Custom menu images?

Anything DreamSNES-related can be asked in this forum, such as general questions about the emulator, how to burn it, etc.
Post Reply
Brow
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 9:03 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Custom menu images?

Post by Brow » Mon Oct 28, 2002 9:14 pm

Just wondered if there was anyway to add a custom menu background image in place of the one thats already there.

Not sure if its possible or not...just thought that it would be cool to make some themed cds.
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Mon Oct 28, 2002 9:18 pm

No. The DreamSNES team decided not to allow it, because people might replace the graphics and sell it as their own work.
Brow
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 9:03 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Brow » Mon Oct 28, 2002 9:21 pm

Ahhhhh...

That makes sense.

Thanks! :wink:
User avatar
toastman
Iron Fist of Justice
Iron Fist of Justice
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2001 3:08 am
Location: New Orleans
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by toastman » Tue Oct 29, 2002 2:39 pm

Actually you can replace the graphics. It's just that all the graphics are in pvr format. You need a dodgy (I think) photoshop plugin to read/write them.
No signature.
reaper2k2
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2648
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 7:48 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by reaper2k2 » Tue Oct 29, 2002 3:01 pm

yup! its a pretty dodgy plugin but it does work
http://homebrew.dcemulation.com/dcgames/ *homebrew webbrowser games *

http://r2k2gate.topcities.com *dev site and my releases*
Image
Im' a Commodorian are you?
ZacMc
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2715
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 11:16 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by ZacMc » Tue Oct 29, 2002 3:12 pm

Actually you can replace the graphics. It's just that all the graphics are in pvr format. You need a dodgy (I think) photoshop plugin to read/write them.
yup! its a pretty dodgy plugin but it does work
Actually you can't change the images even if you have the photoshop plugin.. Give it a try and you will see.
User avatar
donnonotin
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 740
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:57 am
Location: The Land of Milk And Honey
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by donnonotin » Thu Oct 31, 2002 5:35 am

reaper2k2 wrote:yup! its a pretty dodgy plugin but it does work

where do i get this plugin?
Image
User avatar
toastman
Iron Fist of Justice
Iron Fist of Justice
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2001 3:08 am
Location: New Orleans
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by toastman » Thu Oct 31, 2002 10:12 am

ZacMc wrote:
Actually you can replace the graphics. It's just that all the graphics are in pvr format. You need a dodgy (I think) photoshop plugin to read/write them.
yup! its a pretty dodgy plugin but it does work
Actually you can't change the images even if you have the photoshop plugin.. Give it a try and you will see.
Because it won't save in the proper resolution or something like that.
As far as I know, all development for DreamSNES is done on Linux, so maybe there's a proper GIMP plugin ;)
No signature.
sqrt(-1)+1
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by sqrt(-1)+1 » Thu Oct 31, 2002 10:29 am

There is a Gimp plugin written by Per Hedbor, but his homepage seems to be down at the moment. This is where Pike comes in though:

http://pike.ida.liu.se/generated/manual ... e/PVR.html
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Thu Oct 31, 2002 10:41 am

As far as I remember, the PhotoShop plugin is actually written by Sega, and was leaked by someone with a DevKit. It should be able to do everything that the DreamSNES PVR reader wants, but newer versions use a ZVR format which is slightly different. Plus, of course, it'll just say that the files are corrupted if you replace them with your own files.
Post Reply