: Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by |darc| » Wed Aug 05, 2020 11:29 am

stellaloveslunafreya wrote:
Wed Aug 05, 2020 10:12 am
Yes.

I would feel more comfortable with some kind of transformer in use, so I don't burn my house down or anything, lol.
You won't burn your house down, lol. It will happily accept the U.S. 120V. Japan is the only country that uses 100V as far as I know, so power supplies for Japanese electronics are often designed to accept a range from 100-120V so they don't need to design a separate power supply specifically for Japan.

Personally, I own many DC consoles, and one of the consoles I frequently use is a Japanese model console, my house hasn't burned down yet. ;)

However, if you really want a stepdown transformer for Japanese electronics, this one should do the trick. It's rated for 100W which should be enough for game consoles.
It's thinking...
stellaloveslunafreya
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2020 9:37 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by stellaloveslunafreya » Fri Aug 07, 2020 7:31 pm

Okay, thanks, I appreciate the info.

I have another question, this time concerning Japanese GameCubes. Are they the same as the Japanese Dreamcast? I'm looking to get a Japanese Cube to play PSO Ep.1&2.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16215
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 31 times
Been liked: 15 times
Contact:

Re: Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by |darc| » Fri Aug 07, 2020 11:57 pm

The GameCube uses a power adapter built into the cord. I don't know what the power adapter that comes with Japanese GameCubes is rated for, but you can just get an American GameCube power adapter and use it on a Japanese cube.
It's thinking...
stellaloveslunafreya
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2020 9:37 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by stellaloveslunafreya » Fri Aug 14, 2020 12:25 pm

Hi, the Japanese Dreamcast I got is experiencing some serious issues. From time to time it will either refuse to read my PSO Ver.2 disc or take a really long time to load it, sometimes doing things like stopping the music being played altogether in the game and loading the disc then returning to the DC’s menu screen. I’m guessing the DC’s laser-thing is the problem?
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5441
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by BlueCrab » Fri Aug 14, 2020 8:47 pm

Unless the game itself is dirty, it is probably the disc drive laser, yes. You can try to use a bit of Isopropyl Alcohol on a cotton swab to to clean the laser off and see if that helps at all (you can do the same to the side of the disc that the laser reads too, of course). Just dab a cotton swab or cotton ball in the alcohol and lightly clean the laser inside the console (don't press down hard on it or anything).
stellaloveslunafreya
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2020 9:37 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by stellaloveslunafreya » Sun Sep 06, 2020 10:27 pm

Thanks for the info, but that didn't really help it. The drive at times sounds like it might be dying or something. I got another Japanese DC and the game is (so far) actually running as it probably should be, without the issues I've experienced on the first system.

I have another question. Since the new DC I got is really yellow in its front, would it be possible to swap out the GD-ROM drive from it into my other DC (both of which are Japanese)? I opened both systems up (following guides from places like YouTube), and noticed that the first DC (which had the problems) uses a Yamaha GD drive, while the new one has a Samsung in it. I also checked the boards in the system and the first DC had 1998 (as in year, if that matters) in certain places while the new one had 1999. I ask if it's possible because I prefer the cleaner exterior of the one with the faulty drive.
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5441
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: Japanese Dreamcast Question

Post by BlueCrab » Mon Sep 07, 2020 9:14 pm

It depends... Different hardware revisions used different voltage levels for the disc drive, and swapping a drive between a lower voltage board and a higher one could fry the drive. I believe that the drives should have a voltage stamped on them. If the voltages match, then you should be able to swap them... If they don't, then you'll risk frying the working drive if you swap it out.

I think I only have one Yamaha drive that I know of in my collection (in the only VA0 board in my collection) -- which is definitely the higher voltage variant...
Post Reply