New to C++ (simple code confusion)

If you have any questions on programming, this is the place to ask them, whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer. Discussion on programming in general is also welcome. We will help you with programming homework, but we will not do your work for you! Any porting requests must be made in Developmental Ideas.
Yotta2r
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

New to C++ (simple code confusion)

Post by Yotta2r »

Hi :)

I'm completely new to C++, and I found this forum.. I'm sorry if I'm not allowed to post here..

I'm following the book "beginning c++ game programming" by Michael Dawson, and I'm on page 14/ 15.

On those pages there are some codes, but they simply wont compile & run.. I get an error (red mark). I use Dev-C++.

I'm really sure that the code isn't wrong. I have even checked it up with a few sites..

Here is the code:

Code: Select all

// Game Stats
// Demonstrates declaring and initializing variables

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int score;
    double distance;
    char playAgain;
    bool shieldsUp;

short lives, aliensKilled;

score = 0;
    distance = 1200.76;
    playAgain = `y';
    shieldsUp = true;
    lives = 3;

aliensKilled = 10;

double engineTemp = 6572.89;

cout << "\nscore: " << score << endl;
    cout << "distance: " << distance << endl;
    cout << "playAgain: " << playAgain << endl;
    //skipping shieldsUp since you don't generally print Boolean values
    cout << "lives: " << lives << endl;
    cout << "aliensKilled: "<< aliensKilled << endl;
    cout << "engineTemp: " << engineTemp << endl;

int fuel;
    cout << "\nHow much fuel? ";
    cin >> fuel;
    cout << "fuel: " << fuel << endl;

typedef unsigned short int ushort;
    ushort bonus = 10;
    cout >> "\nbonus: " << bonus << endl;

return 0;
}

Can someone tell me whats wrong? :O

- Thanks! :)
Yotta2r