I can't boot

Anything DreamSNES-related can be asked in this forum, such as general questions about the emulator, how to burn it, etc.
Post Reply
Daimon Link
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:50 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

I can't boot

Post by Daimon Link » Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:59 pm

This is becoming frustrating, as this is my sixth attempt at a boot cd, and my sixth wasted one at that. I used Uber Boot to set up a boot cd, let it create a nero image, burnt that, and when I pop it into my DC, all that happens is it takes me to the screen that has the options for play, file, music, and settings. What's the problem????
Daimon Link
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:50 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Daimon Link » Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:29 pm

I just made a TAO file since I'm using Nero 6, and now all the cd is doing is grinding in my DC and it's stuck at the Dreamcast screen...What the hell?
User avatar
Zealous zerotype
zerotype
Posts: 3701
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 7:11 pm
Location: Nashville,TN
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Zealous zerotype » Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:38 pm

it is nero 6. Their is a patch for it, I think. Just go to http://www.oldver.com and get 5.5
SCO=SCUM=M$=SCO it keeps repeating :P
i'm a randite :worship:
DYTDMFBSB?
There must have been some mistake
I'm not the one who should be saved
My divinity has been denied
Mary and me were both fucked by God
User avatar
Dano
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:45 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Dano » Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:01 pm

I have Nero 6 (the newest) as well, and I have burned 4 coasters. I seem to be having the same problem as Daimon Link with the emulators. Can someone help me or tell me if I'm doing something wrong?

1) I download the Nero DSNES image file, unzip it
2) Open Nero, go to recorder, then burn image
3) Burn disc at 4x speed
4) Put in Dreamcast, doesn't boot up

What am I doing wrong? Is it just the Nero Version? I have burned roms on a seperate disc, will I need to reburn those as well? The strange thing is, I have burned a copy of codebreaker using Nero and it worked fine.....

Please help me!! :(
<( ' ' )> Kirby on Dreamcast....Sweet.....
User avatar
curt_grymala
Theme Inducer
Theme Inducer
Posts: 4274
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 12:14 pm
Location: Wherever I'm Needed
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by curt_grymala » Mon Apr 04, 2005 8:42 am

Dano wrote:I have Nero 6 (the newest) as well, and I have burned 4 coasters. I seem to be having the same problem as Daimon Link with the emulators. Can someone help me or tell me if I'm doing something wrong?

1) I download the Nero DSNES image file, unzip it
2) Open Nero, go to recorder, then burn image
3) Burn disc at 4x speed
4) Put in Dreamcast, doesn't boot up

What am I doing wrong? Is it just the Nero Version? I have burned roms on a seperate disc, will I need to reburn those as well? The strange thing is, I have burned a copy of codebreaker using Nero and it worked fine.....

Please help me!! :(
Here's what you should do:

1) Download the DiscJuggler DSNES image file, unzip it
2) Convert it to a TAO Nero NRG, using CDI2TAO.exe (Google for it)
3) Open Nero, go to recorder, then burn image
4) Burn disc at no greater than 8x speed
5) Put in Dreamcast, and enjoy.
DCHelp - A Newbie's Best Friend
DC Evolution - Disc Images
DreamZone Forums

I Refuse To Help Anyone That Says They've Tried Everything.
User avatar
Dano
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:45 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Dano » Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:32 pm

Alright, I did exactly what you said Curt, now all I have to do is test my disc....
<( ' ' )> Kirby on Dreamcast....Sweet.....
ethoscapade
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:45 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by ethoscapade » Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:25 pm

Alright, I did exactly what you said Curt, now all I have to do is test my disc....
traditionally, one posts AFTER doing that, but i'm on the edge of my seat here..
User avatar
Dano
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:45 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Dano » Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:20 pm

Lol did that just for you ethoscapade.

The DSNES worked perfectly, everything is working including the roms on a seperate disc.

My NES emulator doesn't seem to be working though, I can boot up the emulator but I cant play any of the games, when I click start on a rom it takes me back to the main screen. My file extensions are .zip though, I think they were supposed to be .nes. I guess I could just reburn the NES files.
<( ' ' )> Kirby on Dreamcast....Sweet.....
User avatar
curt_grymala
Theme Inducer
Theme Inducer
Posts: 4274
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 12:14 pm
Location: Wherever I'm Needed
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by curt_grymala » Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:21 am

Yeah - Nester doesn't support zipped roms, so you'll have to unzip your games and try again.

AFAIK, there are only a handful of emus that do handle zipped roms. SuperFamicast is the only one I can think of off the top of my head, although SMS Plus may also handle zipped roms. In addition, 95% of the MAME emus obviously support zipped roms.

Anyway - glad to hear you got it working. Now you know how it's done, and you can move on to bigger and better things. :wink:
DCHelp - A Newbie's Best Friend
DC Evolution - Disc Images
DreamZone Forums

I Refuse To Help Anyone That Says They've Tried Everything.
Post Reply