Looking for DC optimization experts to help on emu port

If you have any questions on programming, this is the place to ask them, whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer. Discussion on programming in general is also welcome. We will help you with programming homework, but we will not do your work for you! Any porting requests must be made in Developmental Ideas.
miker00lz
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Looking for DC optimization experts to help on emu port

Post by miker00lz »

I'm working on porting an x86 PC emu I wrote for Win32/Linux/OSX to the Dreamcast. I've got basics working like video output and controller input, but I've never programmed for the DC before. I'm fumbling my way through with the poor KOS documentation, and lots of trial and error. If anybody is interested in working on a project like this, it could really benefit from some veteran DC coder skills. I think it would be awesome to have a good PC emu for the DC. I tried DOSBOXDC, but it doesn't work very well and it seems to be very unfinished. An on-screen virtual keyboard would be nice (with the ability to custom map PC keys to the DC controller), among other things. :)

Here is video of what I've got ported so far playing Prince of Persia, just to show how far along it is.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUvbQKnvpxw

Plus a screenshot of using it to play Ultima 6: