Quake 2 w/sound enabled?

Talk about Quake, Doom, Wolfenstein 3D, or other DC first person shooting game ports and mods for those games in here.
Post Reply
DARKHALO2K
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 6:37 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Quake 2 w/sound enabled?

Post by DARKHALO2K » Tue Jan 13, 2009 3:20 pm

I've heard that nobody has ever been able to compile Bero's various Dreamcast ports, but I was wondering if anybody is aware of how to activate sound in his port of Quake 2, or if a build is available that has it activated?

I ask as i'm putting together a build of the Quake 2 demo wherein the image and sound files are downsized, to be used in conjunction with ports like this wherein the target hardware has small amounts of memory; which should result in better load times and fullspeed gameplay.
User avatar
Christuserloeser
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5936
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:16 am
Location: DCEvolution.net
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Re: Quake 2 w/sound enabled?

Post by Christuserloeser » Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:18 pm

Sounds interesting. Keep us updated on your progress!
Insane homebrew collector.
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3815
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Quake 2 w/sound enabled?

Post by Nico0020 » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:31 am

Sounds interesting. Keep us updated on your progress!
*The Cadillac of signatures*
DARKHALO2K
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 6:37 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Quake 2 w/sound enabled?

Post by DARKHALO2K » Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:06 am

Well, I found a working e-mail address for Bero and have sent him a message, but don't know if he still checks that inbox or not.

His Quake 2 port runs full speed, and it is my understanding that the long load times and disabling of sound is due to RAM limitations. My time with the port would simply be spent on down sizing the textures and sound files until they fit in to memory.

I would look to downsample all necessary media from the Quake 2 demo, which should be legal to redistribute, along with a guide on how to down size the files from the full game for those that would want a complete port.

I'd hope that this would encourage people to do more with the port; at least see a few maps and mods ported over.

Anyway, unless I can be provided with a build with sound enabled then this project is at somewhat of a stand still. I plan on doing some simple tests with maps and textures soon, but I wouldn't expect to hear much more for a while.

Thanks for the interest and support, though.
Stryfe
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:34 am
Location: Nowhere U.S.A.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Quake 2 w/sound enabled?

Post by Stryfe » Mon Dec 28, 2009 12:40 pm

Any updates to contacting Bero about this?
ImageImageImageImage
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Quake 2 w/sound enabled?

Post by BlackAura » Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:53 am

I would look to downsample all necessary media from the Quake 2 demo, which should be legal to redistribute, along with a guide on how to down size the files from the full game for those that would want a complete port.
Be careful. Just because the demo can be freely redistributed, that does not mean that you can distribute modified versions without id's permission.
DARKHALO2K
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 6:37 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Quake 2 w/sound enabled?

Post by DARKHALO2K » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:07 am

Unfortunately, I was never able to make contact with Bero. I went ahead and made some compression tests using the soundless build, and hope to return to this project soon.
Stryfe
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:34 am
Location: Nowhere U.S.A.
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Quake 2 w/sound enabled?

Post by Stryfe » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:33 pm

I hope you get this working. Kudos if you do.
ImageImageImageImage
Post Reply