Why I can't run my Elf on emulator?

If you have any questions on programming, this is the place to ask them, whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer. Discussion on programming in general is also welcome. We will help you with programming homework, but we will not do your work for you! Any porting requests must be made in Developmental Ideas.
Post Reply
User avatar
RyoDC
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 12:13 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Why I can't run my Elf on emulator?

Post by RyoDC » Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:51 am

I'm wondering why. I have an emulator NullDc version 1 beta 1.6. and when i click 'Run elf' entry from list and choose my executable, emulator just crashes! What the hell! And how to check the functionality of my programs then?
How do I try to build a Dreamcast toolchain:
Image
User avatar
Indiket
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Why I can't run my Elf on emulator?

Post by Indiket » Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:00 am

What I do is using Bootdreams to create a CDI image that the emulator can run.
I think that running binaries does not work well on nullDC, but I'm not sure on that.
User avatar
PH3NOM
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 576
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 9:29 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times

Re: Why I can't run my Elf on emulator?

Post by PH3NOM » Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:40 am

RyoDC wrote:I'm wondering why. I have an emulator NullDc version 1 beta 1.6. and when i click 'Run elf' entry from list and choose my executable, emulator just crashes! What the hell! And how to check the functionality of my programs then?
First of all,it is good to know the difference between .elf and .bin, BlueCrab mentions it in this post:
http://www.dcemulation.org/phpBB/viewto ... 78&start=0

Secondly, I have posted a tool for converting .elf to .cdi that will work with NullDC, take a look on this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=101056
User avatar
Indiket
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:44 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Why I can't run my Elf on emulator?

Post by Indiket » Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:55 am

In fact, Bootdreams can convert .elf to .bin, and then create the .cdi ;)
User avatar
RyoDC
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 12:13 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Why I can't run my Elf on emulator?

Post by RyoDC » Sat Oct 22, 2011 4:21 am

Goddamn
How do I try to build a Dreamcast toolchain:
Image
User avatar
alex81
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 1:28 pm
Location: Russia/Novosibirsk
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Why I can't run my Elf on emulator?

Post by alex81 » Sat Oct 22, 2011 1:46 pm

as i remember Chancast can load elf file.
User avatar
RyoDC
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 12:13 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Why I can't run my Elf on emulator?

Post by RyoDC » Mon Oct 24, 2011 9:25 am

Yep yep
How do I try to build a Dreamcast toolchain:
Image
Post Reply