Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

General purpose discussion about gaming and emulation.
User avatar
Eviltaco64X
DCEmu Mega Poster
DCEmu Mega Poster
Posts: 1629
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 7:12 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by Eviltaco64X » Fri Aug 27, 2010 9:51 pm

DaMadFiddler wrote:
Jeeba Jabba wrote:I only like playing my Dreamcast, Saturn, PSOne, or SNES on a CRT television. Doesn't feel right on a flat-panel at all.
Indeed. Standard-def signals in general just don't seem to look as good on flat panel televisions. That's one of the (several) reasons I have a CRT-based rear projection TV.
Yep. I'm actually quite happy with my standard-def 32" Sony Trinitron/WEGA. It's a great TV because it's very compatible with old and new. I can play the original Duck Hunt or Virtua Cop and then proceed to hook up a 360 through component and game on that. It's not HD, but I really don't care. As long as I can read small text that's generally unreadable on SDTV's/composite, I'm fine.

I'm a bit curious, does your rear-projection TV support lightguns? I've heard from most sources that they don't work, but if it's CRT-based...

Anyway, I did want to build a MAME cabinet around two years ago, but I realized that I didn't have the money for it. The concept of a nice arcade cabinet that can play thousands of games is still cool, but it's an unnecessary luxury to me. I'm better off with a keyboard or maybe a good USB controller or two.
Quzar wrote:Super Street Fighter II CE (the only problem with it are the controls are iffy sometimes, and it's in a rebuilt cab which is kind of beat up ... and it sometimes takes two or three tries to turn on)
Did you ever replace the broken fight stick? I remember you saying something about the P1 fightstick not responding at all.
User avatar
DanteJay
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:36 am
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by DanteJay » Fri Aug 27, 2010 11:34 pm

I've got two of these in black, but I'm not sure what to do with them as they're not very practical.
Image
Image
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by DaMadFiddler » Sat Aug 28, 2010 1:18 am

Eviltaco64X wrote:I'm a bit curious, does your rear-projection TV support lightguns? I've heard from most sources that they don't work, but if it's CRT-based...
No, it doesn't. However, the only light gun game I had at the time was House of the Dead 2, which was later rereleased for Wii. At the time, my response was to switch to Typing of the Dead instead.

There was a company making a special light gun for non-CRT TVs that Lik-Sang carried, but I don't know how well they worked or where you'd going about finding something like that now. They triangulated your aim based on LED sidebars, somewhat like the Wii.
Eviltaco64X wrote:But I realized that I didn't have the money for it. The concept of a nice arcade cabinet that can play thousands of games is still cool, but it's an unnecessary luxury to me. I'm better off with a keyboard or maybe a good USB controller or two.
That's kind of the conclusion I came to. When I was in college--particularly when I was living in a dorm room--I thought it would be neat to have a MAME cabinet. But the more time I spent gaming, the more I realized it was both more flexible and more comfortable to game on a TV. The arcade cabinet limits the possibilities of your setup AND forces you into a less comfortable position while playing (whether sitting or standing), while not offering any advantages over a more traditional TV + console/PC. It would be for decorative purposes alone... and an arcade cabinet wouldn't really fit into our decor anyway.
User avatar
Quzar
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
Posts: 7486
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Miami, FL
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by Quzar » Sat Aug 28, 2010 1:40 am

Eviltaco64X wrote:
Quzar wrote:Super Street Fighter II CE (the only problem with it are the controls are iffy sometimes, and it's in a rebuilt cab which is kind of beat up ... and it sometimes takes two or three tries to turn on)
Did you ever replace the broken fight stick? I remember you saying something about the P1 fightstick not responding at all.
Good memory. No, I never got any replacement parts for any of the machines. I did however resolder the connections and it works now. Every once in a while it'll have problems with sweeping down/back though, so it does need a new stick.
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by DaMadFiddler » Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:39 am

Just make sure you don't end up with anything like these:

http://www.wickedretarded.com/%7Ecrapmame/
Last edited by DaMadFiddler on Sun Aug 29, 2010 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Eviltaco64X
DCEmu Mega Poster
DCEmu Mega Poster
Posts: 1629
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 7:12 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by Eviltaco64X » Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:08 pm

^ lol, softcore bestiality pics
User avatar
not just souLLy now
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 4039
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by not just souLLy now » Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:39 am

I lold
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by DaMadFiddler » Sun Aug 29, 2010 2:36 pm

Damned anti-hotlinking :lol:
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8594
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by Skynet » Mon Aug 30, 2010 3:03 am

DaMadFiddler wrote:Just make sure you don't end up with anything like these:

http://www.wickedretarded.com/%7Ecrapmame/
I'm afraid mine in it's current state would end up on that site. It needs the paintwork finished, I need to install the joysticks, a new monitor for it (the current one is temporary), a bezel for the monitor and all controls wired up.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
Christuserloeser
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5936
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:16 am
Location: DCEvolution.net
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by Christuserloeser » Sun Sep 05, 2010 4:51 pm

DanteJay wrote:I've got two of these in black, but I'm not sure what to do with them as they're not very practical.
http://i35.tinypic.com/ru8ahu.png
Very nice. If you got no use for them, just sell 'em at ebay or CL.
Insane homebrew collector.
User avatar
impetus
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 4566
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 2:32 pm
Location: Overland Park, KS
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by impetus » Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:56 pm

I don't have any but have been tempted to buy a couple. I'll hold off until i have a house with a basement (I have an apartment).
User avatar
Yonke
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1237
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: TIJUANA B.C.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by Yonke » Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:49 pm

I wish i had the skills to create a cabinet like this:

Image


Heres the plans http://www.donovanmyers.com/category/personal/projects/
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by DaMadFiddler » Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:51 pm

^ The one thing I don't get about that is the speakers. They went to all that trouble, and then just punched holes for the original speaker bezels? Nonono. Take those suckers apart and mount the drivers in the cabinet properly.
Jeeba Jabba
Jeeba Jabba
Posts: 9102
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2001 7:00 am
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by Jeeba Jabba » Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:18 am

Yonke wrote:I wish i had the skills to create a cabinet like this:

Image


Heres the plans http://www.donovanmyers.com/category/personal/projects/


Best one I've ever seen.
Image
"He who cannot draw on 3,000 years is living hand-to-mouth." -Goethe
User avatar
pixel
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Posts: 4967
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 10:52 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Anyone here have an Arcade Cabinet?

Post by pixel » Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:59 am

Jeeba Jabba wrote:
Yonke wrote:I wish i had the skills to create a cabinet like this:

Image


Heres the plans http://www.donovanmyers.com/category/personal/projects/


Best one I've ever seen.
I don't really like it. At this point, he should have just bought two arcade controllers and plugged them into his TV.
Post Reply