56K modem data transfer

If you have any questions on programming, this is the place to ask them, whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer. Discussion on programming in general is also welcome. We will help you with programming homework, but we will not do your work for you! Any porting requests must be made in Developmental Ideas.
Post Reply
q_006
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 415
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 7:18 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

56K modem data transfer

Post by q_006 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:19 pm

Well you know how you can use the LAN or Broadband modem to upload/download data from DC <--> PC, can you do the same with the 56K modem (it can't be any worse than the serial cable)?
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7489
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Post by Quzar » Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:49 pm

One could if the software existed to do so. We don't have that yet though.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
Dreamcast alive
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:29 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Dreamcast alive » Thu Nov 09, 2006 2:13 pm

I don?t have any idea how to address this problem. So perhaps somebody can explain how to solve it. What should be the logical structure?

Is there already software/information that could be useful?
Where can I get this?
What would be the main problems?
How should I address them?
What about programms like clients/servers?
Play they any role?

Perhaps I should look at IP slave / DC Tool...
Perhaps anybody can clear things up?
User avatar
henzenmann
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:58 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by henzenmann » Thu Nov 09, 2006 2:37 pm

Get yourself a serial cable (Coders cable).
q_006
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 415
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 7:18 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by q_006 » Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:47 pm

henzenmann wrote:Get yourself a serial cable (Coders cable).
From where? I thought Sony closed down Lik-Sang for good??

And I'll take that as a Coder's Cable > 56K modem statement :)
User avatar
henzenmann
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:58 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by henzenmann » Thu Nov 09, 2006 7:49 pm

q_006 wrote:
henzenmann wrote:Get yourself a serial cable (Coders cable).
From where? I thought Sony closed down Lik-Sang for good??
Yes, sadly so. It is still available from some other places (google for it), but has become more rare and also more expensive.
q_006 wrote:And I'll take that as a Coder's Cable > 56K modem statement :)
Yes. Right now the modem is not an option at all.
q_006
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 415
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 7:18 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by q_006 » Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:57 pm

henzenmann wrote:
q_006 wrote:
henzenmann wrote:Get yourself a serial cable (Coders cable).
From where? I thought Sony closed down Lik-Sang for good??
Yes, sadly so. It is still available from some other places (google for it), but has become more rare and also more expensive.
well I found one such place http://store.gameasylum.us/accessories2.html
User avatar
henzenmann
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:58 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by henzenmann » Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:35 pm

q_006 wrote:well I found one such place http://store.gameasylum.us/accessories2.html
$19 seems like a good price. The last offers I've seen all were all over ?30 :-)
OneThirty8
Damn Dirty Ape
Damn Dirty Ape
Posts: 5031
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 11:11 pm
Location: Saugerties, NY
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by OneThirty8 » Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:03 pm

henzenmann wrote:
q_006 wrote:well I found one such place http://store.gameasylum.us/accessories2.html
$19 seems like a good price. The last offers I've seen all were all over ?30 :-)
Didn't lik-sang charge about $20 or $25 anyway? I forget exactly how much I paid for mine since I bought it with a GP32 and a bunch of other stuff, but $20 was about the going rate anyway last time I knew.
GPF
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Texas
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GPF » Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:34 pm

http://www.dcemulation.org/phpBB/viewto ... tool+modem

http://www.dcemulation.org/phpBB/viewto ... tool+modem

http://www.dcemulation.org/phpBB/viewto ... tool+modem

Here are some threads I started or posted in when I was working on a modem version of dc-tool/dcload years ago before I got a coders cable and then a bba.

Other than the code posted in the threads I don't think I have any of the other code anymore unfortunetly.

Troy(GPF)
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk
phisejr
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:25 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: 56K modem data transfer

Post by phisejr » Wed Jun 13, 2007 4:46 pm

Is Axlen's coders Cable as good as the other ? my Computer only has USB so i would rather use the Axlen's cable.

I had one idea for an Adapter for a RJ-11 to CAT5e but is i possible i have no experience with hardware, just ideas, Will this possibly work ?
User avatar
henzenmann
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:58 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: 56K modem data transfer

Post by henzenmann » Wed Jun 13, 2007 5:43 pm

phisejr wrote:Is Axlen's coders Cable as good as the other ? my Computer only has USB so i would rather use the Axlen's cable.
Axlen's cable is better than the serial one (you still need the serial one for the connector unless you want to solder directly to your DC's motherboard). It is at least five times as fast as the serial one. It can go even faster but it does not work with all computers then.

jj10dm's cable (aka chaos on the forums) is an improved version of Axlens cable that is at least 10 times as fast as the serial one. Details can also be found some pages into this thread.
Moi
QuakeDev Respected
QuakeDev Respected
Posts: 590
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 1:15 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: 56K modem data transfer

Post by Moi » Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:48 pm

i bought mine from ebay.de for €11,50 with shipping and cant wait to get it :D
Create your own Dreamcast games using the Quake-Engine:
http://quakedev.dcemulation.org/develop/getstarted.htm
Post Reply