Xbox on pc?

General purpose discussion about gaming and emulation.
Post Reply
User avatar
hearld500
DCEmu Ultra Fan
DCEmu Ultra Fan
Posts: 3061
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:33 pm
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Xbox on pc?

Post by hearld500 » Sun Jan 25, 2004 1:07 am

I wasn't quite sure where to put this, or if this would be a dumb question, but I thought it'd be worth asking.

Since the xbox is basicly a computer, as in it runs off the same programing as a regular pc, then wouldn't it be possable to put the xbox BIOS, and OS (if there is one) onto a pc harddrive and run in. I suppose it would work if you had a decent gaming pc.

Now, someone will probably say no, but couldn't there be a way of tweaking the ? (dash, os, bios) to run as an xbox?


Thanks
Hearld
User avatar
Vchat20
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster
Posts: 1788
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:29 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Vchat20 » Sun Jan 25, 2004 1:56 am

they have many emulators now (including cxbx) which simply convert the xbox executable (*.xbe) for each game to a windows executable. ive never tried it completely myself, but im sure it works. as far as the stuff like the bios, dashboard, and such are concenred, it would still take some major work to do. even though the xbox runs off of a dumed down version of windows 2000, its been recoded to a point that a normal pc wouldnt be able to interact with it right out of the box.
Image
Lartrak
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 6166
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 9:28 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Lartrak » Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:03 am

Vchat20 wrote:they have many emulators now (including cxbx) which simply convert the xbox executable (*.xbe) for each game to a windows executable. ive never tried it completely myself, but im sure it works. as far as the stuff like the bios, dashboard, and such are concenred, it would still take some major work to do. even though the xbox runs off of a dumed down version of windows 2000, its been recoded to a point that a normal pc wouldnt be able to interact with it right out of the box.
I've heard they were working on it, but I can't seem to find any information on how well it actually works. Anyone?
How to be a Conservative:
You have to believe everything that has ever gone wrong in the history of your country was due to Liberals.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:15 am

Well, I googled cxbx and the first result was http://sourceforge.net/projects/cxbx/

They say it can't play comercial games yet, but that might not mean that emulators aren't possible. I'm gonna look further into this, seems promising!
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
Warmachine
DCEmu Veteran
DCEmu Veteran
Posts: 4306
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:01 pm
Location: San Jose
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Warmachine » Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:22 am

Why would you want to play xbox emu's on the PC? Only reason I could think of is maybe because of the DC emu (if there is one)
:headbang: Dreamcast :headbang:
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:41 am

:lol: Well at this time its pointless. I don't know if it can play emulators, but I was guessing. Ummm... it can play some game I saw that looked like a columns game.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
Warmachine
DCEmu Veteran
DCEmu Veteran
Posts: 4306
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:01 pm
Location: San Jose
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Warmachine » Sun Jan 25, 2004 4:17 am

I went to there homepage, it said homebrew not play able :|
:headbang: Dreamcast :headbang:
User avatar
hearld500
DCEmu Ultra Fan
DCEmu Ultra Fan
Posts: 3061
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:33 pm
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by hearld500 » Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:05 pm

I'm not saying build a pc only for xbox emulation, just having a dual boot, with an extra hard drive.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:02 am

I'm not saying build a pc only for xbox emulation, just having a dual boot, with an extra hard drive.
That'd be a good idea!

Here's a question, what kind of PC specs would you be looking at to emulate?
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
hearld500
DCEmu Ultra Fan
DCEmu Ultra Fan
Posts: 3061
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:33 pm
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by hearld500 » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:13 am

Well, the xbox is actually just a 733 celeron, 64mb ram, a 10 gig hard drive, and just a 64mb video card. (could be wrong, but i think that's the specs :?: )

So really, not that great if machine, I think I'd be possable if you could tweak the os somewhat. :D
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:25 am

Which OS? The one on the PC or the one on the XB?
I spose that if it's a glorified PC, the emulation wouldn't really need to have that great of a PC, would it?

Also, this is the link to the emulator that HH said boots up Halo
http://www.emulator-zone.com/doc.php/xbox/xeon.html
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:27 am

You know, I just had a thought. Although, to me, doesn't seem very logical, it would be cool none-the-less.

Use an XB emulator, run Linux. Thus you're running Linux while in Windows. :lol:
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
hearld500
DCEmu Ultra Fan
DCEmu Ultra Fan
Posts: 3061
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:33 pm
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by hearld500 » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:36 am

Naw, skynet, I'm not talking about emulation. I mean actually running the xbox os on your computer, no windows involved. Run in on a dual boot machine.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:42 am

Yep, I get ya. So basically having a boot loader and selecting either Windows (or Linux, which ever u may use) or XBOX.

Booting XBOX will give you the exact impression of turning on and using a real XBOX? I think that's what you're saying. But I might be reading into it wrong, lol :lol:
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
hearld500
DCEmu Ultra Fan
DCEmu Ultra Fan
Posts: 3061
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:33 pm
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by hearld500 » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:44 am

Nope, you got it right.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8595
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:56 am

Ah, cool. That's a good idea. Is it feasible???

It would definately be worth looking into. That'd show them money hungry M$ pricks. :twisted:
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
Lartrak
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 6166
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 9:28 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Lartrak » Mon Jan 26, 2004 1:50 am

o really, not that great if machine, I think I'd be possable if you could tweak the os somewhat
Its video card is stronger then you would think, based on it being 'only' 64 megabytes. Just saying.
How to be a Conservative:
You have to believe everything that has ever gone wrong in the history of your country was due to Liberals.
User avatar
az_bont
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 8:35 am
Location: Swansea, Wales
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by az_bont » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:09 pm

I think it's only 32MB. I think it's something like GeForce 2 tarted up to be more like a GeForce 3.
Sick of sub-par Dreamcast web browsers that fail to impress? Visit Psilocybin Dreams!
Quall
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 11:13 am
Location: Ohio
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Quall » Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:47 pm

....well, I see what your saying, but what about the bios?
Image
Mask of Destiny
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 10:52 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Mask of Destiny » Mon Jan 26, 2004 6:46 pm

The XBox has 64MB of RAM shared between the video card and the processor.
Post Reply