Zelda DC

Talk about Quake, Doom, Wolfenstein 3D, or other DC first person shooting game ports and mods for those games in here.

Would Zelda DC be cool or what?

 
Total votes: 0
Slamoid
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 2:57 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Zelda DC

Post by Slamoid » Sun Mar 24, 2002 9:56 pm

HEY! We got some GREAT modders in here! Why doesn't somone just make a Zelda TC?!?!? I mean, come on! Quake is a GREAT engine, and I have NOWHERE near the experiance to mod this myself (still haven't found the sourcecode :roll:), but I got good ideas for it!!

- 3rd person view (Zelda 64 anyone?)
- Use the free models from fans (http://www.polycount.com :twisted: )
- Use the ORIGINAL storyline from Zelda, gather the TriForce (CLASSIC! :lol:)
- Buy Weapons/Items as seen in all the other games
- NPC Interaction (Talk with townsfolk, taunt enemies)
- World Maps AND dungeons (Be able to walk in and out of areas at will, shouldn't be THAT hard....)
- Is the dual-weapon-usage thing possible? (Slash with sword, and immidately block with shield)
- Original BG music! (http://www.vgmusic.com strikes again. :wink:)


If I had the recources/Ability, I WOULD MAKE THIS!! As it is, I'll help ANYONE who tries it as much as I can! Hell, do the Sourcecode, I'll do the models and Mapping! (Give me time... :roll:)

Ya gotta admit, it would ROCK to have a Zelda game for DC.


Anyone? Please? :D


Oh, and if you DO decide to do it, sammboy125@yahoo.com

:)
If a packet hits a pocket on a socket on a port, than the packet pocket socket has an error to report.
User avatar
Tyne
Pimp DC Devver
Pimp DC Devver
Posts: 1682
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Canada, Ontario
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Tyne » Sun Mar 24, 2002 9:59 pm

Sounds neat, but it'd take to much time to program and stuff and I'm too lazy.

Not to mention I'm working on Quake RPG with FrikaC and so far it blows your idea right out of the water. :D
Slamoid
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 2:57 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Slamoid » Mon Mar 25, 2002 2:34 pm

SWEET!! Can't wait to see it!! After RPG, maybe Zelda. :wink:


[chant] SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! SCREEN SHOTS! [/chant] :lol:
If a packet hits a pocket on a socket on a port, than the packet pocket socket has an error to report.
Slamoid
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 2:57 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Slamoid » Mon Mar 25, 2002 7:42 pm

Ok guys! I'm tired of it. I'M MAKING IT MYSELF!! :D :D

I've already got the first map done, and the code for the Grenades is done... Now, can somone please tell me where I can find a tut on how to change the models? :?
If a packet hits a pocket on a socket on a port, than the packet pocket socket has an error to report.
Slamoid
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 2:57 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Slamoid » Tue Mar 26, 2002 12:32 am

Ok, I found how to change the models! Now, quick question for somone who knows Quake C:

Is this done right?

Code: Select all

/*
================
W_FireAxe
================
*/
void() W_FireAxe =
{
	local	vector	source;
	local	vector	org;

	makevectors (self.v_angle);
	source = self.origin + '0 0 16';
	traceline (source, source + v_forward*64, FALSE, self);
	if (trace_fraction == 1.0)
		return;
	
	org = trace_endpos - v_forward*4;

	if (trace_ent.takedamage)
	{
		trace_ent.axhitme = 1;
		SpawnBlood (org, '0 0 0', 20);
		T_Damage (trace_ent, self, self, 150);
	if (health >= 90)
	{
		W_FireRocket
	}
	else
	{	// hit wall
		sound (self, CHAN_WEAPON, "player/axhit2.wav", 1, ATTN_NORM);
		WriteByte (MSG_BROADCAST, SVC_TEMPENTITY);
		WriteByte (MSG_BROADCAST, TE_GUNSHOT);
		WriteCoord (MSG_BROADCAST, org_x);
		WriteCoord (MSG_BROADCAST, org_y);
		WriteCoord (MSG_BROADCAST, org_z);
	}
};


//============================================================================


vector() wall_velocity =
{
	local vector	vel;
	
	vel = normalize (self.velocity);
	vel = normalize(vel + v_up*(random()- 0.5) + v_right*(random()- 0.5));
	vel = vel + 2*trace_plane_normal;
	vel = vel * 200;
	
	return vel;
};
What I'm trying to do is make it so that if Link(Player)'s health is above 90, then a Blade Beam (rocket) will shoot out. Is that done right? I think it is, but I want to make sure...
If a packet hits a pocket on a socket on a port, than the packet pocket socket has an error to report.
TheDumbAss
QuakeDev Mod
QuakeDev Mod
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Indpls, IN USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by TheDumbAss » Tue Mar 26, 2002 6:59 am

looks right to me... except a cople very minor errors... its... self.health not simply health... and you forgot a } and a ();

the last bit should look like this instead...

Code: Select all

   if (trace_ent.takedamage) 
   { 
         trace_ent.axhitme = 1; 
         SpawnBlood (org, '0 0 0', 20); 
         T_Damage (trace_ent, self, self, 150); 
   
         if (self.health >= 90) 
        { 
            W_FireRocket();
        } 
    }
    else 
    {   // hit wall 
        sound (self, CHAN_WEAPON, "player/axhit2.wav", 1, ATTN_NORM); 
        WriteByte (MSG_BROADCAST, SVC_TEMPENTITY); 
        WriteByte (MSG_BROADCAST, TE_GUNSHOT); 
        WriteCoord (MSG_BROADCAST, org_x); 
        WriteCoord (MSG_BROADCAST, org_y); 
        WriteCoord (MSG_BROADCAST, org_z); 
     } 

alternately... since your only doing one thing with your if you could do this and forget about your { and } for it...

Code: Select all


         if (self.health >= 90) 
                W_FireRocket();
 
of course its past my bedtime so I may have missed something or messed up myself... Just try my changes If theres a problem the compiler will tell you in which file and on what line to check. If it compiles test it ingame...
My old Sig was broken. Enter the new Sig!
Slamoid
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 2:57 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Slamoid » Tue Mar 26, 2002 1:39 pm

SWEET!! :o Thanks DumbAss!! That REALLY helped!!

Well, the MOD is coming along nicely, of course in terms of advernture, it won't be NEARLY as big as a real Zelda game, but it'll work just fine. :wink:

I just need to figure out a few more things, and if anyone can help, PLEASE DO SO!! :)

1: Background Music -=- I found a program on the Web that can edit a CD Image, so I was just gonna add a CD soundtrack to it before I upload it, but if anyone knows how to make a MIDI to WAV, please help me!!! :cry:

2: Link -=- So far, my searches for a Link model have turned up un-successful. :? All I need is a model, I don't need animations, or even necciserily a skin! Until I get a suitable model, this game is going to be 1st person..... :x

3: Weapon Fire Animations -=- I don't know 1 thing that I NEED to know.... How can I make a Bow out of a ShotGun using QuakeC code? :cry: Where would I start? I can do the models (I already have done the Bow Fire model, but I can't find how to do the code... I've taken a look over the WEAPONS.QC, and I can't find how..... Everything else is coming along nice tho....




Thanks to everyone!! :D
If a packet hits a pocket on a socket on a port, than the packet pocket socket has an error to report.
I11umin8ted
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 10:51 am
Location: 23
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by I11umin8ted » Tue Mar 26, 2002 2:32 pm

If you can track down KQP (Killer Quake Pack) there is a kewl bow in it that may be usefull (as a resource or in full). Anyway, your project sounds kewl and I wish you best of luck!
This Sig intentionally left blank.
Slamoid
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 2:57 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Slamoid » Tue Mar 26, 2002 2:45 pm

Hey, dumbass? I need your help again.... :roll:

For some reason, my compiler says this is wrong, but I don't remember changing it....

Code: Select all

vector() wall_velocity =
{
	local vector	vel;
	
	vel = normalize (self.velocity);
	vel = normalize(vel + v_up*(random()- 0.5) + v_right*(random()- 0.5));
	vel = vel + 2*trace_plane_normal;
	vel = vel * 200;
	
	return vel;
};
It has the problem with vector() wall_velocity =


Ideas?
If a packet hits a pocket on a socket on a port, than the packet pocket socket has an error to report.
User avatar
Tyne
Pimp DC Devver
Pimp DC Devver
Posts: 1682
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Canada, Ontario
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Tyne » Tue Mar 26, 2002 5:46 pm

Argh, a quake C newbie taking on a project too big.
I did that 4-6 times heh :P

Good luck ..
Asaki
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 9:02 pm
Location: MI, USA, North America
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Asaki » Tue Mar 26, 2002 9:09 pm

If you need help, I did a Quake mod that's similar to The Legend of Zelda:

http://204.50.28.112/qexpo/upload/53/attack.zip

^ This one has cool code for a customizable camera, including the classic overhead style, side scrolling view, and over-the-shoulder-follow-mode. Most of it is in cam.qc, but there's a tiny bit in client.qc. Should be easy to implement.

http://www.geocities.com/axattack/axold.zip

^ In case you actually wanna PLAY my mod, this is the fun version. Idunno how well it'll work on a DreamCast, though, as I don't have one. I just stumbled upon this place because Renegade (Tyne) posted a link.

Hope this helps you out a bit...I know my camera code is kinda confusing =)
I can't think of a good sig right now.
ryan_n
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 1:49 am
Location: k.c., indiana
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

.mid to .wav

Post by ryan_n » Wed Mar 27, 2002 2:34 am

it's actually a fairly simple process, although it does (admittedly) require a bit of actual hands-on work, and not just a simple matter of plugging files into an app and having it do the work for you.

here's what you'll need:

* .wav editor of some sort with various sound filters (i use Goldwave)
* 1 stereo cassette recorder (i'd suggest pulling out one of your components, if you don't have access to a single deck)
* 1 RCA-to-1/8" stereo connector
* 1 blank tape (hint: the higher the quality, the less sound quality you'll lose)
* your .mid files

now, here's what to do:

1) Unhook the speakers from your computer
2) Plug the stereo jack of the RCA-to-1/8" connector where you just unhooked the speakers
3) Plug the RCA jacks into the cassette recorder (line-in)
4) Pull up the .mid file, and record it onto the tape, just like you would anything else
5) Unhook the microphone from your computer, and plug the speakers back in
6) Plug the stereo jack of the RCA-to-1/8" connector where you just unhooked the microphone
7) Plug the RCA jacks into the cassette recorder (line-out)
8) Open your chosen .wav recorder/editor, and record the sound from the tape to the editor.
9) Use the hiss-filter to remove unwanted noise.
10) Save file.

that should pretty much take care of it. of course, i cut out all the common-sense things (rewinding tapes and whatnot). also, make sure all your audio properties are set up properly (i.e. your mic isn't muted, or anything like that)

this is also (steps 5-10) how to burn records or tapes onto CDs, for anyone who's interested.

*grins, feeling he's actually finally been useful on this website, after almost a year of hanging around, downloading stuff and enjoying, without being able to contribute anything*
...we're only immortal,
for a limited time...
MrBob
DCEmu Fast Newbie
DCEmu Fast Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2001 4:08 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

I can take care of the music.

Post by MrBob » Wed Mar 27, 2002 9:26 am

Yo!!!! I love Zelda!! Awesome!

BTW, I can take care of the music! I have pro audio equipment, including a keyboard (XP-30 +orchestral expansions) with killer orchestral sounds. Gimme some MIDI files and I'll turn em into MP3s for ya. I got digital equipment, so it'll be good quality, without hissing.

If you want to use ryan's method instead, use a computer with a high quality sound card (eg. SB Live! Platinum) and I don't think you have to put it on tape. Download Virtual Audio Cable (http://www.ntonyx.com/vac.html), set your midi mapper to use Virtual Audio Cable Out and set Sound Recorder to use Virtual Audio Cable in. This will save you a lot of time, and quality (changing to analog and back usually gets crappy quality). Anyhow, good luck.

MrBob
User avatar
Tyne
Pimp DC Devver
Pimp DC Devver
Posts: 1682
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Canada, Ontario
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Tyne » Wed Mar 27, 2002 9:41 am

A) Quake can't play midis
B) All .wav files have to be MONO 11 Hz, 80-Bit
C) Quake can't play mp3s
MrBob
DCEmu Fast Newbie
DCEmu Fast Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2001 4:08 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by MrBob » Wed Mar 27, 2002 12:38 pm

Tyne wrote: B) All .wav files have to be MONO 11 Hz, 80-Bit
C) Quake can't play mp3s
So take the MP3s and convert them to WAVs. No problem. MP3s are useful for transferring purposes. WAV files are much bigger.

MrBob
Slamoid
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 2:57 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Slamoid » Wed Mar 27, 2002 2:27 pm

Hey, thanks for the suppourt guys! Mr Bob, I'd sure appreceate the help with the music! :lol:

I should have a little (1 or 2 level) demo-thingy ready to go as soon as I can figure out how to get my maps to work right...... :roll:
If a packet hits a pocket on a socket on a port, than the packet pocket socket has an error to report.
Slamoid
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 2:57 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Slamoid » Wed Mar 27, 2002 2:32 pm

Oh, yeah, MID to WAV or MP3 conversion part 2:

1> go the the nearest 99-cent store (I live in USA. :P)
2> Buy 2 $1.05 headphones.
3> Splice the plugs on both of them
4> Hook one end into you MIC port, the other into your speaker port
5> Open recording properties in Windows, and set mic-playback volume to 0.
6> Open sound recorder
7> Click RECORD
8> Click PLAY
9> Enjoy your WAV file.

:twisted:
If a packet hits a pocket on a socket on a port, than the packet pocket socket has an error to report.
User avatar
Tyne
Pimp DC Devver
Pimp DC Devver
Posts: 1682
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Canada, Ontario
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Tyne » Wed Mar 27, 2002 3:24 pm

Or you can use microsoft sound recorder and select line in, play a song and record (You have to have a double duplex or better sound card though, you should).

Ta-da easy method with no money wasted.
Newbies ;)
User avatar
butters
Classic Games Lover
Classic Games Lover
Posts: 5088
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 6:50 pm
Location: Lubbock, Texas, United States, Sol 3, Milky Way Galaxy
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by butters » Wed Mar 27, 2002 3:34 pm

How about just using Winamp and changing the output to wave file. Easy as pie :D
User avatar
mankrip
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
Posts: 3697
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 5:12 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by mankrip » Wed Mar 27, 2002 11:45 pm

Slamoid wrote:1: Background Music -=- I found a program on the Web that can edit a CD Image, so I was just gonna add a CD soundtrack to it
In case you guys didn't noticed, Slamoid will use CDDA for the music, not MIDI, WAV or MP3. The point on converting to MP3 is just for the person who do the MIDI->WAV conversion send it easier to him.
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh mankrip Hell's end wgah'nagl fhtagn.
==-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-==
Dev blog / Twitter / YouTube
Image
Post Reply