kmg vs dtex vs png

If you have any questions on programming, this is the place to ask them, whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer. Discussion on programming in general is also welcome. We will help you with programming homework, but we will not do your work for you! Any porting requests must be made in Developmental Ideas.
splatkillwill
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

kmg vs dtex vs png

Post by splatkillwill »

Hello I'm new to Dreamcast dev and C / C++ (my background is C# and JS). My goal is to make some 2d game or app with pvr / plx (parallax). So far I'm drawing text with `plx_font` and `plx_fcxt`. I'm overwhelmed with options to dive into for sprite sheets. Form that perspective what are the pros and cons of kmg vs dtex vs png (or some kos port file handler).
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord

Re: kmg vs dtex vs png

Post by BlueCrab »

Well, kmg and dtex are just containers for (generally) compressed textures that are built with VQ encoding -- that is to say that the texture data as stored in the file is compressed with the same compression that the PVR actually supports natively. Thus, both of them will result in less texture memory used for the same amount of image data. Either one of them will result in pretty much the same amount of data needing to be in the video memory to use your textures. That said, the texture compression is not lossless -- there is some image degradation in the conversion process (although, honestly it isn't all that bad -- it's certainly better than a low-quality JPG file, for instance). Also, you need to convert your textures using another program in order to have them in either of these formats.