Dcload problem

If you have any questions on programming, this is the place to ask them, whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer. Discussion on programming in general is also welcome. We will help you with programming homework, but we will not do your work for you! Any porting requests must be made in Developmental Ideas.
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Dcload problem

Post by Pwnious » Fri Apr 21, 2006 9:31 pm

My DC can't seem to load dcload 1.0.3 right? When I put in the cd and start the dc, it would stall for a second or two and go to the music.
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Sat Apr 22, 2006 7:22 am

I have this console:
Regular console
hkt-3020
Number 1 in a circle
china ( WK )
670-14081M
June 2000
User avatar
emptythought
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 9:14 am
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by emptythought » Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:43 am

There can be a number of problems.

- bad CD-R
- burn it wrong
- bad laser

We need specifics.
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Sat Apr 22, 2006 3:20 pm

fackue wrote:There can be a number of problems.

- bad CD-R
- burn it wrong
- bad laser

We need specifics.
the CD-r can be read by my computer. I followed the instuctions from this forums to burn it with dicjuggler. The laser works fine, I can play games on it.
User avatar
emptythought
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 9:14 am
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by emptythought » Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:20 pm

Make sure it's scrambled.
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:10 pm

fackue wrote:Make sure it's scrambled.
scrambled? What is that and how do I do that?

Do you think the alcohol 120% would be better?
User avatar
GyroVorbis
Elysian Shadows Developer
Elysian Shadows Developer
Posts: 1808
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: #%^&*!!!11one Super Sonic
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GyroVorbis » Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:10 am

Disc Mangler never works for me. Alcohol %120 has never given me problems and it burns both Nero and DJ files.
Elysian Shadows - "Next-Gen" 2D/3D RPG coming to Sega Dreamcast, Steam, OUYA, and Smartphones
Image
http://www.elysianshadows.com
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:35 am

When I burn it with Alcohol 120%, it displays the disc image having two sessions, the first one is audio and the other is data. And when I put the newly burned cd-r into my dreamcast, it puts me into the music player. Does that mean that my dreamcast in alright and it is just the cd-r, which is a cheap one?
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:16 pm

Now I am trying Lying Wakes iso on my dreamcast and it is just stalling.
User avatar
GyroVorbis
Elysian Shadows Developer
Elysian Shadows Developer
Posts: 1808
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: #%^&*!!!11one Super Sonic
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GyroVorbis » Sun Apr 23, 2006 4:14 pm

Waitta sec, if you're talking about LyingWake's devISO, that'd be for PC.

I guess it is possible that the CDRs are too cheap. It has happened, but it probably isn't very likely. I have never had a CDR not boot (I always go for the cheap ones) due to quality.
Elysian Shadows - "Next-Gen" 2D/3D RPG coming to Sega Dreamcast, Steam, OUYA, and Smartphones
Image
http://www.elysianshadows.com
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Sun Apr 23, 2006 4:15 pm

GyroVorbis wrote:Waitta sec, if you're talking about LyingWake's devISO, that'd be for PC.
Doesn't it have the dreamInducer?
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Sun Apr 23, 2006 6:36 pm

Well, I just bought memorex black cdrs and it is still not working. The dc is reading the cdr as music, so it takes me to the music player and it shows the cdr having two tracks. When I push play it would only play the first track and not show the send one.

Maybe the working one that JSL has will work. :?
User avatar
JS Lemming
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 8:08 am
Location: C:\CON\CON
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by JS Lemming » Sun Apr 23, 2006 6:44 pm

And if mine doesn't work, try burning an audio CD with your favorite songs on it. Maybe your Dreamcast will try to boot it now that it's meant to be an audio disc and maybe, just maybe, the songs you chose will represent the exact same data as a normal disc with DC Load on it. It is possible.
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Sun Apr 23, 2006 6:59 pm

If that doesn't work, I am going to Rhino's and bring the dcload cdr to test every single one of the dc, until I find the one that works.
User avatar
emptythought
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 9:14 am
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by emptythought » Mon Apr 24, 2006 12:23 am

Maybe your DC is just broke. Does it have problems reading normal games?
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:57 am

fackue wrote:Maybe your DC is just broke. Does it have problems reading normal games?
Nope
nogginthenog
DCEmu Fast Newbie
DCEmu Fast Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 7:57 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by nogginthenog » Mon Apr 24, 2006 7:24 am

Shouldn't you be using dcload 1.0.4 ?
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:05 am

nogginthenog wrote:Shouldn't you be using dcload 1.0.4 ?
Does that really matter? I don't think so.
User avatar
GyroVorbis
Elysian Shadows Developer
Elysian Shadows Developer
Posts: 1808
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: #%^&*!!!11one Super Sonic
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by GyroVorbis » Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:56 am

JS Lemming wrote:And if mine doesn't work, try burning an audio CD with your favorite songs on it. Maybe your Dreamcast will try to boot it now that it's meant to be an audio disc and maybe, just maybe, the songs you chose will represent the exact same data as a normal disc with DC Load on it. It is possible.
:o
Elysian Shadows - "Next-Gen" 2D/3D RPG coming to Sega Dreamcast, Steam, OUYA, and Smartphones
Image
http://www.elysianshadows.com
Pwnious
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Pwnious » Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:50 pm

Thanks JSL, your dcload cdr works perfectly.
Post Reply