Dreamcast Coders Cable

If you have any questions on programming, this is the place to ask them, whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer. Discussion on programming in general is also welcome. We will help you with programming homework, but we will not do your work for you! Any porting requests must be made in Developmental Ideas.
Post Reply
User avatar
RyoDC
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 12:13 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Dreamcast Coders Cable

Post by RyoDC » Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:42 pm

I'm sorry to arise this topic again; google didn't cause much help too, but maybe any of you know where one can buy a coders cable for DC?
E-shops selling them are now closed or out of the stock, so I didn't find any source where I can buy it.
Any ideas maybe?
How do I try to build a Dreamcast toolchain:
Image
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5380
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast Coders Cable

Post by BlueCrab » Wed Jan 22, 2014 1:07 pm

Honestly, they seem to have become more scarce than Broadband adapters these days. The easiest thing might be to buy an SD card adapter and rip the connector out of it to make your own USB-based coder's cable. A USB module such as something like this should work nicely (just make sure whatever one you buy supports 3.3v output for the Dreamcast -- I can't guarantee that one does, but I have a very similar one that is indeed 3.3v on the output side), and all you'd have to do is to solder a few wires to make it all work (you'd basically need 4 signals -- RX, TX, RTS, CTS -- and a ground wire).
affection56k
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Dreamcast Coders Cable

Post by affection56k » Sat Jan 25, 2014 9:41 am

myTeknovo
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:51 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Dreamcast Coders Cable

Post by myTeknovo » Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:28 am

The Dreamcast SD Adapter with metal-molded connector is here as well:

http://www.ecrater.com/p/16740387/dream ... eamcast+sd

Thanks,
-Steve.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16147
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast Coders Cable

Post by |darc| » Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:01 am

myTeknovo wrote:The Dreamcast SD Adapter with metal-molded connector is here as well:

http://www.ecrater.com/p/16740387/dream ... eamcast+sd

Thanks,
-Steve.
Hey Steve, when did these new ones come out? I haven't seen them before.

Also, your spamming efforts here have paid off already--my DC SD card adapter broke a few weeks ago, so I figured I might as well pick up one of those fancy ones, and so you got yourself a sale. :P
It's thinking...
myTeknovo
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:51 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Dreamcast Coders Cable

Post by myTeknovo » Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:47 am

|darc|: Sorry about that, I did not mean to spam the board.

I had been off the board for some months and finally got the molded-version DC SD Adapter. This version of the adapter became available about three weeks ago or so.

OK, I see you are in USA, you can complete the order from the eCrater link.
Sorry to hear that your previous one broke.

PM me if you have any questions or post publicly here on the board.

Thanks,
-Steve.
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16147
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Dreamcast Coders Cable

Post by |darc| » Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:59 am

myTeknovo wrote:|darc|: Sorry about that, I did not mean to spam the board.
Haha, I was just joking--your post was informative, nothing wrong with it.
myTeknovo wrote:I had been off the board for some months and finally got the molded-version DC SD Adapter. This version of the adapter became available about three weeks ago or so.
That's great to hear. I think this will make it a much better product.
myTeknovo wrote:OK, I see you are in USA, you can complete the order from the eCrater link.
Sorry to hear that your previous one broke.

PM me if you have any questions or post publicly here on the board.

Thanks,
-Steve.
I ordered it when I made that post, so it's all good. :)
It's thinking...
Post Reply